Post Reply

[Q] Firefox OS Root

1st July 2014, 09:24 AM   |  #1  
Yoyodude1124's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
I have a Nexus 7 (2013/flo/razor) with Firefox OS installed. Is there a way to "Root" the device? and if so, what could it do?
1st July 2014, 10:46 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Can u tell more about your problem ?
1st July 2014, 10:16 PM   |  #3  
Yoyodude1124's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rakoczy12

Can u tell more about your problem ?

I am asking if it is possible to root the device on FirefoxOS
1st July 2014, 10:38 PM   |  #4  
Saijin_Naib's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyodude1124

I am asking if it is possible to root the device on FirefoxOS

Root to accomplish what?

If you use adb and the adb shell, you effectively have root access to the device and can muck about.
5th August 2014, 09:09 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saijin_Naib

Root to accomplish what?

If you use adb and the adb shell, you effectively have root access to the device and can muck about.

You could have adb and adb shell without being root. In that case, you would have restricted permissions in your device. For example, you couldn't edit manually the wpa_supplicant.conf.

You could get root If you set ro.secure to 1. The best way to do it in a non-root build (and If you don't want to flash a new build with the env variablle VARIANT=eng), is to flash the boot.img from a rooted build.

That way, for example, I was able to root an user build to do some test and fixes.
The Following User Says Thank You to CodingFree For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Firefox OS General by ThreadRank