Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more

Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more
Post Reply

Is the Alpha fully compatible with US AT&T?

OP Frontier3

25th August 2014, 05:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
108 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
It seems like the Samsung Galaxy Alpha has all the necessary bands to be used with AT&T in the US. But does anyone know for sure? If Samsung takes too long to release this in America can I buy the UK version and use it in the US?

Thanks
13th September 2014, 12:48 AM   |  #2  
blairh's Avatar
Member
USA
Thanks Meter: 8
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekmarch

It seems like the Samsung Galaxy Alpha has all the necessary bands to be used with AT&T in the US. But does anyone know for sure? If Samsung takes too long to release this in America can I buy the UK version and use it in the US?

Thanks

Bump. I have the same question.
13th September 2014, 12:22 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
GSM Arena says this about the device:

2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600

If what wikipedia says, AT&T uses the following frequencies:

2G: 850 / 1900.
3G: 850 / 1900.
4G: 700 block B (main frequency) / 1700 AWS / 1900 / 2300.

So, if I read correctly, you can use the international Alpha for 2&3G, but for LTE, you are covered only by one LTE band, 1900, and this being not a main frequency, won't have good coverage everywhere, I think.
13th September 2014, 06:23 PM   |  #4  
blairh's Avatar
Member
USA
Thanks Meter: 8
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirobelec

GSM Arena says this about the device:

2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600

If what wikipedia says, AT&T uses the following frequencies:

2G: 850 / 1900.
3G: 850 / 1900.
4G: 700 block B (main frequency) / 1700 AWS / 1900 / 2300.

So, if I read correctly, you can use the international Alpha for 2&3G, but for LTE, you are covered only by one LTE band, 1900, and this being not a main frequency, won't have good coverage everywhere, I think.

Does this pertain to HSPA+ too?
14th September 2014, 11:53 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blairh

Does this pertain to HSPA+ too?

HSPA+ is 3G, so you shouldn't have problems with it.
14th September 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #6  
blairh's Avatar
Member
USA
Thanks Meter: 8
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirobelec

HSPA+ is 3G, so you shouldn't have problems with it.

So I'd get HSPA+ anywhere I'd get it from an AT&T phone, just not LTE necessarily?
14th September 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by blairh

So I'd get HSPA+ anywhere I'd get it from an AT&T phone, just not LTE necessarily?

Yes. If it was me to make the decision, I'd want my phone with an unlocked bootloader, HSPA+ is good enough speed for me.
Though, practically, I've never tested LTE in my life, until recently we didn't have any 4G networks.
3rd October 2014, 02:34 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
International Galaxy Alpha NO US LTE on ATT or TMO
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekmarch

It seems like the Samsung Galaxy Alpha has all the necessary bands to be used with AT&T in the US. But does anyone know for sure? If Samsung takes too long to release this in America can I buy the UK version and use it in the US?

Thanks

I bought an unlocked international/Euro Galaxy Alpha SM-G850F at the London Samsung store... Installed my USA ATT SIM and have no prob w. calls or H or H+ data but can NOT get LTE band in the USA on either ATT or TMO even though the device seems to have the right bands for ATT or TMO LTE. On advice from an ATT Wireless store manager, I updated my APN settings to match ATT setup but still did not get LTE. FYI my H+ is quite fast for most purposes but I want LTE. Hope that answers your question.... Mine is how can I get LTE???
3rd October 2014, 03:02 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 330
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevensmiami

I bought an unlocked international/Euro Galaxy Alpha SM-G850F at the London Samsung store... Installed my USA ATT SIM and have no prob w. calls or H or H+ data but can NOT get LTE band in the USA on either ATT or TMO even though the device seems to have the right bands for ATT or TMO LTE. On advice from an ATT Wireless store manager, I updated my APN settings to match ATT setup but still did not get LTE. FYI my H+ is quite fast for most purposes but I want LTE. Hope that answers your question.... Mine is how can I get LTE???


Are you sure the European version has correct U.S. LTE bands? I was under the impression that it does not....
3rd October 2014, 03:48 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevensmiami

I bought an unlocked international/Euro Galaxy Alpha SM-G850F at the London Samsung store... Installed my USA ATT SIM and have no prob w. calls or H or H+ data but can NOT get LTE band in the USA on either ATT or TMO even though the device seems to have the right bands for ATT or TMO LTE. On advice from an ATT Wireless store manager, I updated my APN settings to match ATT setup but still did not get LTE. FYI my H+ is quite fast for most purposes but I want LTE. Hope that answers your question.... Mine is how can I get LTE???

Quote:
Originally Posted by phositadc

Are you sure the European version has correct U.S. LTE bands? I was under the impression that it does not....

Originally Posted by sirobelec
GSM Arena says this about the device:

2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100
4G Network LTE 800 / 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600

If what wikipedia says, AT&T uses the following frequencies:

2G: 850 / 1900.
3G: 850 / 1900.
4G: 700 block B (main frequency) / 1700 AWS / 1900 / 2300.

So, if I read correctly, you can use the international Alpha for 2&3G, but for LTE, you are covered only by one LTE band, 1900, and this being not a main frequency, won't have good coverage everywhere, I think.

The Following User Says Thank You to stevensmiami For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes