Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOW-TO] Working MTP in Ubuntu

OP kiwi_mat

31st December 2012, 03:32 AM   |  #21  
gnustomp's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 147
 
434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiny4579

Has anyone had an issue accessing it?

Could not display "/media/GalaxyNexus".

Error: Error when getting information for file '/media/GalaxyNexus': Transport endpoint is not connected
Please select another viewer and try again.

I know the udev configuration looks fine and adb works fine and it tries to mount the device for MTP but I get the above error. I'm not using Ubuntu but my go-mtps install has been updated on git and I have the latest version of fuse and followed the instructions.

Reboot. Whenever you get the dreaded transport endpoint error, reboot.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
31st December 2012, 03:57 AM   |  #22  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,366
 
8,138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnustomp

Reboot. Whenever you get the dreaded transport endpoint error, reboot.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

Which? The phone or PC? Both have been rebooted and I noticed the error earlier today since a reboot. I didn't find anything googling outside of xda but I did try to resolve it on my own before posting.
31st December 2012, 07:19 AM   |  #23  
arief347's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag bandung
Thanks Meter: 214
 
855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Its not stable enough..i think..i try many times

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
31st December 2012, 09:20 AM   |  #24  
nomad4ever's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bohol, Philippines
Thanks Meter: 14
 
278 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I'm running JoliOS (an Ubuntu based variation) on my netbook. Should that work in a similar fashion? Or any danger I can trash my system that way?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
4th January 2013, 01:15 AM   |  #25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Hello i follow your guide and i get this error. can you help me please?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Schermata del 2013-01-04 01:12:38.jpg
Views:	345
Size:	21.1 KB
ID:	1614816  
5th January 2013, 11:04 PM   |  #26  
Junior Member
Flag SF Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 1
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
You can check out this post or the entire thread on getting MTP working:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...8&postcount=42

However, I don't know why people keep wanting to get MTP working. As in my opinion its not the best option. It only gives you access to /sdcard and writing files in unreliable & cumbersome. Better to use an SSH Server on your phone and sshfs from your PC or QtADB.
7th January 2013, 10:05 AM   |  #27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
For Unity & KDE users, this might be a worthwhile attempt, works for me on KDE. Even quicklists in the icon-only task manager...

http://www.webupd8.org/2012/12/how-t...-go-mtpfs.html
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to seecay For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th January 2013, 12:58 PM   |  #28  
techie.raj's Avatar
Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 8
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Worked :)
Quote:
Originally Posted by seecay

For Unity & KDE users, this might be a worthwhile attempt, works for me on KDE. Even quicklists in the icon-only task manager...

http://www.webupd8.org/2012/12/how-t...-go-mtpfs.html

This indeed worked for me without any glitches.... Thanks...
11th January 2013, 12:51 AM   |  #29  
sykomaniac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leeds
Thanks Meter: 2,287
 
1,314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Used the guide in the OP and it works perfectly. Small issue that I can only umount as sudo but meh
11th January 2013, 04:33 AM   |  #30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I still prefer adb command for it. But if u don't like typing commands all the time, there's a GUI for it, Qtadb. So why do we even need a working MTP?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes