Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] "Start Timer" Command Not working?

OP Jay_uk1185

4th July 2014, 12:40 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Solihull
Thanks Meter: 22
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Guys,

When I tell my G Watch to "start a timer for x minutes" it drops me back to the menu to pick an alarm time (with no relevance on the time its focussed on.)

I'm using a Galaxy Nexus with it at the moment, because my N5 is with LG for a repair, so is anyone else seeing this? Is it possibly because of the Galaxy Nexus not setting the timer properly (like the old way it would try and set an alarm, not a timer, that was recently fixed on 4.4?)



Cheers,
Jay.
5th July 2014, 12:55 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
54 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
I've just tested this out and it seems to work for me. Not sure why it's not working for you.
8th July 2014, 10:03 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay_uk1185

When I tell my G Watch to "start a timer for x minutes" it drops me back to the menu to pick an alarm time (with no relevance on the time its focussed on.)

This is a problem with mine also. Paired with HTC One S (Liberty S4 ROM). Very annoying. Setting an alarm works fine, and setting a timer by touch works also...
8th July 2014, 10:07 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Solihull
Thanks Meter: 22
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by barkside

This is a problem with mine also. Paired with HTC One S (Liberty S4 ROM). Very annoying. Setting an alarm works fine, and setting a timer by touch works also...

Glad its not just me! My Nexus 5 should be back with me today, so hopefully that will solve the problem, as I think its because this GNex hasn't had the updated way of setting timers from Voice commands.

Jay
8th July 2014, 01:57 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I've found the same problem - unfortunately with a Nexus 5!

Running L-Preview - dunno if this causes any probs?
8th July 2014, 06:29 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I just tried it on my Moto X and it works perfectly.
8th July 2014, 06:39 PM   |  #7  
spiderflash's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 95
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jontseng

I've found the same problem - unfortunately with a Nexus 5!

I also got a N5, but I have no problems with my watch whatsoever, but my Nexus is running KitKat 4.4.4 and not L, so yes that might be a problem.
10th July 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I always use "set timer" instead of "start timer" (mostly "set timer for x minutes").
Works like a charm (Nexus 5) (Y)
10th July 2014, 07:38 PM   |  #9  
spiderflash's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 95
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob*nwk

I always use "set timer" instead of "start timer" (mostly "set timer for x minutes").
Works like a charm (Nexus 5) (Y)

Yep I do the same, works perfectly

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes