[Q] Total noob here, need (probably very basic) help

Search This thread

MrDinner

Jan 8, 2015
Hello, first time poster here! :D

I bought Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 GT-I8160 and I want to flash CM 11 on it, because the stock Samsung's ROM is very bloated and slow.
I am looking at CM 11 from NovaFusion, which can be found novafusion.pl website.

I have currently downloaded:
  • cm11.0_codina.nova.20141215.zip
  • pa_gapps-modular-pico-4.4.4-20150106-signed.zip
I chose pico gapps because I want as less bloat as possible (only actually need Play Store).

The problem is, I don't know what to do next... :confused:

Now, I have a few questions:
  1. Can I just flash CM trough the stock/default recovery mode that is already on the phone?
  2. Can I use Odin to flash CM? If so, where is a trusted Odin download?
  3. How do I restore the stock ROM that came with the phone if something goes (terribly :silly:) wrong?
  4. Is it possible to reset flash counter and any other traces of root & custom ROMs on this phone in case I want to return it to warranty?

I added the "About device" info in the attachment! :)

Attachments

• Screenshot_2015-01-08-20-32-17.png
    Screenshot_2015-01-08-20-32-17.png
    65 KB · Views: 170

RyxeL

Feb 12, 2014
malang
1. flash it trough cwm temporary
2. no, you can't. novafusion didn't release Odin package for codina now.
3. backup your stockrom using cwm temporary
4. flashing rom trough cwm not increase flash counter

Reactions: MrDinner

MrDinner

Jan 8, 2015

Thanks a lot for responding! :D

Can you link me to CWM for this phone?
Also, how does the "temporary" mode work? Does it load up recovery from the microSD card? Just curious. :)

Nieon.

Jan 9, 2014
Bekasi

I bought Samsung Galaxy Ace 2 GT-I8160 and I want to flash CM 11 on it, because the stock Samsung's ROM is very bloated and slow.
I am looking at CM 11 from NovaFusion, which can be found novafusion.pl website.