Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

No System installed

OP Perou

7th August 2014, 07:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Hello everbody!
At first, my English isn't very well, so sorry for that.

My Problem:
I wanted to install CM 11 on my Ace I (GT-S5830i), but this extremly failed. To keep it short, i haven't any OS on my device now, but I can enter the CWM (version 6.0.1.2)

What I have done:
Install CWM
wipe data/factory reset + wipe cache partition (but in the Stock recovery)
format /system (in CWM)

Now I get the error message:
E: can't mount Cache/recovery/log

I tried to install CM 11 (for the Ace I (GT-S5830i) for sure)
Install zip from sdcard

but I get these Messages:

Opening update package...
Installing update...
This package is for "cooperve.GT-S5830i, gt-5830i devices; this is a "".
E:Error in /sdcard/cm-11...
(Status 7)
Install aborted.
E: can't mount Cache/recovery/log
E: can't open Cache/recovery/log
E: can't mount Cache/recovery/last_log
E: can't openCache/recovery/last_log


I was so silly and didn't make a backup.

When I try to start the device, only the gt-5830i-Logo appears, of course, ther is no OS installed.
So what can I do? Is there any chance to install an OS?

I also tried to install the Stock Firmware with Odin; result failed.



Thanks!

Edit:
Odin works, now I have the Stock Firmware, but I can't flash CM 11;
Error Message;
E: can't mount Cache/recovery/log
Last edited by Perou; 7th August 2014 at 08:42 PM.
7th August 2014, 11:19 PM   |  #2  
Nightly Coder's Avatar
Member
Flag Austria
Thanks Meter: 33
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perou

Hello everbody!
At first, my English isn't very well, so sorry for that.

My Problem:
I wanted to install CM 11 on my Ace I (GT-S5830i), but this extremly failed. To keep it short, i haven't any OS on my device now, but I can enter the CWM (version 6.0.1.2)

--cut--

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perou

E: can't mount Cache/recovery/log
E: can't open Cache/recovery/log
E: can't mount Cache/recovery/last_log
E: can't openCache/recovery/last_log

This error is not serious, it just means, that it cannot create log files, because of the missing cache partition.
I also got this error when using the "on-the-fly" CWM.

If you install a ROM (which has a kernel), then CWM gets installed to the recovery/kernel partition, then you have a "rock stable" CWM.
Hopefully without errors. But for now, you can just ignore this error.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perou

This package is for "cooperve.GT-S5830i, gt-5830i devices; this is a "".

On some devices the device info in the properties is empty, and therefore the updater-script thinks, the device is not supported.
If you know exactly that your device is supported, you can delete the first lines of the updater-script.

Steps
  • Open the *.zip with WinRAR or similar
  • Go to META-INF\com\google\android
  • Extract the updater-script (Drag & Drop), don't close WinRAR
  • Open the updater-script with your favorite text editor (i.e. notepad++)
  • Delete the first lines containing "assert(getprop("ro.product.device") == "your_device" || getprop(...) == "...");"
  • This line can be on multiple lines, so be sure to delete the complete "assert" statement
  • Drag & Drop the modified updater-script into WinRAR (same folder as before)
  • Optionally sign the *.zip
  • Install it with CWM
  • Be sure what you are doing (at your own risk)

If it worked, feel free to hit Thanks
Last edited by Nightly Coder; 7th August 2014 at 11:31 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Nightly Coder For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th August 2014, 02:17 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Thank you for your efforts, I really appreciate it, but I solved the Problem.

As I said, now I have the Sotck Firmware (thanks Odin ^^).
I flashed CWM again with Odin, and tada, I could install CM 11, without any Problems.
8th August 2014, 03:05 PM   |  #4  
Nightly Coder's Avatar
Member
Flag Austria
Thanks Meter: 33
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perou

Thank you for your efforts, I really appreciate it, but I solved the Problem.

As I said, now I have the Sotck Firmware (thanks Odin ^^).
I flashed CWM again with Odin, and tada, I could install CM 11, without any Problems.

Yeah, flashing the CWM with Odin is another great solution.
Then you have a working CWM out of the box, and the device properties are setted correctly.

I'm glad it's working now
11th August 2014, 04:27 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Help! S5830i
I have had all of the same issues in this thread on my S5830i, except that I can not get into download mode (black screen with back light on) and wont connect to Odin....
Happened after trying to install CM11
Am using CWM 6.0.1.2

Please help!!
12th August 2014, 03:59 AM   |  #6  
Hitesh2626's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag ☆◢Mumbai◣☆
Thanks Meter: 1,424
 
1,810 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dekema

I have had all of the same issues in this thread on my S5830i, except that I can not get into download mode (black screen with back light on) and wont connect to Odin....
Happened after trying to install CM11
Am using CWM 6.0.1.2

Please help!!

When you press the combo for download mod the black screen comes up right ? At that time connect your phone to PC an turn on Odin & last press volume up that's it your phone will be get connected.
12th August 2014, 07:54 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Thumbs up Thank you!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitesh2626

When you press the combo for download mod the black screen comes up right ? At that time connect your phone to PC an turn on Odin & last press volume up that's it your phone will be get connected.

Bloomin Excellent!!
Worked a Treat....
Many Thanks to you Hitesh2626.
13th August 2014, 01:59 PM   |  #8  
mstfymrtc's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Nevşehir
Thanks Meter: 10
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
More
Did you tried work Odin in Windows 7 or XP? What's ur operation system?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes