Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,750 Members 42,625 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

very disappointed with AFTV Sleep mode

Tip us?
 
jezzirolk
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default very disappointed with AFTV Sleep mode

So i have tried on 2 TVs now and am really frustrated right now. Amazon claims that the fire goes into sleep mode after 30 minutes and i guess this is true it never said that it does this but it does not turn the TV off it just keeps the output alive with a black screen. i find this crazy my laptop can go to sleep mode which turns off the monitor or TV it is hooked to. i tend to fall asleep to TV and movies. so my screen running all night long disappoints me i would assume that sleep mode works like that shutting off my TV or at least killing the output on the HDMI so the TV will detect no source and auto shutoff.maybe I'm missing something but is there a way to do what i want, after some amount of time have the device either over CEC or by killing the output, turn off the TV when it goes into sleep mode or a similar? I have not rooted my AFTV but am willing to if that is what it takes. I managed to root the MotoX so i can root anything i feel like.

--Jezzirolk
 
rbox
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 276
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jezzirolk View Post
So i have tried on 2 TVs now and am really frustrated right now. Amazon claims that the fire goes into sleep mode after 30 minutes and i guess this is true it never said that it does this but it does not turn the TV off it just keeps the output alive with a black screen. i find this crazy my laptop can go to sleep mode which turns off the monitor or TV it is hooked to. i tend to fall asleep to TV and movies. so my screen running all night long disappoints me i would assume that sleep mode works like that shutting off my TV or at least killing the output on the HDMI so the TV will detect no source and auto shutoff.maybe I'm missing something but is there a way to do what i want, after some amount of time have the device either over CEC or by killing the output, turn off the TV when it goes into sleep mode or a similar? I have not rooted my AFTV but am willing to if that is what it takes. I managed to root the MotoX so i can root anything i feel like.

--Jezzirolk
I see two possibilities, both would be kernel modifications and both would require the kernel to know if it's "sleeping". Either turn off the HDMI or send a CEC command. CEC is pretty flaky, so I would probably go with turning off the HDMI. I don't know about your TV, but my TV will sit on the "no input video" all day long, so that doesn't really solve your problem. But regardless, the HDMI driver is pretty big and finding the right spot, and trying to figure out when it's sleeping... I don't really see it happening. Plus, no custom kernels can be loaded until the bootloader unlock is released.
 
jezzirolk
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbox View Post
I see two possibilities, both would be kernel modifications and both would require the kernel to know if it's "sleeping". Either turn off the HDMI or send a CEC command. CEC is pretty flaky, so I would probably go with turning off the HDMI. I don't know about your TV, but my TV will sit on the "no input video" all day long, so that doesn't really solve your problem. But regardless, the HDMI driver is pretty big and finding the right spot, and trying to figure out when it's sleeping... I don't really see it happening. Plus, no custom kernels can be loaded until the bootloader unlock is released.
i feel if CEC works i can set a timer or something in llama or something for idle time i just dont know how to control CEC as of now i find that black screen so freaking frustrating. it is part of the reason i went with the AFTV over the roku. any idea how to play with the CEC? and my TV does auto shut off it no source is attached. if only i could get netflix remote friendly on the PC i would just use a regular HTPC.

--jezzirolk
 
toe-rag
Old
#4  
toe-rag's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 95
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Hartford
Quote:
so my screen running all night long disappoints me i would assume that sleep mode works like that shutting off my TV or at least killing the output on the HDMI so the TV will detect no source and auto shutoff.maybe I'm missing something but is there a way to do what i want, after some amount of time have the device either over CEC or by killing the output, turn off the TV when it goes into sleep mode or a similar?
I use the built in feature of my (Sony TV) SLEEP. works great.

besides... if your FTV goes to sleep, and in effect BLACKS out the screen, your TV is drawing almost if not the same power as if it was in it's OFF or standby mode anyway. The LCD/LED of the TV draws/consumes more than 90% of it's power. I'm guessing if you put one of those 'kill-a-watt' meters on your TV you wouldn't see a difference between turning it off with the TV remote, and when the TV monitor has a BLACK screen.

If your TV is plugged in, it's drawing power. All TVs need to have skeleton circuits energized, so it can respond to IR remote power ON commands, as well as scanning the push buttons or capacitive touch buttons ...

I use a Master/Switched outlet powerstrip on my TV, to turn off an audio amplifier for my bookshelf speakers - when the TV is switched off. This works great. I noticed that when my FTV goes to sleep, the screen goes BLACK, shortly after that (seconds) my amplifier goes off. This indicates that the threshold setting of my powerstrip, 'thinks my TV has been turned off, hence shutting of my amplifier.(enven though my TV is really still ON, if I switch input to my TiVo the screen comes back with a video signal & my amplifier turns back on.

On a side note... I also noticed that it (FTV) doesn't seem to go to SLEEP if I leave it running XBMC -- not positive about this, but for sure one day I left XBMC home screen up, and switched my TV input to my TiVo ... and hours later my FTV power lite was still on. So if you were watching a movie with XBMC and fell asleep, it wouldn't matter - it would have stayed on anyway. I try and explore that more -- but when exactly does the FTV go to sleep? no remote commands for 30 mins? What determines inactivity? I've never had mine go to sleep while watching a movie... (no remote input/outputs for more than 30 mins)

So when the TV is ON/OFF and or asleep .. or just has a BLACK screen. Those are all relative terms, for Ha Hahs ... get one of those "Kill-a-Watt" meters and compare. I have a friend that has one - if I remember I'll ask to borrow it to confirm my theory.
 
jezzirolk
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by toe-rag View Post
I use the built in feature of my (Sony TV) SLEEP. works great.

besides... if your FTV goes to sleep, and in effect BLACKS out the screen, your TV is drawing almost if not the same power as if it was in it's OFF or standby mode anyway. The LCD/LED of the TV draws/consumes more than 90% of it's power. I'm guessing if you put one of those 'kill-a-watt' meters on your TV you wouldn't see a difference between turning it off with the TV remote, and when the TV monitor has a BLACK screen.

If your TV is plugged in, it's drawing power. All TVs need to have skeleton circuits energized, so it can respond to IR remote power ON commands, as well as scanning the push buttons or capacitive touch buttons ...

I use a Master/Switched outlet powerstrip on my TV, to turn off an audio amplifier for my bookshelf speakers - when the TV is switched off. This works great. I noticed that when my FTV goes to sleep, the screen goes BLACK, shortly after that (seconds) my amplifier goes off. This indicates that the threshold setting of my powerstrip, 'thinks my TV has been turned off, hence shutting of my amplifier.(enven though my TV is really still ON, if I switch input to my TiVo the screen comes back with a video signal & my amplifier turns back on.

On a side note... I also noticed that it (FTV) doesn't seem to go to SLEEP if I leave it running XBMC -- not positive about this, but for sure one day I left XBMC home screen up, and switched my TV input to my TiVo ... and hours later my FTV power lite was still on. So if you were watching a movie with XBMC and fell asleep, it wouldn't matter - it would have stayed on anyway. I try and explore that more -- but when exactly does the FTV go to sleep? no remote commands for 30 mins? What determines inactivity? I've never had mine go to sleep while watching a movie... (no remote input/outputs for more than 30 mins)

So when the TV is ON/OFF and or asleep .. or just has a BLACK screen. Those are all relative terms, for Ha Hahs ... get one of those "Kill-a-Watt" meters and compare. I have a friend that has one - if I remember I'll ask to borrow it to confirm my theory.
Interesting find on the power consumption of your TV while it is black I was also thinking of maybe using an RPI to do the XEC stuff while the AFTV must sends it a network command to turn the TV off when it goes into black screen with llama. I might go buy one of those kill-owatt meters today.

--Jezzirolk
 
toe-rag
Old
#6  
toe-rag's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 95
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Hartford
Quote:
Originally Posted by jezzirolk View Post
Interesting find on the power consumption of your TV while it is black I was also thinking of maybe using an RPI to do the XEC stuff while the AFTV must sends it a network command to turn the TV off when it goes into black screen with llama. I might go buy one of those kill-owatt meters today.

--Jezzirolk
sorry .. I don't know what RPI nor XEC is ?
 
jezzirolk
Old
(Last edited by jezzirolk; 19th July 2014 at 04:18 PM.)
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by toe-rag View Post
sorry .. I don't know what RPI nor XEC is ?
sorry typo i mean CEC not XCE and RPI as in a Raspberry Pi, the mini computer.

--jezzirolk
 
toe-rag
Old
#8  
toe-rag's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 95
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West Hartford
Quote:
Originally Posted by toe-rag View Post
I use the built in feature of my (Sony TV) SLEEP. works great.

besides... if your FTV goes to sleep, and in effect BLACKS out the screen, your TV is drawing almost if not the same power as if it was in it's OFF or standby mode anyway. The LCD/LED of the TV draws/consumes more than 90% of it's power. I'm guessing if you put one of those 'kill-a-watt' meters on your TV you wouldn't see a difference between turning it off with the TV remote, and when the TV monitor has a BLACK screen.

If your TV is plugged in, it's drawing power. All TVs need to have skeleton circuits energized, so it can respond to IR remote power ON commands, as well as scanning the push buttons or capacitive touch buttons ...


So when the TV is ON/OFF and or asleep .. or just has a BLACK screen. Those are all relative terms, for Ha Hahs ... get one of those "Kill-a-Watt" meters and compare. I have a friend that has one - if I remember I'll ask to borrow it to confirm my theory.
Well.. I was wrong. I thought there would be less difference between standby,ON with video , and BLACK screen but still ON..


standby (16.0 watts),ON with video(221.3 watts) , and BLACK screen but still ON (58.3 watts)..
 
roustabout
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 739
Join Date: Feb 2011
Our TV (an older Panasonic) has a sleep setting that turns off the TV after X time of no activity - if the only input is over HDMI, the set shuts down after that timeout.

It's annoying that it doesn't see HDMI as activity, but it means the set actually does power down once it's been idle long enough. I'd love to have more flexibility in setting the timeout - I think we only have disabled, 30 minutes and 3 hours as the available options - but I've left the setting as it is for a long time now and am used to it.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes