Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Google voicemail on Tmobile's $30 Monthly 4G plan

OP vince2398

6th December 2011, 10:15 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince2398

Did you disable the carrier voicemail after GV voicemail was setup or before? Not sure if that matters because I disabled it as the very first thing.

The order shouldn't matter. Has nothing to do with google voice or it's voice mail.
6th December 2011, 10:41 PM   |  #12  
Junior Member
San Jose, CA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
T-Mobile's prepaid plan does not support unconditional call forwarding, which is required to use Google Voice as the voice mail box on a non-Google Voice number.

However, just using a separate Google Voice number and its voice mail box works fine.

I have the same plan ($30 Monthly4G) I love it (no fees and taxes) except for this lack of unconditional call forwarding.

Hong.
6th December 2011, 10:52 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hongcho

T-Mobile's prepaid plan does not support unconditional call forwarding, which is required to use Google Voice as the voice mail box on a non-Google Voice number.

However, just using a separate Google Voice number and its voice mail box works fine.

I have the same plan ($30 Monthly4G) I love it (no fees and taxes) except for this lack of unconditional call forwarding.

Hong.

I don't think it is required to use google voices voicemail.

While the google voice app on the phone won't be able to setup voicemail (cause of lack of conditional call forwarding), you can activate it through google voice desktop version. As long as your carrier voicemail is disabled (I called them to disable it, and have them turn off web-guard), then when someone calls your google voice number, it will forward to your phone, but if no one answers the phone, after x seconds your google voice voice mail should pick up the call and your phone should show a missed call, and a google voice notification (for the voicemail).

I'm not sure why the OP is having problems. Lots of people have it setup this way.

edit: did you disable web guard too? (you need to call and verify your age). if not, maybe your problem is related to that.
Last edited by Luxferro; 6th December 2011 at 10:55 PM.
6th December 2011, 10:57 PM   |  #14  
martonikaj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 1,715
 
7,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luxferro

I don't think it is required to use google voices voicemail.

While the google voice app on the phone won't be able to setup voicemail (cause of lack of conditional call forwarding), you can activate it through google voice desktop version. As long as your carrier voicemail is disabled (I called them to disable it, and have them turn off web-guard), then when someone calls your google voice number, it will forward to your phone, but if no one answers the phone, after x seconds your google voice voice mail should pick up the call and your phone should show a missed call, and a google voice notification (for the voicemail).

I'm not sure why the OP is having problems. Lots of people have it setup this way.

What the previous poster was explaining is that you need to use google voice all-in to get this feature. Yes it works as you describe with the GV number, but not with the T-mobile number, as I understand it.
6th December 2011, 11:15 PM   |  #15  
Senior Member
Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 360
 
1,257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by martonikaj

What the previous poster was explaining is that you need to use google voice all-in to get this feature. Yes it works as you describe with the GV number, but not with the T-mobile number, as I understand it.

That's pretty much the only way to use google voice without making a big confusing mess for the phone owner and their callers. At least IMO. I thought that is what the OP was trying to do.
6th December 2011, 11:21 PM   |  #16  
Junior Member
San Jose, CA
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by martonikaj

What the previous poster was explaining is that you need to use google voice all-in to get this feature. Yes it works as you describe with the GV number, but not with the T-mobile number, as I understand it.

Yes, that was what I was attempting to say if I can ever be good at explaining myself. http : //support.t-mobile.com/message/53150

I really really wish that T-Mobile support unconditional call forwarding for this monthly prepaid plans. As far as I can see the only real difference between the prepaid and the post-paid plans are exactly that: you pay for the next month or for the previous month.

Hong.
6th December 2011, 11:34 PM   |  #17  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 43
 
452 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by martonikaj

What the previous poster was explaining is that you need to use google voice all-in to get this feature. Yes it works as you describe with the GV number, but not with the T-mobile number, as I understand it.

Sorry for the confusion. Yes I am trying to use GV voicemail on the Tmobile number not the GV number. The GV number works fine but my primary number is the Tmobile number so I need voicemail on that number (preferably GV and not the carriers). Thanks
23rd December 2011, 11:51 PM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 3
 
367 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Oh man I had them disable my voicemail so I could use this feature, should have read this first.

Are there any alternatives? Workarounds? I would really like to keep my tmobile number and still use google voice on this plan.
18th February 2012, 01:20 AM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
So I'm a little bit confused about what you guys are saying. Is it possible to set up voicemail through Google voice on T-mobile's monthly4G plans? If so could someone put up a guide or something? I added my phone number to my Google account and got to the point where I could enter the code as a regular phone number (the MMI code) and my phone gives me the error saying call forwarding isn't supported. TIA
18th February 2012, 01:54 AM   |  #20  
martonikaj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 1,715
 
7,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by narlynarwhal

So I'm a little bit confused about what you guys are saying. Is it possible to set up voicemail through Google voice on T-mobile's monthly4G plans? If so could someone put up a guide or something? I added my phone number to my Google account and got to the point where I could enter the code as a regular phone number (the MMI code) and my phone gives me the error saying call forwarding isn't supported. TIA

Check the other $30 prepaid thread for more info.

Basically if you just want to use GV for Voicemail and not calls, you have to call and tell T-Mobile that you'd like to cancel your T-Mobile Voicemail service. Then you'll be able to set up GV for Voicemail at that point.

The issue is that the way GV normally works for Voicemail is your T-Mo # receives it then forwards to GV #. Most prepaid plans don't offer call forwarding so it won't work.

Of course if you're all-in and ported or using GV as your primary number, then you just use that and GV handles Voicemail normally.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes