Post Reply

GSM Galaxy Nexus on AT & T medianet

4th October 2012, 11:09 PM   |  #71  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Oh my god I can't believe this is happening, I just got owned by AT&T too after using the GN for 2 months without issue on the feature phone data plan. God help us all.
4th October 2012, 11:58 PM   |  #72  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I got the text today too. I have been using the medianet plan for a while now. The same thing happened to me with my Nexus One.
5th October 2012, 12:22 AM   |  #73  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
279 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyperlite1604

I got the text today too. I have been using the medianet plan for a while now. The same thing happened to me with my Nexus One.

How did you extend it onto your Nexus? Or did it get flagged on the Nexus One then you asked them to put it back then got a Nexus? I've been using it for a while as well and this is the first time I've gotten flagged. So far its been reverted but I haven't popped my sim back into the Nexus yet.
5th October 2012, 12:32 AM   |  #74  
Junior Member
Flag Rogers
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
I've been on the Medianet plan since June using about 5-7Gigs a month with my Nexus and today I had a text "Did you know a data plan is required for your smartphone? We have added an appropriate data plan for you." and they switched me to the 3GB plan. Oh well I guess it was good while it lasted. T-Mobile Unlimited 4G here I come!
5th October 2012, 01:12 AM   |  #75  
Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 3
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I was just flagged today, as well. My billing cycle ends tomorrow, so I'm "prorated' for today it looks like. I also got placed on the 3GB/mo plan.

I've had my Galaxy Nexus since January.

My contract has been expired for over 4 years now, so I'm free to leave at anytime. I'm thinking about checking out Verizon, and if I can get a decent phone there I'm going to sell my Galaxy Nexus and move on. This was the last straw for me with AT&T; I get terrible cell service (just dropped a call with my father twice) in my city, and it's horrible really nationwide. I really don't want to sign a new contract with AT&T, even if I just turned around and sold the phone on eBay.
5th October 2012, 02:52 AM   |  #76  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
WTF? I got flagged today also. This blows. Well i guess att made this decision for me. Come november 27 when my contract is up, hello tmobile or ST. I still have yet to decide... I wonder how they found out. I gave em an imei from an old tmobile phone, not once did i give em my gnex imei.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
5th October 2012, 03:25 AM   |  #77  
Senior Member
Flag Hilo
Thanks Meter: 156
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toad858

WTF? I got flagged today also. This blows. Well i guess att made this decision for me. Come november 27 when my contract is up, hello tmobile or ST. I still have yet to decide... I wonder how they found out. I gave em an imei from an old tmobile phone, not once did i give em my gnex imei.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app

I suspect Google freely hands over all of the IMEIs to AT&T for all the phones they sell from their Play store. I'm honestly very surprised the Gnex wasn't flagged the day they started selling it in the Play store in fact. It happened with the previous Nexus S and Nexus One after all.

I've literally spent the past few years jumping from phone to phone, picking the most obscure ones, just to dodge this IMEI sweep, there are times when I feel like just giving in and letting them stick me with a legit data plan. Being on Medianet means I haven't been able to get certain popular phones I'd really like to try. It sucks that AT&T's picking up all of the latest flagship phones from every brand too, like the Note II, Xperia T, and now the Optimus G, it makes it even more difficult to find something nice that's also obscure.
Last edited by Elsydeon; 5th October 2012 at 03:28 AM.
5th October 2012, 05:52 AM   |  #78  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 608
 
1,991 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elsydeon

I suspect Google freely hands over all of the IMEIs to AT&T for all the phones they sell from their Play store.

Actually, AT&T just needs to verify one Galaxy Nexus phone's IMEI and they can detect any GN phones on their system. The manufacturer and model is embedded into the IMEI.
5th October 2012, 06:10 AM   |  #79  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawgpound6985

How did you extend it onto your Nexus? Or did it get flagged on the Nexus One then you asked them to put it back then got a Nexus? I've been using it for a while as well and this is the first time I've gotten flagged. So far its been reverted but I haven't popped my sim back into the Nexus yet.

Well, I went from my nexus one to an inspire 4g to my galaxy nexus. After I got my galaxy nexus, I put my sim in an old flip phone to lower it back down to the medianet plan. Then I put the sim in the galaxy nexus which has been working fine until today.
The Following User Says Thank You to hyperlite1604 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th October 2012, 03:58 PM   |  #80  
u921333's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 91
 
540 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
Got hit for it too .

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Nexus General by ThreadRank