Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,360 Members 53,367 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW-TO] Working MTP in Ubuntu

Tip us?
 
kiwi_mat
Old
#11  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 23
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Christchurch
Quote:
Originally Posted by techie.raj View Post
First of all thanks a lot for solving this long pending issue.

Everything worked for me mounting, data transfer through MTP, but while unmounting I am getting an error saying that "umount: /media/Nexus mount disagrees with the fstab"

I am using Ubuntu 12.04, Nexus 4.1.2

when the nexus is connected issue the mount command in a terminal, you should see something like..
Code:
DeviceFs(Galaxy Nexu on /media/GalaxyNexus type fuse.DeviceFs(Galaxy Nexu (rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,user=username)
its possable your device name is different, so check the fstab line,
Code:
DeviceFs(Galaxy\040Nexu)    /media/GalaxyNexus    fuse.DeviceFs(Galaxy\040Nexu)    allow_other,rw,user,noauto    0    0
the DeviceFS (both) must match above except the space in the mount listing has to be replaced with \040 as space is the field separator in fstab..
The Following User Says Thank You to kiwi_mat For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dustrho
Old
#12  
dustrho's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 876
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oswego, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by zac68 View Post
Works for me in Windows XP and Windows 7 as long as I turn off USB Debugging
Does USB Debugging have to be turned off in order for this to work in XP and 7? I haven't tried that before, so that's something else I'll have to try.
T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy Note 3 (N900T / Gummy M2.0-04-20-14-NIGHTLY)
Follow me on Google+ and Twitter
 
zac68
Old
#13  
zac68's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 87
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Perth, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustrho View Post
Does USB Debugging have to be turned off in order for this to work in XP and 7? I haven't tried that before, so that's something else I'll have to try.
In XP I have to do it. Windows 7 with Service Pack 1, from memory might not of be as fussy. I could be wrong though. I use Ubuntu these days.
Galaxy Note 3 (N9005) - Unlocked Android 4.3
ASUS Transformer TF300T - Unlocked Android 4.2.1
 
frippad
Old
#14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jul 2012
Am I misssing something here? It connects automatically with my Ubuntu 12.10 without having to configure anything. It does not in fastboot state though.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
 
PanzerGeist
Old
#15  
PanzerGeist's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Sucks... between myself and my room mate, we've tried this on three different systems (lubuntu, xubuntu, ubuntu - 12.10 in each case) and had no luck with it. Neither with the Nexus 7 or the G Nex.
ACTIVE
G2X on T-Mobile
Leaked GB
8 GB Class 6 (All Fat32)
RETIRED
Unlocked G1 on AT&T
CM 5.0.8-DS
8 GB Class 6 (512 Ext, 64 SWAP)
 
gnustomp
Old
#16  
gnustomp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 434
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: mount /dev/sda1 /home
Works perfectly -- EXCEPT when multiple devices are connected. Is it possible to make go-mtpfs recognise the devices and mount them correctly? Right now when there are multiple devices it just gives up.
 
techie.raj
Old
(Last edited by techie.raj; 26th November 2012 at 04:36 AM.) Reason: formatting was not correct.
#17  
techie.raj's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 81
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi_mat View Post
when the nexus is connected issue the mount command in a terminal, you should see something like..
Code:
DeviceFs(Galaxy Nexu on /media/GalaxyNexus type fuse.DeviceFs(Galaxy Nexu (rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,user=username)
its possable your device name is different, so check the fstab line,
Code:
DeviceFs(Galaxy\040Nexu)    /media/GalaxyNexus    fuse.DeviceFs(Galaxy\040Nexu)    allow_other,rw,user,noauto    0    0
the DeviceFS (both) must match above except the space in the mount listing has to be replaced with \040 as space is the field separator in fstab..

Hi Thanks for your reply. Sorry for the delay in replying....

Your suggestion couldn't solve my problem.

My fstab entry is as follows
Quote:
DeviceFs(Galaxy\040Nexu) /media/Nexus/ fuse.DeviceFs(Galaxy\040Nexu) allow_other,rw,user,noauto 0 0
and the mount command that I executed are (command and corresponding output are )

Quote:
DeviceFs(Galaxy Nexu on /media/Nexus type fuse.DeviceFs(Galaxy Nexu (rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,user=raj)
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `Galaxy'
Second attempt

Quote:
DeviceFs(Galaxy\040Nexu on /media/Nexus type fuse.DeviceFs(Galaxy\040Nexu (rw,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,user=raj)
bash: syntax error near unexpected token `Galaxy\040Nexu'
Could you understand where the problem lies.

Am I doing any thing wrong....

Thanks a lot for your efforts...


- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[Samsung Galaxy Sl (i9003)] ---> [Galaxy Nexus]
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[Poseidon's Rom RC1]--->[ JB 4.2.2]
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


 
emmerich1234
Old
(Last edited by emmerich1234; 28th December 2012 at 10:07 AM.) Reason: addition
#18  
emmerich1234's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Error in /etc/fstab

1st: thanks for your work doing it for all

2nd: I use an Acer Iconia Tab A501 running Android 4.xy

I followed the instruction. I did the following line in my /etc/fstab

DeviceFs(A501) /media/A501 fuse.DeviceFs(A501) allow_other,rw,user,noauto 0 0

-----------> it comes an error message "/bin/sh: 1: DeviceFs(A501): not found"

(The id_modell=Acer_Iconia_Tab_A501. I tried, but the same error.)

------- snip ---(28.12.2012-thk)------> usb-devices:
T: Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=02 Cnt=01 Dev#= 14 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=0502 ProdID=3345 Rev=99.99
S: Manufacturer=Acer
S: Product=Acer Iconia Tab A501
S: SerialNumber=1234567890
C: #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=c0 MxPwr=100mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 3 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=00 Driver=usbfs
------- snap ---------

Where is my fault?
 
emmerich1234
Old
#19  
emmerich1234's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default Next step

Quote:
Originally Posted by emmerich1234 View Post
1st: thanks for your work doing it for all

2nd: I use an Acer Iconia Tab A501 running Android 4.xy

I followed the instruction. I did the following line in my /etc/fstab

DeviceFs(A501) /media/A501 fuse.DeviceFs(A501) allow_other,rw,user,noauto 0 0

-----------> it comes an error message "/bin/sh: 1: DeviceFs(A501): not found"

(The id_modell=Acer_Iconia_Tab_A501. I tried, but the same error.)

------- snip ---(28.12.2012-thk)------> usb-devices:
T: Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=02 Cnt=01 Dev#= 14 Spd=480 MxCh= 0
D: Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs= 1
P: Vendor=0502 ProdID=3345 Rev=99.99
S: Manufacturer=Acer
S: Product=Acer Iconia Tab A501
S: SerialNumber=1234567890
C: #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=c0 MxPwr=100mA
I: If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 3 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=00 Driver=usbfs
------- snap ---------

Where is my fault?
Try to understand the source code (go langualge) and may be append the A501?
 
tiny4579
Old
#20  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 4015
Posts: 7,442
Join Date: Jan 2011
Has anyone had an issue accessing it?

Could not display "/media/GalaxyNexus".

Error: Error when getting information for file '/media/GalaxyNexus': Transport endpoint is not connected
Please select another viewer and try again.

I know the udev configuration looks fine and adb works fine and it tries to mount the device for MTP but I get the above error. I'm not using Ubuntu but my go-mtps install has been updated on git and I have the latest version of fuse and followed the instructions.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes