Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to change language input method in AFTV?

OP kwansiky

2nd July 2014, 10:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Dear all

I'm using AFTV for HTPC and multimedia platform in the living room.
If I can use Korean language input, it would be perfect for my family.
But I couldn't find any way to change language input method.

So is there anyone who can give me an idea how to change the settings?
3rd July 2014, 05:30 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Korean keyboard input working now
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwansiky

Dear all

I'm using AFTV for HTPC and multimedia platform in the living room.
If I can use Korean language input, it would be perfect for my family.
But I couldn't find any way to change language input method.

So is there anyone who can give me an idea how to change the settings?


I found the way by myself
I think the other language could work also.

1. install setting.apk

2. Amazon keyboard popup disable
adb shell
su
pm disable com.amazon.tv.ime

3. Install Korean(DoDol Keyboard) keyboard from google play store
- android setting -> language input -> installed keyboard setting

4. Now I can use english and korean both...
The Following User Says Thank You to kwansiky For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th July 2014, 01:23 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
I can't seem to use your method..
Hi kwansiky,

I was wondering if you could help me out I'm trying to use a second language on my AFTV. I've installed settings.apk as you suggested, but when I go to "Language & input" it just crashes. Anything special you did to make it work?

Thanks!
5th July 2014, 08:19 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by harelguy

Hi kwansiky,

I was wondering if you could help me out I'm trying to use a second language on my AFTV. I've installed settings.apk as you suggested, but when I go to "Language & input" it just crashes. Anything special you did to make it work?

Thanks!


Would u follow below command to prevent amazon keyboard?
There was only one task issued before install & setup korean keyboard


adb shell
su
pm disable com.amzon.tv.ime

Also

After issue above command, I entered config via keyboard app.
The keyboard app is "dodol keyboard" - I can't link coz forum's polocy.

After setting I could enter language setup via android setting also.
Last edited by kwansiky; 7th July 2014 at 03:37 AM. Reason: Add more information
7th July 2014, 03:42 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Dodol keyboard supports various languages
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwansiky

Would u follow below command to prevent amazon keyboard?
There was only one task issued before install & setup korean keyboard


adb shell
su
pm disable com.amzon.tv.ime

Also

After issue above command, I entered config via keyboard app.
The keyboard app is "dodol keyboard" - I can't link coz forum's polocy.

After setting I could enter language setup via android setting also.

The keyboard app "dodol keyboard" supports below languages
- En
- Thai
- Indonesian
- Arab
- Korean
- Japan
- Chines
- Latin
- German
- Spanish
- Portugal
- France
- Russian
- Ukraine
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes