Backup+ Lets You Backup Your App Data on Android Lollipop

Even though Android 5.0 Lollipop hasn’t yet seen its official release, quite … more

TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more
Post Reply

GTA SA controller issues

OP collindv

24th July 2014, 03:23 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
I just got my AFTV last week. I quickly rooted, installed the play store, and installed stickmount and foldermount.

I installed Grand Theft Auto San Andreas from the play store since I had purchased it previously from there. I then moved all the data to an external usb drive and fired it up.

The game seems to run fine but the Amazon Gamepad controller does nothing in the menu screen. If I load a game (using the droidmote mouse) it loads fine but only the left joystick works, no buttons or right joystick.

The droidmote joystick seems to work fine. The same controller setup works perfectly in Asphalt 8.

Any suggestions?

EDIT - Sorry, just realized half my first post was cut off.
Last edited by collindv; 24th July 2014 at 06:28 PM.
24th July 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
250 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
And?
24th July 2014, 08:11 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Fultondale
Thanks Meter: 36
 
303 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
GTA San Andreas on Android is a festering pile of dog feces when it comes to control functionality.

Maybe someone can contact the Game Keyboard developer and ask for a Fire TV version that does not require switching the IME selection (switching it is nearly impossible),but instead would put a mappable "overlay" that matches the positions of San Andreas' various touch controls.

Or if it is possible,get a keycode mapper which allows you to simulate gamepad keycodes on any keyboard buttons or other gamepads.
(basically a more advanced joytokey without needing the physical joystick,and using the keyboard to control gamepad actions "keytojoy")
This one would have an enable/disable function to prevent input issues when not playing the game it is being used for.

I don't know if the unique Amazon version of GTA San Andreas supports keyboard controls,but it uses the Amazon controller by default.
I can't get any kind of game controller because of secrecy,so I am stuck needing a mapper hack for use on my Logitech K400r keyboard.
24th July 2014, 10:21 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
So in theory the amazon version of GTA SA might be different than that on the Google play store?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
25th July 2014, 02:02 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
I tried with my Moga pro tonight and it works perfectly, apart from the fact that I cannot get to the map screen

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
28th July 2014, 11:42 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 332
 
1,024 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by collindv

I just got my AFTV last week. I quickly rooted, installed the play store, and installed stickmount and foldermount.

I installed Grand Theft Auto San Andreas from the play store since I had purchased it previously from there. I then moved all the data to an external usb drive and fired it up.

The game seems to run fine but the Amazon Gamepad controller does nothing in the menu screen. If I load a game (using the droidmote mouse) it loads fine but only the left joystick works, no buttons or right joystick.

The droidmote joystick seems to work fine. The same controller setup works perfectly in Asphalt 8.

Any suggestions?

EDIT - Sorry, just realized half my first post was cut off.

If the soft controller of DroidMote work well, (tested today with last client and last server - no problem) you can play also with your hardware controller in this way:

1 option :
You can attach your hardware controller or a generic hardware controller to your Client device (via bluetooth, wireless dongle or usb cable), connect droidmote client to droidmote server and play with your hardware controller with the game running on the server device (the FireTv).
To play in this mode you need the original keylayout of your hardware controller installed on your Client device under the folder /system/usr/keylayout
You can get it from /system/usr/keylayout of FireTv if you are using the stock hardware controller of FireTV. (assign 777 permissions after copy)

2 option: ( to test on FireTv)
Start DroidMote Server on FireTv, connect your stock hardware controller to FireTv and should work also the right stick.
Last edited by zulu99; 28th July 2014 at 11:53 AM.
28th July 2014, 04:45 PM   |  #7  
Dhickory's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
157 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by collindv

So in theory the amazon version of GTA SA might be different than that on the Google play store?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

FWIW, the firetv version works great for me using a Logitech F310 gamepad.
28th July 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Fultondale
Thanks Meter: 36
 
303 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
I managed to get Game Keyboard selected as the Default IME,but have not tried anything yet.
If someone else can,please try mapping touch controls to a Logitech K400r keyboard and see if it works well enough.

We also need to know if multi-touch supposedly works on a touchscreen level so that multiple buttons for moving and attacking can be done simultaneously.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Fire TV Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank