Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Convert Stock Yakju 4.1.2 to Stock Takju 4.2 without loosing data/apps

OP freezer2000

16th November 2012, 07:57 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Are you a Galaxy Nexus (yakju) user and waiting for the 4.2 OTA update while the same has been pushed for Takju variant... please follow below to convert from yakju to takju (stock) without loosing your data/apps: (assuming you know adb & fastboot and have set them up on your computer. Also assuming that bootloader is unlocked) [Please read before you implement]

1. Download the 4.2 factory images for Takju from http://goo.gl/UMbmS
2. Extract files using 7-zip on Windows (you need to extract twice and will get the files as: bootloader-xxx.img; radio-xxx.img and image-xxx.zip)
3. Copy these files to the location android-sdk/platform-tools/ (if you have the android-sdk installed or to the location where adb & fastboot is)
4. Plug in your Galaxy Nexus (ensure Debug option is enabled under Developer Settings
5. Follow these commands:
a. adb reboot bootloader
b. fastboot flash bootloader bootloader-xxx.img
c. fastboot reboot-bootloader
d. fastboot flash radio radio-xxx.img
e. fastboot reboot-bootloader
f. fastboot update image-xxx.zip

This would update your Galaxy Nexus from Stock 4.1.2 (yakju) to Stock 4.2 (takju) without losing any data/apps

Note:
1. If you using Windows follow the video tutorial to setup adb and fastboot http://goo.gl/jGcic
2. If you are on Mac, use ./ before the commands for execution

Note 2: With this method you don't need to remove the userdata.img as the command "fastboot update image-xxx.zip" does not touch the userdata on your device.



*Disclaimer: I have followed the above to the T and moved from Stock 4.1.2 (yakju) to Stock 4.2 (takju) with Unlocked Bootloader, but you follow these at your own risk.

Hit Thanks, if this has helped you.
Last edited by freezer2000; 16th November 2012 at 12:41 PM.
The Following 40 Users Say Thank You to freezer2000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th November 2012, 08:43 AM   |  #2  
neelabh75's Avatar
Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 9
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Why are you using crespo images instead of maguro?
16th November 2012, 08:49 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
143 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
ROFLCOPTER. Say thanks for copy paste and already posted o0
16th November 2012, 08:54 AM   |  #4  
neelabh75's Avatar
Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 9
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
I understand that you are avoiding userdata cause it will wipe the existing one. But if one does not flash the boot image, will the next OTA(if ever happens) will be successfully installed?
16th November 2012, 09:11 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by neelabh75

I understand that you are avoiding userdata cause it will wipe the existing one. But if one does not flash the boot image, will the next OTA(if ever happens) will be successfully installed?

This should allow you to update the next OTA without any issues..
16th November 2012, 09:11 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Code:
fastboot update image-xxx.zip
This will almost definitely wipe the data, as image-xxx.zip contains userdata.img
Every other place I have read instructions, they have mentioned that userdata.img must be removed from image-xxx.zip before updating it.
16th November 2012, 09:20 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
167 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
To do this you have to have the bootloader UNLOCKED. In the bootloader unlock process, all your data will be wiped, so this guide

DOESN´T WORK
16th November 2012, 09:21 AM   |  #8  
Samhain77's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
426 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paganwinter

Code:
fastboot update image-xxx.zip
This will almost definitely wipe the data, as image-xxx.zip contains userdata.img
Every other place I have read instructions, they have mentioned that userdata.img must be removed from image-xxx.zip before updating it.

Sure you're righrt, you've to remove it from the zip file. This guide is not so useful as it should be.
By the way to perform all this actions you need unlocked bootloader, if you haven't yet you will LOSE ALL YOUR DATA when unlocking with: fastboot oem unlock
16th November 2012, 09:25 AM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 121
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yxcv99

ROFLCOPTER. Say thanks for copy paste and already posted o0

Thanks for your comment.
At least I made you laugh... Have a Good Day
16th November 2012, 09:27 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
77 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by paganwinter

Code:
fastboot update image-xxx.zip
This will almost definitely wipe the data, as image-xxx.zip contains userdata.img
Every other place I have read instructions, they have mentioned that userdata.img must be removed from image-xxx.zip before updating it.

Yup.. You MUST remove userdata.img..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes