[NOT SAFE TO FLASH!]First attempt at porting Android Wear to Galaxy Gear

Search This thread

TekGadgt

Aug 8, 2012
Hello everyone!

This is my first attempt at porting Android Wear to the Galaxy Gear! I am not an experienced dev and this was done fairly quickly using null_23 as a base and the Gear Live system dump. This is not at all ready and definitely not ready to flash. If you do decide to flash it, you risk bricking your device. That being said, I am requesting that a more experienced dev check over my work. If it seems in order, then it will be tested, until such a time, test at your own risk.

Link: http://d-h.st/go2

UPDATE: [ONLY FOR BRAVE PEOPLE INTERESTED IN TESTING]: Since I used null_ as the base, the addons are still available, but please do not flash any of them! And use the stock kernel for the time being!

UPDATE 2: It might be a good idea to try using the custom kernel we have available to us. If I can get an updater script from the gear live or other android wear device and look in to modifying the bootclasspath in the preexisting custom kernel that we have.

UPDATE 3: I have figured out how to modify the bootclasspath, will make the modification shortly. I just need an updater script for an android wear device and we may have a booting android wear port.

UPDATE 4: Link to Attempt 2 coming soon. This has a modified updater script that will hopefully set all permissions correctly. This may be all it needs to boot properly. If not, then I may still need some help getting the Gear Live Kernel to modify our kernel's bootclasspath. If anyone would like to flash this, same as before, I can't guarantee anything will work or that your device will work afterward.

Link: AWAttempt2.zip

UPDATE 5: added my slightly modified updater files from fomey's null_ ROM attached at the bottom. fomey, if we get this working, could you package it in to null_ as a second ROM option?

Last edited:

gidi

May 29, 2006
Hello everyone!