Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

updating from tizen to u.s. version of tizen

OP rachaelslp

22nd July 2014, 02:58 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I am currently running the British version of tizen but would like to try the u.s. version just to see if there are different apps. Tried to use Kies but it didn't work. Any ideas?
Thanks
22nd July 2014, 05:19 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachaelslp

I am currently running the British version of tizen but would like to try the u.s. version just to see if there are different apps. Tried to use Kies but it didn't work. Any ideas?
Thanks

Yes, I saw the announcement today that Tizen was finally available in the USA. I live in the USA and have been running the UK version of Tizen for a while, but I thought let me see if the USA version might be an upgrade. I never have luck with Kies so I was going to use Odin which always works well. I went to Sammobile to download the new firmware and decided to wait after I looked at the version number of the USA (Cellular South). It is 2.2.0 vs the 2.2.1.1 version which every other country has including my current UK version. Is this an earlier version of Tizen without the enhancements that come with most of the other Nations firmware? I am holding off on flashing the USA version and sticking with my UK version.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	USA Tizen.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	59.2 KB
ID:	2864308  
22nd July 2014, 08:44 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
From what Samsung said on the website, we would have 140 apps or so. Since I didn't have that many on my version of tizen, I thought I would check out the other one ��
22nd July 2014, 09:07 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachaelslp

From what Samsung said on the website, we would have 140 apps or so. Since I didn't have that many on my version of tizen, I thought I would check out the other one ��

That have nothing to do with the firmware or tizen version.
It is a thing about the combination of samsung smartphone modell and the gear.
My combination is a s4 gt-i9505+gear 1 running tizen and i see only 49 or 50 total apps in the gear manager app store.
When your phone have root, you can make some changes in the build.prop file to deceive the samsungs gear manager store, as example, a galaxy s5.
Then you have a lot more apps which you can download and install.

Here you can read more details.
Last edited by psycho-sonic; 22nd July 2014 at 09:10 PM.
22nd July 2014, 10:34 PM   |  #5  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,616
 
1,678 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by psycho-sonic

That have nothing to do with the firmware or tizen version.
It is a thing about the combination of samsung smartphone modell and the gear.
My combination is a s4 gt-i9505+gear 1 running tizen and i see only 49 or 50 total apps in the gear manager app store.
When your phone have root, you can make some changes in the build.prop file to deceive the samsungs gear manager store, as example, a galaxy s5.
Then you have a lot more apps which you can download and install.

Here you can read more details.

Pls can u help me? I need watchstyler apk for gear 1 with tizen... Are u so gentle to download it and post here? Tnx anyway

I would like to try but i dont have a sammy device...
22nd July 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skin1980

Pls can u help me? I need watchstyler apk for gear 1 with tizen... Are u so gentle to download it and post here? Tnx anyway

I would like to try but i dont have a sammy device...

You can download it self on http://gearfaces.com.
On the left side you'll see a blue box, klick on it the apk download starts.
23rd July 2014, 03:32 AM   |  #7  
joeaux's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachaelslp

I am currently running the British version of tizen but would like to try the u.s. version just to see if there are different apps. Tried to use Kies but it didn't work. Any ideas?
Thanks

I upgraded my GG from Android to Tizen using the method on the forums here. When I tried to do it via the "official" Samsung instructions Kies told me it wasn't upgradable. I downgraded my GG to Android (again using the fantastic thread on the forums here) and then did the Kies upgrade. Worked without a hitch. Oh and there are more apps in the store after you get to the official version. And the official version of Tizen for the US is NF1. I can't tell any difference between the Odin flashed version and the official US version except I can "see" more apps in the store. Battery is still great. Speed is the same.
Last edited by joeaux; 23rd July 2014 at 03:41 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to joeaux For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd July 2014, 07:02 AM   |  #8  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,616
 
1,678 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by psycho-sonic

You can download it self on http://gearfaces.com.
On the left side you'll see a blue box, klick on it the apk download starts.

I know but that version doesn't work for me.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes