Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

Jellybean root

OP ogdobber

28th June 2012, 07:20 AM   |  #1  
ogdobber's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,813
 
3,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
ok you need to have clockworkmod installed...
Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
(insecure boot.img)
unzip boot.img.zip, boot to bootloader and
Code:
fastboot flash boot boot.img
or flash JRN84D-insecure-boot.zip from recovery

-put the CWM-SuperSU-v0.92-mod.zip on your sd and flash

done.

if you have problems...
flash Koush's Jellybean repack (IMM76I OR IMM30D) http://d-h.st/Gkh

If recovery isn't sticking for you, delete recovery-from-boot.p in /system



I can do this for the other superuser as well...this is chainfire's super su
Attached Files
File Type: zip boot.img.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.24 MB, 602 views)
File Type: zip CWM-SuperSU-v0.92-mod.zip - [Click for QR Code] (701.6 KB, 7980 views)
File Type: zip JRN84D-insecure-boot.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.38 MB, 727 views)
Last edited by ogdobber; 28th June 2012 at 08:51 AM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to ogdobber For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th June 2012, 07:29 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 5
 
557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Thanks. May I clarify if I have to do both to get root or either one?
28th June 2012, 07:31 AM   |  #3  
ogdobber's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,813
 
3,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdull

Thanks. May I clarify if I have to do both to get root or either one?

the boot image is insecure...not necessarily needed
28th June 2012, 07:33 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 5
 
557 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Oic.. thanks alot.
Is there any chance to pack the insecure kernel into cwm package as well?
I have no access to computer that allow me to apply fastboot flash. I am sure a lot of ppl will be in the same situation. Thanks alot.
28th June 2012, 07:34 AM   |  #5  
ogdobber's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,813
 
3,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdull

Oic.. thanks alot.
Is there any chance to pack the insecure kernel into cwm package as well?
I have no access to computer that allow me to apply fastboot flash. I am sure a lot of ppl will be in the same situation. Thanks alot.

sure, give me a minute
28th June 2012, 07:37 AM   |  #6  
pablo1215's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Okay I installed the jellybean rom from rom manager but I lost clockwork recovery, anyone got any suggestions?
28th June 2012, 07:40 AM   |  #7  
Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 6,099
 
14,217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pablo1215

Okay I installed the jellybean rom from rom manager but I lost clockwork recovery, anyone got any suggestions?

bootloader mode -> reflash clockwork recovery using fastboot.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to zephiK For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th June 2012, 07:40 AM   |  #8  
ogdobber's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,813
 
3,256 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pablo1215

Okay I installed the jellybean rom from rom manager but I lost clockwork recovery, anyone got any suggestions?

fastboot a new one in...new one will stick

Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ogdobber For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th June 2012, 07:44 AM   |  #9  
pablo1215's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
188 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Thanks guys appreciate the tip.
28th June 2012, 07:49 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
not working
Just flashed the two .zips. SuperSU is installed, but it says that the binary needs to be updated. When it tries to update it fails, and no root apps work.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes