Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,943 Members 52,861 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Small, lightweight rom

Tip us?
 
Thomasvdijk
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Schaijk
Default [Q] Small, lightweight rom

Hi there,

My ACE has CWM-based recovery v5.0.2.6 and, I think, Mokee OS from MFunz. That's what it says when starting.
Whith Facebook, Whatsapp, email(liteversion of outlook.com) and a browser for internet the phone has not enough memory.
I use a SD card for storage and App2sd.
There are a lot of apps that came with this ROM that I don't use or can not be replaced.

I'm now looking for a custom ROM that uses only a small part of te memory.
I want to be able to use WiFi, Bleutooth and GPS.

What is the smallest stable ROM in memory size?
 
mahithm
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 338
Posts: 944
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomasvdijk View Post
Hi there,

My ACE has CWM-based recovery v5.0.2.6 and, I think, Mokee OS from MFunz. That's what it says when starting.
Whith Facebook, Whatsapp, email(liteversion of outlook.com) and a browser for internet the phone has not enough memory.
I use a SD card for storage and App2sd.
There are a lot of apps that came with this ROM that I don't use or can not be replaced.

I'm now looking for a custom ROM that uses only a small part of te memory.
I want to be able to use WiFi, Bleutooth and GPS.

What is the smallest stable ROM in memory size?
Try the following rom,

AOSP GingerBread 2.3.7 for Cooper

Make sure to use the Data Connection and USB Mass Storage fix, if you ever want to use them (check the thread). Hope I Helped
HIT THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU
 
sharingan
Old
#3  
sharingan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 590
Posts: 2,060
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Hidden Leaf village

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomasvdijk View Post
Hi there,

My ACE has CWM-based recovery v5.0.2.6 and, I think, Mokee OS from MFunz. That's what it says when starting.
Whith Facebook, Whatsapp, email(liteversion of outlook.com) and a browser for internet the phone has not enough memory.
I use a SD card for storage and App2sd.
There are a lot of apps that came with this ROM that I don't use or can not be replaced.

I'm now looking for a custom ROM that uses only a small part of te memory.
I want to be able to use WiFi, Bleutooth and GPS.

What is the smallest stable ROM in memory size?
you can give cm 9 by mr@rhievaldo a try it is a good fast cm 9 rom small in size with good ram management and app2sd and cronmod works with it


HIT THANKS IF I HELPED YOU
 
Thomasvdijk
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Schaijk
@ Mahithm
This Rom works fine. Only one thing: there i now sound when I receive a call.
When I try to set the ringtone the proces is stooped(proces com.android.settings)
Do you know how to fix this?
 
Viper The Ripper
Old
(Last edited by Viper The Ripper; 29th June 2014 at 02:47 PM.)
#5  
Viper The Ripper's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 756
Posts: 1,720
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomasvdijk View Post
@ Mahithm
This Rom works fine. Only one thing: there i now sound when I receive a call.
When I try to set the ringtone the proces is stooped(proces com.android.settings)
Do you know how to fix this?
Try to put your desired files (.ogg) from /system/media/ringtones or /notifications into /sdcard/ringtones or /sdcard/notifications and then reboot. Maybe it's a momentary possible fix. Or select your desired file using your own file browser and set it manually

BTW you can use this rom A special slim masterpiece by V0-1 + CM 7 GAPPS

I remember it was amazing and ringtones worked good
 
Thomasvdijk
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Schaijk
Thanks.
I don't understand what your saying about putting files somewhere and rebooting.
Therefore I will try the other ROM you mentioned.

I will post the result here.
 
mahithm
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 338
Posts: 944
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomasvdijk View Post
@ Mahithm
This Rom works fine. Only one thing: there i now sound when I receive a call.
When I try to set the ringtone the proces is stooped(proces com.android.settings)
Do you know how to fix this?
I never had such problem while using this rom. Make sure it not in the Silent Mode or that the volume is down. Try choosing a ringtone available in the phone. If none of this works, then do a factory reset from CWM. You can also follow what @Viper The Ripper suggested
HIT THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...