Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,351 Members 41,279 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to change language input method in AFTV?

Tip us?
 
kwansiky
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] How to change language input method in AFTV?

Dear all

I'm using AFTV for HTPC and multimedia platform in the living room.
If I can use Korean language input, it would be perfect for my family.
But I couldn't find any way to change language input method.

So is there anyone who can give me an idea how to change the settings?
 
kwansiky
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2014
Default Korean keyboard input working now

Quote:
Originally Posted by kwansiky View Post
Dear all

I'm using AFTV for HTPC and multimedia platform in the living room.
If I can use Korean language input, it would be perfect for my family.
But I couldn't find any way to change language input method.

So is there anyone who can give me an idea how to change the settings?

I found the way by myself
I think the other language could work also.

1. install setting.apk

2. Amazon keyboard popup disable
adb shell
su
pm disable com.amazon.tv.ime

3. Install Korean(DoDol Keyboard) keyboard from google play store
- android setting -> language input -> installed keyboard setting

4. Now I can use english and korean both...
 
harelguy
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default I can't seem to use your method..

Hi kwansiky,

I was wondering if you could help me out I'm trying to use a second language on my AFTV. I've installed settings.apk as you suggested, but when I go to "Language & input" it just crashes. Anything special you did to make it work?

Thanks!
 
kwansiky
Old
(Last edited by kwansiky; 7th July 2014 at 02:37 AM.) Reason: Add more information
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by harelguy View Post
Hi kwansiky,

I was wondering if you could help me out I'm trying to use a second language on my AFTV. I've installed settings.apk as you suggested, but when I go to "Language & input" it just crashes. Anything special you did to make it work?

Thanks!

Would u follow below command to prevent amazon keyboard?
There was only one task issued before install & setup korean keyboard


adb shell
su
pm disable com.amzon.tv.ime

Also

After issue above command, I entered config via keyboard app.
The keyboard app is "dodol keyboard" - I can't link coz forum's polocy.

After setting I could enter language setup via android setting also.
 
kwansiky
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2014
Default Dodol keyboard supports various languages

Quote:
Originally Posted by kwansiky View Post
Would u follow below command to prevent amazon keyboard?
There was only one task issued before install & setup korean keyboard


adb shell
su
pm disable com.amzon.tv.ime

Also

After issue above command, I entered config via keyboard app.
The keyboard app is "dodol keyboard" - I can't link coz forum's polocy.

After setting I could enter language setup via android setting also.
The keyboard app "dodol keyboard" supports below languages
- En
- Thai
- Indonesian
- Arab
- Korean
- Japan
- Chines
- Latin
- German
- Spanish
- Portugal
- France
- Russian
- Ukraine
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes