XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more
Post Reply

[Q] Security makes settings app crash.

OP Estgio

24th August 2014, 02:07 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Hello.

I installed Cyanogen 10 MMB on my Samsung Gio and everythink works fine except one thing :

I can not set a unlock password because the "Security" part of "Settings" crash every time.

I tried to empty Settings data, reboot, wipe, nothing work..


(One more question, the best ROM for this Samsung Gio ? )
Last edited by Estgio; 24th August 2014 at 09:36 PM.
24th August 2014, 11:48 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
What CWM version did you use to install CM10?

Sent from my GT-5660 using XDA Free mobile app
25th August 2014, 06:26 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soled101

What CWM version did you use to install CM10?

Sent from my GT-5660 using XDA Free mobile app

CWM_6.0.5.3_Gio with cm-10.0.5-MMB_JB-gio
26th August 2014, 12:01 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Estgio

CWM_6.0.5.3_Gio with cm-10.0.5-MMB_JB-gio

That should be all right.

This is a touchy subject because some agree, while others disagree, but before installing a new ROM I will wipe everything including system folder before installing ROM and then I will factory reset before reboot.

I run MMB CM7.2 and I've found if I don't factory reset after installation I hit little annoying bugs. It could be because you should always do it or my phone (I don't know).
I do know that developers used to say to factory reset before and after installation but now they say only before.

This is the only help I can offer on this subject as I don't run CM10.

Sent from my GT-5660 using XDA Free mobile app
26th August 2014, 06:31 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soled101

That should be all right.

This is a touchy subject because some agree, while others disagree, but before installing a new ROM I will wipe everything including system folder before installing ROM and then I will factory reset before reboot.

I run MMB CM7.2 and I've found if I don't factory reset after installation I hit little annoying bugs. It could be because you should always do it or my phone (I don't know).
I do know that developers used to say to factory reset before and after installation but now they say only before.

This is the only help I can offer on this subject as I don't run CM10.

Sent from my GT-5660 using XDA Free mobile app

Thank you, it was very helpful
I will try to factory reset, again, and wipe dalvik cache before reinstall this ROM. Maybe you can tell me wich one you are using ? Can I install every ROM with this CWM ? I did not use a "ext4 file formater" before installing, do I have to ?
29th August 2014, 06:02 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Can I install this : cm10.1_gio.maclaw.20130908

over this : cm-10.0.5-MMB_JB-gio

using this : CWM_6.0.5.3_Gio

?

Do I have to run a ext4 program before installing ? wich one ?
Last edited by Estgio; 29th August 2014 at 06:07 PM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes