Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,340 Members 43,337 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to fix 'E: Can't Mount Cache' in CWM

Tip us?
 
syedwaseem
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: bangalore
Default How to fix 'E: Can't Mount Cache' in CWM

This happens when you wipe the cache, but it does not mean anything is wrong with your phone.

E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/log and the other five errors are similar to this.

PERFORM A BACKUP PRIOR TO THIS

I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THAT HAPPENS TO YOUR PHONE.

Start by going into your recovery..

If you want to keep the ROM you have, then follow these directions. When flashing a new ROM follow the next set of directions.

KEEPING YOUR CURRENT ROM

1) Go into your recovery
2) Go to mounts and storage
3) Format /cache x3
4) Go to advanced in the main menu
5) Reboot recovery

If it is not working, repeat the steps.

FLASHING A NEW ROM

1) Go into your recovery
2) Format /system /data /cache x3 (Like any normal flashing of a ROM)
3) Install the ROM you want to use
4) Go to mounts and storage
5) Format /cache
6) Go to advanced in the main menu
7) Reboot recovery
8) Boot into your newly flashed ROM


I made this thread because some people still have this error show up even though it doesn't affect the way you flash a ROM.. It's just annoying to see that come up every time you hit the back button in CWM.
 
dima234
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by syedwaseem View Post
This happens when you wipe the cache, but it does not mean anything is wrong with your phone.

E: Can't mount /cache/recovery/log and the other five errors are similar to this.

PERFORM A BACKUP PRIOR TO THIS

I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR ANYTHING THAT HAPPENS TO YOUR PHONE.

Start by going into your recovery..

If you want to keep the ROM you have, then follow these directions. When flashing a new ROM follow the next set of directions.

KEEPING YOUR CURRENT ROM

1) Go into your recovery
2) Go to mounts and storage
3) Format /cache x3
4) Go to advanced in the main menu
5) Reboot recovery

If it is not working, repeat the steps.

FLASHING A NEW ROM

1) Go into your recovery
2) Format /system /data /cache x3 (Like any normal flashing of a ROM)
3) Install the ROM you want to use
4) Go to mounts and storage
5) Format /cache
6) Go to advanced in the main menu
7) Reboot recovery
8) Boot into your newly flashed ROM


I made this thread because some people still have this error show up even though it doesn't affect the way you flash a ROM.. It's just annoying to see that come up every time you hit the back button in CWM.
I have tried this but this does not work. I am Using PhilZ CWM 6.49.2. I cant even Flash A Custom ROM Because of this problem it would just show me these error messages and say "Installation Aborted" and restart phone.
I have also Flashed back the Stock ROM and repeated all of the procedures: 1.Framaroot 2:CWM
Still no success it just keeps giving me these stupid errors, Please Find a FIX.
THANKS
 
meriox
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dima234 View Post
I have tried this but this does not work. I am Using PhilZ CWM 6.49.2. I cant even Flash A Custom ROM Because of this problem it would just show me these error messages and say "Installation Aborted" and restart phone.
I have also Flashed back the Stock ROM and repeated all of the procedures: 1.Framaroot 2:CWM
Still no success it just keeps giving me these stupid errors, Please Find a FIX.
THANKS

I have the same problem.
I tried methods:

$ su
#dd if = / sdcard / recovery.img of = / dev / block / mmcblk0p13

It does not work.

I installed the stock rom and checked the partition mmcblk0p13 with "Partition Table" and the partition is not mounted.
Maybe this is the problem?
 
dima234
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by meriox View Post
I have the same problem.
I tried methods:

$ su
#dd if = / sdcard / recovery.img of = / dev / block / mmcblk0p13

It does not work.

I installed the stock rom and checked the partition mmcblk0p13 with "Partition Table" and the partition is not mounted.
Maybe this is the problem?
Yea even i have tried the same but it does not work, guess we have to stick to the stock ROM till someone finds a fix.
 
meriox
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dima234 View Post
Yea even i have tried the same but it does not work, guess we have to stick to the stock ROM till someone finds a fix.
Do you think that someone will be looking to solve the problem?

It seems to me that the problem occurs only in the new models that have been bought recently.

I tried to install the older stock firmware but it did not help.
None of the methods that have been on the forum does not work.
The problem occurs only when WIPE DATA / FACTORY RESET.
 
bercerobry
Old
#6  
bercerobry's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 83
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by meriox View Post
Do you think that someone will be looking to solve the problem?

It seems to me that the problem occurs only in the new models that have been bought recently.

I tried to install the older stock firmware but it did not help.
None of the methods that have been on the forum does not work.
The problem occurs only when WIPE DATA / FACTORY RESET.
yea getting the same problem here.

cant mount system
cant mount cache

and most of all when install custom ROM. cannot continue since non of those partitions cannot mount properly.

and other errors are flooding the recovery, we have tried Philz, CWM, TWRP. same annoying problems.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Play Music on Android Wear with Stellio Music Player

Android Wear smartwatchesare growing inpopularity every day. Some devices have already … more

Schedule is up for xda:devcon ’14

With xda:devcon ’14 just around the corner, and the venue close to selling out, there is a lot … more

aLogcat Returns Thanks to XDA Love

The developers of Android, that is Google, gave users several great debugging tools that can be used in … more

And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more