Post Reply

[Q] firmware update

OP tosa.th

18th April 2014, 12:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Bangkok
Thanks Meter: 140
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Hello,
I wonder if there is anything different between firmware that release for each region. I got B2 firmware same as a lot of country but why India has C3.
Some country just get B2 recently but india got C3 for couples of month ago.

Anyone know what is exactly diffrent ? Is it because of hardware different example modem or because of some limitation of law in each country which might not allow samsung to include some applications.
Thanks
18th April 2014, 02:22 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
hey,
The company provides Firmware updates in order to patch or improve minor bugs in current firmware or to improve locale support.

other counties have eg. B2/B3 as they have a flawless running system so they dont need update.

in india there may be few errors in previous firmware, and other thing is, indian firmware contain many locales with different indian languages,
therefore to improve it, indian firmwares get updated!
The Following User Says Thank You to vrushabh sutar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th April 2014, 05:07 PM   |  #3  
Indian Devil's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Today i got an update, it's D1 now.

Indian Firmware
19th April 2014, 05:44 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
hmm,
the OTA firmware updates which are small (eg. from 7mb to 24mb or a bit higher) in size only contain the changed ver. of CSC branding and few USER un-noticeable changes..
19th April 2014, 10:15 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 104
 
383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
KITKAT
God knows when we will have KITKAT, or not at all !!!!!

When I got the update pop up, I was hopng it was 4.4. but no. just 4.3 again.

schubeir
19th April 2014, 07:37 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 34
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
We probably wont get kitkat via an OTA update,
this is what "i" think...
because that update would be around size of 1 to 1.5GB in size therefore it would be released through Online servers of samsung or 'Kies' :-/
25th April 2014, 08:39 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Pune
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
KitKat wont be coming in so small package. And yeah, it will be available through OTA only
Cos previously i had Note 2 with Android v4.1, so it had received 4.3 update through OTA only, and size was about 700 MB+.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes