Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,666 Members 39,731 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Is the Alpha fully compatible with US AT&T?

Tip us?
 
derekmarch
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 81
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Is the Alpha fully compatible with US AT&T?

It seems like the Samsung Galaxy Alpha has all the necessary bands to be used with AT&T in the US. But does anyone know for sure? If Samsung takes too long to release this in America can I buy the UK version and use it in the US?

Thanks
 
blairh
Old
#2  
blairh's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 75
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekmarch View Post
It seems like the Samsung Galaxy Alpha has all the necessary bands to be used with AT&T in the US. But does anyone know for sure? If Samsung takes too long to release this in America can I buy the UK version and use it in the US?

Thanks
Bump. I have the same question.
 
sirobelec
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 93
Join Date: Feb 2014
GSM Arena says this about the device:

2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600

If what wikipedia says, AT&T uses the following frequencies:

2G: 850 / 1900.
3G: 850 / 1900.
4G: 700 block B (main frequency) / 1700 AWS / 1900 / 2300.

So, if I read correctly, you can use the international Alpha for 2&3G, but for LTE, you are covered only by one LTE band, 1900, and this being not a main frequency, won't have good coverage everywhere, I think.
 
blairh
Old
#4  
blairh's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 75
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirobelec View Post
GSM Arena says this about the device:

2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600

If what wikipedia says, AT&T uses the following frequencies:

2G: 850 / 1900.
3G: 850 / 1900.
4G: 700 block B (main frequency) / 1700 AWS / 1900 / 2300.

So, if I read correctly, you can use the international Alpha for 2&3G, but for LTE, you are covered only by one LTE band, 1900, and this being not a main frequency, won't have good coverage everywhere, I think.
Does this pertain to HSPA+ too?
 
sirobelec
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 93
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by blairh View Post
Does this pertain to HSPA+ too?
HSPA+ is 3G, so you shouldn't have problems with it.
 
blairh
Old
#6  
blairh's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 75
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirobelec View Post
HSPA+ is 3G, so you shouldn't have problems with it.
So I'd get HSPA+ anywhere I'd get it from an AT&T phone, just not LTE necessarily?
 
sirobelec
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 93
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by blairh View Post
So I'd get HSPA+ anywhere I'd get it from an AT&T phone, just not LTE necessarily?
Yes. If it was me to make the decision, I'd want my phone with an unlocked bootloader, HSPA+ is good enough speed for me.
Though, practically, I've never tested LTE in my life, until recently we didn't have any 4G networks.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more

Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more

MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more