Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,396 Members 36,760 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] XBMC help - XBMC is getting quite large!

Tip us?

Joemilwaukee
Old
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Smile [Q] XBMC help - XBMC is getting quite large!

I've been running XBMC on my FireTV for a while now and I have noticed that it keeps growing in size. With only an 8GB hard drive - most of which is taken up by apps - there isn't an easy way to get rid of the old thrumnails and such that are starting to make XBMC balloon up over 2GB.

Does anyone know of a good way to prune XBMC back down to a reasonable size? An app recommendation would be best - but detailed instructions would work. I'm kinda new to FTV and really haven't edited anything - just sideloaded a few things. Thanks in advance.

{ParanoiA}
Old
Thanks Meter 151
Search feature and ye shall find, young grasshopper
HTC ONE M8: S-OFF
ROM: ViperOneM8
RECOVERY: TWRP
KERNEL: Stock

Ipse_Tase
Old
Thanks Meter 59
Moving the thumbnails to SD doesn't actually address the OP's problem...jut shifts it to SD

I would assume deleting the thumbnails folder together with Textures*.db should take care of the folder size. Your XBMC will run slower after the reboot as the images will have to be cached again as needed.
I have seen Python scripts to regenerate the thumbnails faster based in installed add-ons, but I don't know how to install Python on AFTV.
Note 3 4.4.2 Stock, not by choice
Ouya Stock, rooted >>>> replaced by AFTV, you guessed: stock
Kobo Arc10HD 4.2.2 Stock, rooted...can you say I am...STOCKED?

KarlP
Old
Thanks Meter 3
You need to save the Thumbnails on some external device. You can store them on a mounted flash drive or network location if you want. Unless you do that, eventually your internal memory is going to fill up.

Scott3252
Old
Thanks Meter 1