FORUMS

OnePlus Addresses Reservation List Cheating

Jake Cooper figured out how to bump his place up on OnePlus’ reservation list and … more

OnePlus 2 Benchmark Scores Show Its Muscle

This video by FoneArena contains all the popular benchmarks being tested on the OnePlus 2, … more

Sony’s Emergence in The Middle: Is The Price Right?

Sony’s Electronics Division is not in its best days, and its smartphone … more

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

[RECOVERY] ClockworkMod Recovery *GSM Edition*

2,539 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,643
 
By open1your1eyes0, Senior Member on 22nd November 2011, 05:47 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
7th December 2011, 07:33 PM |#111  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
What exactly does Fix Permissions in CWM do? Whenever I run it as part of installing the Google Wallet hack, it stops a good chunk of my programs from working without uninstalling and then reinstalling them from the market.
 
 
7th December 2011, 07:42 PM |#112  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Infra

Many have reported on different threads (even stock) that if you have your phone connected to charger and you try to shut it down, it will get stuck and show only the battery logo. And the only way to get it boot again is to remove the battery.

I think this is more ROM related as I have not had this issue with MCR and CWM. When I tried to flash franco's kernel my phone wasn't too happy as the boot image was different to the one for MCR. When I tried to get back into recovery was when I first had this freeze and had to pull the battery. I am back to all MoDaCo ROM & Kernel and all working fine and no freeze's.


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App
7th December 2011, 08:16 PM |#113  
mrvirginia's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 2,689
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by siedkins

I think this is more ROM related as I have not had this issue with MCR and CWM. When I tried to flash franco's kernel my phone wasn't too happy as the boot image was different to the one for MCR. When I tried to get back into recovery was when I first had this freeze and had to pull the battery. I am back to all MoDaCo ROM & Kernel and all working fine and no freeze's.


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App

i believe this gent is correct. i was coming back to the threads to ask about this very issue and i was going to go to the developers ROM thread because this wasn't the case until i flashed said ROM. i'll now stop turning my phone off and charging it at the same time until i load another one
7th December 2011, 08:45 PM |#114  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 162
 
More
Sorry for the previous reply. Now I think it is a kernel related issue. I flashed the MCR rom and everything works great now.
7th December 2011, 08:50 PM |#115  
mrvirginia's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 2,689
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljwnow

Sorry for the previous reply. Now I think it is a kernel related issue. I flashed the MCR rom and everything works great now.

i don't. i'm running the stock kernel with a modified ROM. normally i would think the same, and try a new kernel first before making such an assumption, but not with a stock kernel.

edit: it's CWM. same issue now and i'm running stock deodexed ROM and stock kernel.
Last edited by mrvirginia; 7th December 2011 at 09:46 PM.
8th December 2011, 09:29 AM |#116  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi Guys,

Hope you can help me out here. I've flash CWM but how do I actually get into it?
8th December 2011, 02:52 PM |#117  
mrvirginia's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Charlotte, NC
Thanks Meter: 2,689
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mvpeterson

Hi Guys,

Hope you can help me out here. I've flash CWM but how do I actually get into it?

there's 2 ways i go about it currently. shut down the device, then you can hold down volume+/- and then power, then use volume+/- until you see recovery on the screen, then hit power button to select. or, the way i like to do it, is via an app called Quick Boot that's free in the market. you'll also start to see APM (advanced power menu) mods floating around where you can have the device on and just hold the power button and select it. VillainROM's first release has this already
8th December 2011, 11:42 PM |#118  
Senior Member
Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 388
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knolly

What exactly does Fix Permissions in CWM do? Whenever I run it as part of installing the Google Wallet hack, it stops a good chunk of my programs from working without uninstalling and then reinstalling them from the market.

It pretty much does what the name implies. It goes through the phone and sets the correct permissions for apps, and I guess other files as well (read write execute). If they aren't set correctly they won't work right.

If you look in /system/app/ you'll see all the files have the same permissions. rw-r--r--. Each set of permissions is really 3 different users (owner, group, and others). so owner has read and write permission, group and other only have read access. none of them get execute access.
9th December 2011, 02:19 AM |#119  
kevinniven's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
CWM
I have installed and see some others having same problems. When i hit boot into recovery i get the little android guy with red tri. Also when I hold vol up and down and select recovery, same thing. I have also tried downloading quick boot with no luck. I havent been able to go into recovery at all! Any news on a fix for this? Am I doing something wrong?? Thx
9th December 2011, 02:34 AM |#120  
Senior Member
Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 388
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinniven

I have installed and see some others having same problems. When i hit boot into recovery i get the little android guy with red tri. Also when I hold vol up and down and select recovery, same thing. I have also tried downloading quick boot with no luck. I havent been able to go into recovery at all! Any news on a fix for this? Am I doing something wrong?? Thx

That's cause u have the stock Android recovery back. There is a script that runs at boot up that checks ur recovery. If it doest see the stock one it replaces recovery back to stock. Rename or delete the script.


The script name and location are in the thread somewhere. I forget offhand. Do some reading.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
9th December 2011, 03:06 AM |#121  
kevinniven's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 52
 
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luxferro

That's cause u have the stock Android recovery back. There is a script that runs at boot up that checks ur recovery. If it doest see the stock one it replaces recovery back to stock. Rename or delete the script.


The script name and location are in the thread somewhere. I forget offhand. Do some reading.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium

Just reading thru again and cant find script. If anyone has a link plz post. thx

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
clockwork, clockworkmod, cwm, galaxy nexus, mod
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes