Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Baseband/Radio] UGKK7

OP bakedjake

9th December 2011, 06:36 PM   |  #21  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
The md5 for my img file is daba551b03f57aec77560a8818ceba6f
9th December 2011, 07:07 PM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
@ bakedjake

Could you post what commands (in detail) you used to dump the radio? I'm just curious for future reference. Thanks!
9th December 2011, 07:08 PM   |  #23  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
From page one:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainShutdown

In Galaxy Nexus the radio is located in

/dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.0/by-name/radio

so using dd it would be

dd if=/dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.0/by-name/radio of=/sdcard/radio.img

The Following User Says Thank You to bakedjake For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th December 2011, 07:15 PM   |  #24  
1wayjonny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,114
 
455 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
When in fastboot the the radio was sent but the writing failed. Not sure why?

I also received an import from expansys but I had all US parts inside i regards to the charger.

Hmm just wanted to warn a few that this radio was giving trouble flashing for me.
9th December 2011, 07:18 PM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
379 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1wayjonny

When in fastboot the the radio was sent but the writing failed. Not sure why?

I also received an import from expansys but I had all US parts inside i regards to the charger.

Hmm just wanted to warn a few that this radio was giving trouble flashing for me.

I got the same result.

I dumped my own radio using DD and it came out to be the same size as Jake's.. but I couldn't flash my own radio dump either.

there's clearly something different about the image created by DD and the packaged radio.img in the XXKK1 baseband thread..

The dumped radio is 16.8MB and the packaged one is 12.6MB.. packaged one will flash, but the dumped ones will not.
9th December 2011, 07:26 PM   |  #26  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
I'm new to Android, so I'm sorry I can't be of more help.

That said, I'm willing to dump whatever, so if anyone has any ideas I'm all ears.
9th December 2011, 07:48 PM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
My guess is the dumps are padded with a bunch of zeros at the end of the file. Deleting them with a hex editor will probably fix the fastboot flashing issues.

This is just my guess based on past experience with other devices. I haves even opened or tried these dumps.




Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

edit: here's a trimmed version of the dumped radio. I removed all the zeros at the end to it is exact same size of normal fastboot radio. Just unzip it first.
edit2: md5 of radio .img a657d315fb5b8da3d1529e78ae92b1ca
Attached Files
File Type: zip UGKK7_trimmed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.47 MB, 1490 views)
Last edited by Luxferro; 9th December 2011 at 09:11 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Luxferro For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th December 2011, 07:58 PM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
975 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
anyone try on ATT yet?

also the new expansys shipments came with that weird samsung build. I had issues with a bunch of stuff before flashing it to the standard google rom. Finally got the OTA package as well. Not sure if its the same issue or not.
9th December 2011, 08:03 PM   |  #29  
1wayjonny's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,114
 
455 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Yup that is what happened there is padding at the end.

**EDIT** Someone posted the radio already trimmed.
Last edited by 1wayjonny; 9th December 2011 at 08:54 PM.
9th December 2011, 08:09 PM   |  #30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
379 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
the trimmed one flashed fine..

Speeds seem about the same..

signal seems to have improved, but I'm in a high signal area right now.. tonight will be the real test..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes