Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

how to set a different launcher?

OP Stea1th

6th July 2014, 01:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
I have the fire, it's pretty cool. I got a few andriod apps on it working. They are a bit buggy but only when they are resumed from standby.

Anyway, I loaded up golauncher and it works however it keeps defaulting back to the ****ty amazon launcher.

Any idea how i can have it set perminitly?

Thanks
6th July 2014, 04:34 PM   |  #2  
ONYXis's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kyiv
Thanks Meter: 44
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
You can try towelroot to obtain root.
After that U can rename launcherxxxx.apk in system/app in launcherxxxx.apk_
But all this is potentially unsafe and you must have some experience.
Last edited by ONYXis; 6th July 2014 at 04:36 PM.
13th July 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #3  
stevemw's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Falls Church, VA
Thanks Meter: 45
 
415 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
Just as the forked versions of Gingerbread and Jelly Bean that have been the basis for all the other Kindle products, you should NOT expect any mainstream Android app to work on the Fire Phone without some Amazon-specific modification.
Last edited by stevemw; 31st July 2014 at 07:11 PM. Reason: typo
31st July 2014, 01:20 AM   |  #4  
onna's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevemw

Just as the forked versions of Gingerbread and Jelly Bean that have been the basis for all the other Kindle products, you should I expect any mainstream Android app to work on the Fire Phone without some Amazon-specific modification.

I've tried to install Nova Launcher from apk, i was not able to set it as a default or put any widgets, each attempt ending with launcher crash. Google apps- Market and Maps- would not run, Music and Drive did run ok.
I just used apks, did not try to root the phone.
19th December 2014, 10:11 PM   |  #5  
I use yahoo aviate, and it works very well. It has not crashed and doesnt consume much battery. Its very organized. Try it out.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes