Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Fire Tv pre-launching in germany for 49

OP c0mm0n

4th September 2014, 01:05 PM   |  #11  
alex1301's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Nuremberg
Thanks Meter: 88
 
518 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Ordered mine today too
4th September 2014, 01:41 PM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
I was also one of the naive people ordering a US Amazon Fire TV a while ago to try it out in Germany I never managed to get it working, even after using Unlocator and fiddling around with settings of my Amazon account. So, since then, it's basically sitting in my living room doing nothing.

I'm thus also interested in converting a US Fire TV to a German Fire TV.

Will the German Fire TV be running a different firmware than the US version? If yes, will it be possible to manually flash a German firmware onto a US device? It's not rooted or anything...
4th September 2014, 02:36 PM   |  #13  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Like some others have mentioned, This will be interesting.

Got my FTV from the USA, Wondering if I will be able to "convert" it to a UK model so I can get the native service / apps.

I would go ahead and order one from the UK while it is on offer but cant afford to loose root
4th September 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #14  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
seems that in UK have same offer, but 49...

Not in Spain, France or Italy yet...
4th September 2014, 03:41 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Flag Nordhorn
Thanks Meter: 29
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Got One Hope this will become a nice XBMC Box to replace my RasPi in my Bedroom, which is quite on its limit with my installed AddOns + TVHeadend.
4th September 2014, 07:49 PM   |  #16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Ok, So I decided to send them an email regarding the "region change" of the existing USA Fire TV's,

I asked for my message to be forwarded onto the relevant team involved with the Fire TV for a more appropriate response,

Take of this what you will but they have told me that it will be possible, First you will need to migrate your account, Any purchases made will also transfer, Then once the device has launched in your country, in this case the UK you then need to look out for a firmware update.

They say they will put it up on their help pages.

So that's good news, Sad that it will be a firmware update but not unexpected, Guess I will wait till the time comes and consider my options. At this stage I could not give up my root

Craig
4th September 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
687 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Craig~

So that's good news, Sad that it will be a firmware update but not unexpected, Guess I will wait till the time comes and consider my options. At this stage I could not give up my root

As long as they don't pull any shenanigans with the updates... once I finish Safestrap, for every update that comes out, I will be removing the bad stuff and prerooting it and making it flashable from Safestrap.
The Following User Says Thank You to rbox For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th September 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #18  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbox

As long as they don't pull any shenanigans with the updates... once I finish Safestrap, for every update that comes out, I will be removing the bad stuff and prerooting it and making it flashable from Safestrap.

Wow I had no idea that anything like that was being worked on

That's great to hear, I will for sure be keeping my eyes out for that

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes