Root and Install Recovery Through Z3’s Locked Bootloader

This easy-to-follow guide will teach you how to root your phone without the … more

Behind the Scenes with Sony’s Engineers

The developers of the Xperia Z3 talk about the decisions and manufacturing of the phone’s … more

CM Apps – CyanogenMod Apps Without Root

Over the years CyanogenMod created many applications that replaced the default AOSP apps. These … more

Good Games to Show off Graphics on My Phone?

Mobile games may not be ready to replace your consoles, but they have seen incredible … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

4.0.4 Stock boot.img with flags to set adb to root

OP rhcp0112345

5th February 2012, 08:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 117
 
1,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Here you guys go.

Credit goes to imo for helping me with the ramdisk.

http://aospdev.com/rhcp/dev/404boot_root.img
5th February 2012, 09:09 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Doesn't work.

Flashed this via fastboot, booted into CWM, flashed su.zip, rebooted phone, still no root.
5th February 2012, 09:10 AM   |  #3  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 117
 
1,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Diddy

Doesn't work.

Flashed this via fastboot, booted into CWM, flashed su.zip, rebooted phone, still no root.

su/superuser wont work. Its not compat with 4.0.4

Thats why you need this modded boot.img so you can have root over adb.

it's tested and it works.
5th February 2012, 09:15 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Ah, but still no root in the GUI?
5th February 2012, 09:17 AM   |  #5  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 117
 
1,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Diddy

Ah, but still no root in the GUI?

Correct. Not until Chains fixes superuser or SU.

I pasted the logcat to his git.
5th February 2012, 09:21 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Out of curiosity then, how are some managing to get SU to work after upgrading to 4.0.4?

I've seen plenty of posts around of users stating it's fine.
5th February 2012, 09:23 AM   |  #7  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 117
 
1,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Diddy

Out of curiosity then, how are some managing to get SU to work after upgrading to 4.0.4?

I've seen plenty of posts around of users stating it's fine.

Your guess is as good as mine.

Im not sure if they have gui root or adb root.

also, many are getting tricked by the hybrid rom (Like mine) which is 4.0.3 (with 4.0.4 props) and people are saying its true 4.0.4 src built which is 100% lie
5th February 2012, 09:26 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
244 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhcp0112345

Your guess is as good as mine.

Im not sure if they have gui root or adb root.

also, many are getting tricked by the hybrid rom (Like mine) which is 4.0.3 (with 4.0.4 props) and people are saying its true 4.0.4 src built which is 100% lie

That's what I'm thinking. People are updating radios and bootloader and saying they're on 4.0.4.
5th February 2012, 09:28 AM   |  #9  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 117
 
1,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Diddy

That's what I'm thinking. People are updating radios and bootloader and saying they're on 4.0.4.

Yeps!!!!!!!
5th February 2012, 11:19 AM   |  #10  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 117
 
1,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
In order to fix su.

You can try to flash http://downloads.androidsu.com/super...ghi-signed.zip

If you get an assert failure.

You will need to unzip that. and put the su bin in place via recovery then set perm 04755 to it.

Hope this helps. Comes from chains

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes