Post Reply

Developers Support Thread

OP dreamsforgotten

20th October 2012, 04:30 PM   |  #21  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,672
 
9,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
I applaud this thread, but aren't you (at least partially) reinventing the wheel?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1386615
20th October 2012, 05:02 PM   |  #22  
dreamsforgotten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 2,559
 
5,055 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrynalyne

I applaud this thread, but aren't you (at least partially) reinventing the wheel?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1386615

Sort of, the site is going to grow and grow setting up the build is only step one. The thread its a place to congregate instead of my pm box and hope teaching others at the same time.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
20th October 2012, 08:22 PM   |  #23  
hev88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Glendale
Thanks Meter: 186
 
581 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

8 hours!?

mine builds in 10 minutes after CCACHE, and 30-40 before....

Damn ten minutes... pretty quick, what are you running. I just finished setting up my old server last night. 2 dual core xeons with 16 gigs of ram and I'm interested to see how that cranks out builds

Sent from my Maguro
20th October 2012, 09:56 PM   |  #24  
dreamsforgotten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 2,559
 
5,055 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hev88

Damn ten minutes... pretty quick, what are you running. I just finished setting up my old server last night. 2 dual core xeons with 16 gigs of ram and I'm interested to see how that cranks out builds

Sent from my Maguro

I missed the original post, 10 mins Damn. I'm on an old q6600 quad core with 8g ram.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
20th October 2012, 10:44 PM   |  #25  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,823
 
10,803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hev88

Damn ten minutes... pretty quick, what are you running. I just finished setting up my old server last night. 2 dual core xeons with 16 gigs of ram and I'm interested to see how that cranks out builds

Sent from my Maguro

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamsforgotten

I missed the original post, 10 mins Damn. I'm on an old q6600 quad core with 8g ram.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Its a LinuxMint 13 VM in an ESXi box here at my house
VM has 8 cores, 8gb ram, 160gb of disk

machine is a Dell R710, 24gb ram, dual quad xeon 2.4ghz, 8-146gb 15k rpm SAS in RAID10

thought about doing a baremetal install instead of esxi, but i need it to run a couple of servers too


last night i did a make clean and full nightly build of AOKP - 37 minutes
20th October 2012, 11:18 PM   |  #26  
Beamer9408's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 172
 
929 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
I build aokp on a old dual core with 4 gigs in about 4 hours with ccache about an hour. I usually make clobber before every build so it always takes 4 hours but hey at least it builds!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
20th October 2012, 11:33 PM   |  #27  
hev88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Glendale
Thanks Meter: 186
 
581 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirateghost

Its a LinuxMint 13 VM in an ESXi box here at my house
VM has 8 cores, 8gb ram, 160gb of disk

machine is a Dell R710, 24gb ram, dual quad xeon 2.4ghz, 8-146gb 15k rpm SAS in RAID10

thought about doing a baremetal install instead of esxi, but i need it to run a couple of servers too


last night i did a make clean and full nightly build of AOKP - 37 minutes

Damn that's some serious hardware tight there. I had a few servers set up but I'm in a apartment and was driving my girlfriend crazy with all the fans running so I've had to cut back... also gets old when you have to turn the TV all the way up to be heard over the fans lol.

I have another with 4 dual core xeons but can't run it cause I have no 220 outlet at my place other than on the patio in the laundry room and am to cheap to buy a power inverter.

But ya again. Props on the hardware and ill see how long my build takes tonight

Sent from my Maguro
20th October 2012, 11:43 PM   |  #28  
dreamsforgotten's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 2,559
 
5,055 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hev88

Damn that's some serious hardware tight there. I had a few servers set up but I'm in a apartment and was driving my girlfriend crazy with all the fans running so I've had to cut back... also gets old when you have to turn the TV all the way up to be heard over the fans lol.

I have another with 4 dual core xeons but can't run it cause I have no 220 outlet at my place other than on the patio in the laundry room and am to cheap to buy a power inverter.

But ya again. Props on the hardware and ill see how long my build takes tonight

Sent from my Maguro

This, I wouldn't be able to think sitting in the room with that much noise. I'd much rather ssh in and use it

Edit: Updated CSS layout on the website to make it more pleasant on the eyes. Will be doing more throughout next week, I'm most definitely not a website developer.
21st October 2012, 12:00 AM   |  #29  
hev88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Glendale
Thanks Meter: 186
 
581 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Its an acquired taste

Sent from my Maguro
The Following User Says Thank You to hev88 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st October 2012, 01:17 AM   |  #30  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 7,823
 
10,803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamsforgotten

This, I wouldn't be able to think sitting in the room with that much noise. I'd much rather ssh in and use it

Edit: Updated CSS layout on the website to make it more pleasant on the eyes. Will be doing more throughout next week, I'm most definitely not a website developer.

That's why I have headphones. Lol. My wife has her own home office and my kid has his room.

My home office is 9.5ft by 21.5ft with 10 foot ceilings and the servers are enclosed in a 32u rack. Its not that bad.

Let me know if you need help with website design, I can lend a hand here and there.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android development, galaxy nexus, learning, noob
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Nexus General by ThreadRank