Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,619 Members 52,291 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

4.0.4 Stock boot.img with flags to set adb to root

Tip us?
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#1  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Default 4.0.4 Stock boot.img with flags to set adb to root

Here you guys go.

Credit goes to imo for helping me with the ramdisk.

http://aospdev.com/rhcp/dev/404boot_root.img
 
M Diddy
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 230
Join Date: Dec 2010
Doesn't work.

Flashed this via fastboot, booted into CWM, flashed su.zip, rebooted phone, still no root.
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#3  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Diddy View Post
Doesn't work.

Flashed this via fastboot, booted into CWM, flashed su.zip, rebooted phone, still no root.
su/superuser wont work. Its not compat with 4.0.4

Thats why you need this modded boot.img so you can have root over adb.

it's tested and it works.
 
M Diddy
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 230
Join Date: Dec 2010
Ah, but still no root in the GUI?
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#5  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Diddy View Post
Ah, but still no root in the GUI?
Correct. Not until Chains fixes superuser or SU.

I pasted the logcat to his git.
 
M Diddy
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 230
Join Date: Dec 2010
Out of curiosity then, how are some managing to get SU to work after upgrading to 4.0.4?

I've seen plenty of posts around of users stating it's fine.
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#7  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Diddy View Post
Out of curiosity then, how are some managing to get SU to work after upgrading to 4.0.4?

I've seen plenty of posts around of users stating it's fine.
Your guess is as good as mine.

Im not sure if they have gui root or adb root.

also, many are getting tricked by the hybrid rom (Like mine) which is 4.0.3 (with 4.0.4 props) and people are saying its true 4.0.4 src built which is 100% lie
 
M Diddy
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 230
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhcp0112345 View Post
Your guess is as good as mine.

Im not sure if they have gui root or adb root.

also, many are getting tricked by the hybrid rom (Like mine) which is 4.0.3 (with 4.0.4 props) and people are saying its true 4.0.4 src built which is 100% lie
That's what I'm thinking. People are updating radios and bootloader and saying they're on 4.0.4.
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#9  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Diddy View Post
That's what I'm thinking. People are updating radios and bootloader and saying they're on 4.0.4.
Yeps!!!!!!!
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#10  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 117
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
In order to fix su.

You can try to flash http://downloads.androidsu.com/super...ghi-signed.zip

If you get an assert failure.

You will need to unzip that. and put the su bin in place via recovery then set perm 04755 to it.

Hope this helps. Comes from chains

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes