5,595,570 Members 46,828 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[KERNEL] [GPL] [GN] franco.Kernel r395

Tip us?
 
sruel3216
Old
#24231  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 113
Posts: 630
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by creeve4 View Post
sampling_rate_min has been set by Franco, although it may be possible to change it with an init.d script. Too bad the sampling rate can not be set lower... I would also like to set it to 15000
i read that only in 230 it cant be set lower
 
nikulogical
Old
#24232  
nikulogical's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 478
Posts: 1,441
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto
For those looking for better performance than the stock settings, use 384/1200 interactive instead of ondemand with a high max freq (I tried 1420 and 1536 steps). I did some tests and the first setup always yields better real life performance, better benchmarks, and better screen on time.

Wheatley on the other hand I have not tested yet.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Hammerhead: Stock, rooted.
Maguro: SOLD
i9100: Slimbean


The Following User Says Thank You to nikulogical For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
creeve4
Old
(Last edited by creeve4; 2nd August 2012 at 02:23 AM.)
#24233  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 324
Posts: 1,819
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bountiful
Quote:
Originally Posted by godisanatheist View Post
For those looking for better performance than the stock settings, use 384/1200 interactive instead of ondemand with a high max freq (I tried 1420 and 1536 steps). I did some tests and the first setup always yields better real life performance, better benchmarks, and better screen on time.

Wheatley on the other hand I have not tested yet.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
What do you mean by the "first setup"?

Let us know what you find with Wheatley.
 
martindesu
Old
#24234  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 172
Join Date: Apr 2012
Would it be possible to add into the Franco application, an option to install a stock kernel? [I ask as my nandroid is corrupted].
 
TEK112
Old
#24235  
TEK112's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 449
Posts: 2,051
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by martindesu View Post
Would it be possible to add into the Franco application, an option to install a stock kernel? [I ask as my nandroid is corrupted].
There are two stock kernels, ICS and JB. If you google it, you can find either one.
DROID Paraphernalia:

Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 Edition
Galaxy Note II - Stock Rooted
Pipo M1 - FMA Pipo Beans v3 - My Own Creation
Galaxy Nexus - Retired
G-Tablet - Retired
Moto DROID - Retired (Nice VOIP Phone)
Teclast P98HD - Retired (Screen too high res for CPU/GPU)

If you really want to thank me, sign up for Dropbox!
 
nikulogical
Old
#24236  
nikulogical's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 478
Posts: 1,441
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by creeve4 View Post
What do you mean by the "first setup"?

Let us know what you find with Wheatley.
384/1200 interactive

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Hammerhead: Stock, rooted.
Maguro: SOLD
i9100: Slimbean


The Following User Says Thank You to nikulogical For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nikulogical
Old
#24237  
nikulogical's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 478
Posts: 1,441
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto







384/1228 interactive. R230 512 gpu. Official gsm extended battery. Mostly wifi and a couple hours of 3g.


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Hammerhead: Stock, rooted.
Maguro: SOLD
i9100: Slimbean


The Following User Says Thank You to nikulogical For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
martindesu
Old
#24238  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 24
Posts: 172
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TEK112 View Post
There are two stock kernels, ICS and JB. If you google it, you can find either one.
Would you be kind enough to show me? I can't seem to dig it out.
 
rmcsc
Old
#24239  
rmcsc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 298
Posts: 991
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by godisanatheist View Post







384/1228 interactive. R230 512 gpu. Official gsm extended battery. Mostly wifi and a couple hours of 3g.


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
Had you used the 384 before, by any chance? If so, how did it compare?

Also, kudos on the nick.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2


Samsung Galaxy Nexus (Maguro Takju) - Jelly Bean 4.2.1 with minooch's MiNCO v6.2
Motorola Xoom WiFi (MZ604) - Jelly Bean 4.2.1 with dreamcwli's My Android Alpha
HTC T-Mobile G2 (retired) - Gingerbread 2.3.4 with s14mc's G2 Slim v1.6
HTC T-Mobile myTouch 3G (32B, sold)
 
nikulogical
Old
#24240  
nikulogical's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 478
Posts: 1,441
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmcsc View Post
Had you used the 384 before, by any chance? If so, how did it compare?

Also, kudos on the nick.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
On ics I did some tests between the two. Virtually the same battery life. I think 512 gpu only affects battery life negatively if you're playing 3d games a lot since that's prob the only time it'll ramp all the way to 512.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Hammerhead: Stock, rooted.
Maguro: SOLD
i9100: Slimbean



Tags
4.0.4, 4.1, 4.2, best kernel, best support, fast, franco, galaxy, jb 4.1, kernel, nexus, samsung
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes