Post Reply

Bad signal on VZW GNex

OP mastibeta

16th December 2011, 04:33 PM   |  #31  
Senior Member
New Braunfels, TX
Thanks Meter: 38
 
217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
I'm a mostly-3G person, and the phone seems to be:

1. Much better than the Thunderbolt or Incredible in 3G signal. By about 10dB.
2. Slightly worse than the borrowed Razr by 5 dB.

I can't talk about 4G as I'm not in it's area enough to gauge a difference. When I was in San Antonio, I got 22 down and 11 up. And I had a 4G signal in an office where I didn't have one with the Razr.

I must admit, though, that at least the Nexus can hold/reconnect (quickly) a data signal. When the Razr dropped off a data network, it could take 30~45 minutes for it to "see" a new data network. It was very annoying especially while driving. Handoffs on the Nexus seem fast.
16th December 2011, 04:52 PM   |  #32  
sstang2006's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
516 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
If it is not a Motorola you can bet signal will $uck.

My rented RAZR never dropped 4G at work, with the Nexus I only see 4G from time to time.
16th December 2011, 07:09 PM   |  #33  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa Fl
Thanks Meter: 54
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
I am thinking this may be hardware specific...it seems most have the issue, but some seem very good....ideas?

EDIT: I spent some time on the phone with Tech support. They ran some service through the towers to my device...i am assuming its like re-associating with the towers....whatever they did, my phone now has a solid 4g lock, and my data speeds have doubled.
Last edited by mastibeta; 16th December 2011 at 10:51 PM.
17th December 2011, 03:44 AM   |  #34  
Junior Member
Flag Columbia, SC
Thanks Meter: 2
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastibeta

I am thinking this may be hardware specific...it seems most have the issue, but some seem very good....ideas?

EDIT: I spent some time on the phone with Tech support. They ran some service through the towers to my device...i am assuming its like re-associating with the towers....whatever they did, my phone now has a solid 4g lock, and my data speeds have doubled.

I'll try that tomorrow, but the signal has been terrible. LG Revolution pre Nexus and gets much better 4G in this area.

Lets get the word out and comment on posts you can find: http://androidcommunity.com/verizon-...1216/#comments
Last edited by fender2kx; 17th December 2011 at 03:58 AM.
17th December 2011, 03:54 AM   |  #35  
martonikaj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 1,714
 
7,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mastibeta

I am thinking this may be hardware specific...it seems most have the issue, but some seem very good....ideas?

EDIT: I spent some time on the phone with Tech support. They ran some service through the towers to my device...i am assuming its like re-associating with the towers....whatever they did, my phone now has a solid 4g lock, and my data speeds have doubled.

Probably analogous to just updating your PRL on the device.
17th December 2011, 03:59 AM   |  #36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I noticed the 3g signal is about the same if not better than my droid 2 global. I live just on the edge of 4g and neither me (galaxy nexus) or my brother (tbolt) can get a 4g signal consistently.
17th December 2011, 04:03 AM   |  #37  
Gilbot's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Milpitas
Thanks Meter: 103
 
520 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Coming from Sprint, this phone's 3g and 4g speeds are insane good. I'll reply if I see issues, but right now I'm in heaven.



Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
17th December 2011, 04:13 AM   |  #38  
xguntherc's Avatar
Senior Member
Viva Las Vegas!
Thanks Meter: 11
 
891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Anyone try going back to 4.0.1 stock image Google released (LTE obviously) before the update and see if the signal is better?

hmm.. This XYBOARD 8.2" LTE sitting next to my Galaxy Nexus has two bars of LTE while I'm on 3G.. that isn't fun
17th December 2011, 04:14 AM   |  #39  
martonikaj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 1,714
 
7,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilbot

Coming from Sprint, this phone's 3g and 4g speeds are insane good. I'll reply if I see issues, but right now I'm in heaven.

That's cuz Sprint 3G / 4G is pretty bad :P
17th December 2011, 04:29 AM   |  #40  
MrKleen1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
284 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Well guys this is not our imaginations. Yesterday I got the phone first thing in the morning and if I did not have wifi in my house I would not have been able to use the phone because it kept dropping.

Yesterday I pulled the battery several times and the sim card. The phone would have 4g for a minute and then drop again.

Today I called tech support and they had me do a factory data reset. I did this and thought the problem was solved because my signal was then about as good as my Thunderbolt. However as the day has progressed it has now gone bad again and now I cannot hold much of a signal if any again.

I called tech support tonight and they guy had me turn the phone off and take the battery out and he re-provisioned it and had me check all the settings. We checked it all out and my signal is about -125 to -140 dbm. He said anything above about 95 is not a good signal.

He said it sounds like I have a device with a bad radio. He said I should take it back and get another to see if it is better with a new one or if they are all bad. Then if the phone is no good I at least have a chance to get something better within my return timeframe. This is what he told me...

This is what I am going to do tomorrow. So far I am very disappointed with the Nexus since I tortured myself over it for two months in anticipation. Finally it comes out and it is a dud. Obviously this is probably why it was delayed. It appears as though it should still be delayed or redesigned.

I hope to never be so excited over a phone again.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Nexus General by ThreadRank