Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,106 Members 40,953 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How well does XBMC work on Fire TV

Tip us?
 
HenryTheUnicorn
Old
#11  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 123
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjbxx View Post
This is all true. However, to get the best possible XBMC experience on the KFTV will require root and to setup an XBMC Launcher (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2790392). This launcher replaces the KFTV launcher while still providing access to it and Amazon Prime. It's literally the best of both worlds.
Thank you for the links. How do I do a factory reset or unroot my device just incase I decide to return it?
 
jmerrilljr2
Old
#12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryTheUnicorn View Post
Thank you for the links. How do I do a factory reset or unroot my device just incase I decide to return it?
Fire TV News (link in a prior post) has guides for all your issues. I would also recommend downloading ADBFire which you can find in the Fire TV Themes and Apps subforum of this forum
 
Madline
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Hi.
I've rooted my AFTV and installet XBMC. It works good, but I have some problems.

1) IPTV PVR SIMPLE addon not working. When I whant to play any channel it freezes and can't go back to menu. Only reset helps.

2) Some kind of shifting in rewind when making step forward or backward fo 30 sec. Very long time of buffering.

3) Sleep mode in XBMC not working properly. It reboots AFTV every time, but no sleep.

4) And the biggest problem in Audio. When I use Direct output with ac3, dts, etc the video playback begins to slow.
 
HenryTheUnicorn
Old
#14  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 123
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madline View Post
Hi.
I've rooted my AFTV and installet XBMC. It works good, but I have some problems.

1) IPTV PVR SIMPLE addon not working. When I whant to play any channel it freezes and can't go back to menu. Only reset helps.

2) Some kind of shifting in rewind when making step forward or backward fo 30 sec. Very long time of buffering.

3) Sleep mode in XBMC not working properly. It reboots AFTV every time, but no sleep.

4) And the biggest problem in Audio. When I use Direct output with ac3, dts, etc the video playback begins to slow.
1. So if I don't use this addon, it won't affect me?
2. What do you mean?
3. Does this fix your problem? http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title...quires_root.29
4. Is there a way for audio and video playback to run smooth without this problem?
The Following User Says Thank You to HenryTheUnicorn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Madline
Old
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryTheUnicorn View Post
1. So if I don't use this addon, it won't affect me?
2. What do you mean?
3. Does this fix your problem?
4. Is there a way for audio and video playback to run smooth without this problem?
1. May be You know any other way to play IPTV playlist without installing additional server soft (such as Tvheadend)? On my HTPC I use "PVR IPTV Simple Client" and it works perfect. On AFTV it stucks.
2. Fast-forward causes everything to look choppy. I think I should edit advancedsettings.xml
3. I made all steps by this wiki. I've installed this Android Screensaver and it worked normally till today. Now my AFTV every minute reboots instead of sleep mode.
4. Yes. In standart settings it works. Without enable passthrough. But this is not acceptable for me.
 
HenryTheUnicorn
Old
#16  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 123
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madline View Post
1. May be You know any other way to play IPTV playlist without installing additional server soft (such as Tvheadend)? On my HTPC I use "PVR IPTV Simple Client" and it works perfect. On AFTV it stucks.
2. Fast-forward causes everything to look choppy. I think I should edit advancedsettings.xml
3. I made all steps by this wiki. I've installed this Android Screensaver and it worked normally till today. Now my AFTV every minute reboots instead of sleep mode.
4. Yes. In standart settings it works. Without enable passthrough. But this is not acceptable for me.
Darn. What should I get? Amazon Fire TV or Raspberry Pi?
 
mjbxx
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 92
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryTheUnicorn View Post
Darn. What should I get? Amazon Fire TV or Raspberry Pi?
Fire TV and do not look back. Besides, you have a 30 day return period throught Amazon. Try it out and see if you like it. You have absolutely nothing to lose doing so.
 
grainybazzles
Old
#18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 21
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryTheUnicorn View Post
Darn. What should I get? Amazon Fire TV or Raspberry Pi?
I have had a raspberry pi with raspbmc for over a year. I bought the firetv two weeks ago. While I enjoyed tinkering around with the pi and tweaking it to get the best experience for xbmc, the fire tv is much better. It's just so much more powerful and as a result everything is very smooth, menus, video playback - all of it. In addition, you have the added benefit of having access to netflix and amazon prime which you will not get on raspbmc. Now I have to turn on one less device when I want to watch netflix. Finally, it seems like there are some devs working on unlocking the bootloader - so I would imagine that custom roms can't be far off. So if those things sound good to you, I would highly recommend the FTV.
The Following User Says Thank You to grainybazzles For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gabsporto
Old
#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmerrilljr2 View Post
No flaws. I'm rooted but root is really not relevant to running XBMC. For years I ran Plex on a MacMini. This is way better. Just to start -- DTS pass-thru.

Sideloading is really easy. So is uninstalling. I can't see a down side here.

DTS pass-thru is something that I was banging my head against the wall to make it work, then I just saw "advanced settings" on the left bottom of menu just to find out that you need to activate this to have access to audio pass-thru. Then it worked flawlessly.
 
athosk
Old
#20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 157
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default Spmc

You guys should look into SPMC for an alternative solution to xbmc. Its the same app but custom made that was designed for Ouya.works better on Amzon Fire Tv

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes