FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

 View Poll Results: Do you have an issue with Galaxy Nexus volume changing automatically?

Yes, my phone suffers from volume problems
 
209 Vote(s)
54.43%
No, I haven't experienced the volume problem
 
141 Vote(s)
36.72%
I did not have it at first, but it does happen now
 
17 Vote(s)
4.43%
I had the problem before, but not anymore
 
17 Vote(s)
4.43%

Do you have an issue with Galaxy Nexus volume changing automatically? (Updated 01.12)

947 posts
Thanks Meter: 221
 
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
21st November 2011, 06:01 PM |#311  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 149
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by oscillik

what network was the Nexus One running on?

tesco mobile (o2)

switch to 2G mode only.
 
 
21st November 2011, 06:05 PM |#312  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Hope people don't forget to credit me for enabling to prove this once for all.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Tom Servo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st November 2011, 06:06 PM |#313  
oscillik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Widnes
Thanks Meter: 133
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shodney

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Servo

Well, here's a test for anyone with a Galaxy Nexus (especially with that problem) that still owns his older Android phone:

Put your SIM card back into the old phone, configure it to GSM only, put the Nexus in Airplane mode (to disable everything, including emergency mode (I think)) then put the old phone with its ass close or next to the volume rocker of the Nexus. Maybe even overlap the phones, to have the antenna on top of it. GSM antennas are required to be at the bottom of the phone. Fiddle with the old phone to generate some radio traffic.

If you can manage to cause the volume drop that way, it's definitely RF.

--edit: I guess given that the wavelength of 900MHz is around 33cm, you don't need to be too exact with the placement, but right on top hammers the most power into it.

Im afraid to say it, but that triggered the problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrive

I just did this with a Galaxy Tab on TalkMobile, a Nexus S on Vodaphone, and a HTC Desire on Orange...

The Galaxy Tab and the Nexus S triggered it, the Desire did nothing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by qwerp_

i can confirm the RF interference triggers the bug. here is the prove in a video of my GN interfere by a N1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BIFRYY25fDo

so we have three people who have been able to successfully replicate the problem by putting the phone into airplane mode, and then bringing a completely different phone that runs on 900MHz in close proximity to the Galaxy Nexus.
21st November 2011, 06:11 PM |#314  
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Servo

Hope people don't forget to credit me for enabling to prove this once for all.

And oscillik,kristovaher for staying with it. Thanks
21st November 2011, 06:12 PM |#315  
Member
Flag Portsmouth
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
what the hell is samsung playing at!? improper rf shielding means any stray signal with the right power can cause your volume to suddenly drop..

Geez, when I saw the cpu and camera specs I thought samsung were being cheap, but skimping on the basic shielding of a radio transmitter? ...
21st November 2011, 06:12 PM |#316  
Senior Member
Flag Wales, UK Earth, The Universe
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Brand new out of box from o2 as of 6PM. No SIM in phone due to it being locked and me wanting to use a Vodafone SIM in it.

Gone through the setup wizard, held another phone (o2) near it, and down goes the volume.

I think I'll box it up before I get attached to it.
21st November 2011, 06:14 PM |#317  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 178
 
More
Interesting!

We now have the Samsung Galaxy Nexus in stock at Clove Technology and will begin shipping orders tomorrow. We are aware that some users that purchased handsets from other outlets last week have reported problems with the volume changing erratically. We have been in touch with Samsung regarding this and have been told that our stock has since been through an additional quality control check and should not have the problem. Nonetheless, we will also be testing several handsets ourselves to check for the problem this evening.

Sent from my Nexus S using XDA App
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pnnorth For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st November 2011, 06:15 PM |#318  
Matcarroll's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Do we think this issue could be having a negative impact on my battery?
Some people are reporting a great battery life but coming from a iphone 3gs, great battery life ISNT something i can report! I am having this erratic volume problem though and whilst its happening, if i am texting or emailing, i get severe slowdown from the keyboard. My battery has been terrible and i am hoping this and various other issues may improve it.
21st November 2011, 06:16 PM |#319  
kristovaher's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tallinn
Thanks Meter: 221
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by justabrake

And oscillik,kristovaher for staying with it. Thanks

I've just been trying to rough enough feathers while I don't even have the phone yet. It's great what all the people have done trying to test the handset out. It is proven now that this happens on most likely in majority (if not all) handsets released in UK last week.

Only question remaining is if it is a major design flaw by Samsung, or a flawed batch. If former, then this problem will take a long time to fix and will possibly include a recall of all devices. If latter, then things are a bit better, but everyone who has the faulty device must still get their device replaced with one that actually works. I guess we will find the answer to this out in the next day or two, now that new batch is about to be released.
21st November 2011, 06:16 PM |#320  
Member
Flag Portsmouth
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LadFromWales85

Brand new out of box from o2 as of 6PM. No SIM in phone due to it being locked and me wanting to use a Vodafone SIM in it.

Gone through the setup wizard, held another phone (o2) near it, and down goes the volume.

I think I'll box it up before I get attached to it.

my reaction: awwoooh-ho-ho, ho-ho-wwww... That's so sad!
I know what you are feeling and its painfully funny, like bashing your own knee under a table... Maybe try to get a refund as the hardware is clearly faulty and fit for purpose.
21st November 2011, 06:19 PM |#321  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_one

what the hell is samsung playing at!? improper rf shielding means any stray signal with the right power can cause your volume to suddenly drop..

Geez, when I saw the cpu and camera specs I thought samsung were being cheap, but skimping on the basic shielding of a radio transmitter? ...

Might just be a manufacturing error, where the shielding component has gaps where there shouldn't be some.

Given that Samsung's so damn bold in claiming that currently arriving stock doesn't have that issue anymore means either:

a) They're lying through their teeth.
-or-
b) They noticed the issue themselves, but are trying to get rid of the faulty devices anyway, in hopes that some people learn to live with it, while others bother carriers and their warranties.

I hope it's b), because I have a phone pre-ordered.
The Following User Says Thank You to Tom Servo For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bug, galaxy, nexus, volume
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes