Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,547 Members 42,515 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Galaxy Nexus wifi death grip again? Probably YES.

Tip us?
 
GiveMe2Beers
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 85
Join Date: Nov 2011
Thumbs down [Q] Galaxy Nexus wifi death grip again? Probably YES.

Look at this video:

LINK

You can clearly see that, as the guy keeps the hand off the back of the phone, the wifi signal boosts up from zero to 3 bars.

In all the review as well, you can notice that as the reviewer grips the device, the wifi signal goes bad.

Damn it, again, as the Galaxy S2, wifi grip issue.

Thank you Samsung, Aloha Nexus.
 
gravis86
Old
#2  
gravis86's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 1,116
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kirkland, WA
There are very few phones that don't do this. To antennas used to be at the top of the device away from your hand, but ever since someone decided phones give you cancer they moved the antennas to the bottom.

I'd rather have cancer and actually get reception.
 
HooloovooUK
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 209
Join Date: May 2007
If we stopped this form over function nonsense the manufacturers could put proper antennas on phones like they used to have. Then this sort of thing wouldn't be a problem.
Samsung Galaxy Nexus - stock.

T-Mobile UK Vario IV
Energy.RAPHAEL.29020.Sense2.5.May.15.7z
XDAndroid 2.2.2-r1 Build FRX06
The Following User Says Thank You to HooloovooUK For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GiveMe2Beers
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 85
Join Date: Nov 2011
You don't use wifi when you brings your phone near your head c'mon...

Wifi connection is used when you use web end emails...

A lot of people had complained about GS2 wifi issue and Samsung did nothing in this Nexus, this seems to be the thuth.
 
jeux_1
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 110
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Belfast
Quote:
Originally Posted by GiveMe2Beers View Post
You don't use wifi when you brings your phone near your head c'mon...

Wifi connection is used when you use web end emails...

A lot of people had complained about GS2 wifi issue and Samsung did nothing in this Nexus, this seems to be the thuth.
Skype over wifi ?
 
The 4th Derivative
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 82
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by GiveMe2Beers View Post
You don't use wifi when you brings your phone near your head c'mon...

Wifi connection is used when you use web end emails...

A lot of people had complained about GS2 wifi issue and Samsung did nothing in this Nexus, this seems to be the thuth.
I dont get service in my dorm so i rely on wifi calling... wifis a must for me

Sent from HTC Glacier using XDA App
 
GiveMe2Beers
Old
(Last edited by GiveMe2Beers; 16th November 2011 at 09:28 PM.)
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 85
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeux_1 View Post
Skype over wifi ?
You're right.

But are you telling me Samsung is the only company that fights for our health?I've used iPhone 4, Nokia, SE Xperia Arc, and Lg Optimus instead want to kill us? None of those had wifi grips issues.

C'mon. It's simply a wifi issue as it was for the GS2.
 
Chirality
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 129
Posts: 649
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by The 4th Derivative View Post
I dont get service in my dorm so i rely on wifi calling... wifis a must for me

Sent from HTC Glacier using XDA App
Use a headset?
 
xManMythLegend
Old
#9  
xManMythLegend's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 1,381
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by The 4th Derivative View Post
I dont get service in my dorm so i rely on wifi calling... wifis a must for me

Sent from HTC Glacier using XDA App
earpiece.

People REALLY shouldnt be holding these plutonium slates to there heads.
Acer Iconia or Galaxy Tab 10.1 ?
My comparison
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...8#post14801098
 
bmstrong
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 309
Posts: 2,062
Join Date: Aug 2010
A simple case should solve this problem. Not an excuse, nor an apology, by any means but since Samsung can't learn from it's mistakes it'll have to do.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes