Bump! Workaround for the LG G3 Locked Bootloader – XDA TV

The LG G3 is a power house device. It’s been a favorite of many people. … more

Enable Call Recording on Xperia Z2 and Z3

Call recording, while not legal in every part of the world, is quite handy in certain situations. … more

Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Uh-Oh, TWRP not allowing me to mount via USB

OP throwback1718

29th January 2014, 03:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 14
 
280 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
$10 paypal to who can help me solve this

Here's the deal people,

My GNex was slowing down and acting all funny with stock 4.3 after about 6 months

I finally decided to try out a 4.4.2 ROM

I had TWRP on the phone so I said I'd just copy the Zip to the root folder along with the Gapps

Long story short, I accidentally wiped the storage.
Then I said no biggie, and figured that I'd just mount the USB to my laptop and transfer the Zip file of the ROM I wanted over to the storage.

BUT when ever I tap on mount USB nothing shows up in the devices.

Now I have nothing to transfer the files to.

I have windows 8 on the computer I'm currently using if that matters.

Forgive me people. I am not an avid flasher like I was when windows phone 6 was still around. So spare the insults . Just need my phone running so I can contact my loved ones
Last edited by throwback1718; 29th January 2014 at 03:58 AM.
29th January 2014, 04:28 AM   |  #2  
AndyYan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 933
 
2,228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Galaxy Nexus uses MTP instead of Mass Storage mode, so you can't mount it as usual.
However, there's an "ADB sideload" option that lets you sideload a ROM from your PC using the ADB command (if you have the drivers installed, in the command prompt window, just type "adb sideload *THE-PATH-TO-YOUR-ROM-FILE*").
Find out more with Google

Quote:
Originally Posted by throwback1718

$10 paypal to who can help me solve this

We Chinese don't use Paypal

Sent from Google Nexus 4 @ CM11
Last edited by AndyYan; 29th January 2014 at 04:31 AM.
29th January 2014, 04:42 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 14
 
280 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyYan

Galaxy Nexus uses MTP instead of Mass Storage mode, so you can't mount it as usual.
However, there's an "ADB sideload" option that lets you sideload a ROM from your PC using the ADB command (if you have the drivers installed, in the command prompt window, just type "adb sideload *THE-PATH-TO-YOUR-ROM-FILE*").
Find out more with Google



We Chinese don't use Paypal

Sent from Google Nexus 4 @ CM11


agh I have read that the drivers don't work on windows 8 PC's . But I'll try

I flash my phone usually 2 or 3x per 12 months. so please pardon me if I forget some things...
In addition, the phone has nothing on it but TWRP

so no OS is on it at the moment. and no USB mounting.
Last edited by throwback1718; 29th January 2014 at 04:44 AM.
29th January 2014, 09:49 AM   |  #4  
doomed151's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,084
 
1,379 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
I think USB mount is used for mounting USB flash drives attached through USB OTG.

The essentials. Contains ADB, fastboot and USB drivers from the Android SDK (should work on 8 and 8.1).
ADB_usb-driver.zip (8.79 MB)

To transfer files within TWRP, you need to use adb. Start by installing the driver. To verify for successful driver installation, type in:
Code:
adb devices
It should show you a "List of devices attached" and there's at least 1 item in the list.
Then copy the zip you want to flash into the same folder as adb. Let's say the file is named rom.zip. To "push" it to the phone, use the following command:
Code:
adb push rom.zip /sdcard/rom.zip
After it has finished "pushing" the file, just tap "Install" in TWRP and the zip file should be there!
You can now proceed flashing the ROM of your choice.
29th January 2014, 11:21 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 484
 
3,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
If you have wiped the storage without subsequently booting into a working ROM, the internal storage partition will be unformatted and you may have trouble writing to it.

If this is the case and you don't have a bootable ROM, you will need to flash a stock ROM via fastboot first and boot once, then try the whole thing again (don't wipe userdata this time!).
29th January 2014, 05:26 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 14
 
280 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmstlist

If you have wiped the storage without subsequently booting into a working ROM, the internal storage partition will be unformatted and you may have trouble writing to it.

If this is the case and you don't have a bootable ROM, you will need to flash a stock ROM via fastboot first and boot once, then try the whole thing again (don't wipe userdata this time!).


THis is my issue now. I was able to get the GNex wugfresh toolkit

I was able to push the original 4.4.2 ROM that I wanted over to the device. But It keeps saying failed at the install point.

Good thing I came back to read this post. Thanks. Ill try to flash by fastboot

EDIT Now im trying to do it via fastboot and its saying AdbWinApi.dllis missing.

I keep hitting these damn road blocks. Im sure I have many people calling and texting me.
Last edited by throwback1718; 29th January 2014 at 05:43 PM.
29th January 2014, 07:46 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 484
 
3,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Can you temporarily put the SIM in another operable phone to get your calls and texts?

Not sure about the fastboot error. You'd need to download a Google stock ROM image directly from them, and fastboot flash the system and boot partitions. This should be enough for a reboot to regenerate the user data partition. You cannot flash the custom ROM in fastboot unless a version has been made available in that format.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
30th January 2014, 02:55 AM   |  #8  
AndyYan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 933
 
2,228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by throwback1718

EDIT Now im trying to do it via fastboot and its saying AdbWinApi.dllis missing.

Might as well use another non-Win8 computer, drivers are hard to mess with.

Sent from Google Nexus 4 @ CM11

---------- Post added at 09:55 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:53 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmstlist

If you have wiped the storage without subsequently booting into a working ROM, the internal storage partition will be unformatted and you may have trouble writing to it.

If this is the case and you don't have a bootable ROM, you will need to flash a stock ROM via fastboot first and boot once, then try the whole thing again (don't wipe userdata this time!).

Is that so?

Sent from Google Nexus 4 @ CM11
30th January 2014, 06:23 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 484
 
3,133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyYan


Is that so?

Sent from Google Nexus 4 @ CM11

Yes, why would I say it if it were not my experience that it is so?

On Nexus devices, a userdata wipe from the bootloader often leaves it in a state where custom recovery cannot write to data. Booting once into a bootable ROM typically fixes this.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
30th January 2014, 09:48 AM   |  #10  
AndyYan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 933
 
2,228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmstlist

Yes, why would I say it if it were not my experience that it is so?

On Nexus devices, a userdata wipe from the bootloader often leaves it in a state where custom recovery cannot write to data. Booting once into a bootable ROM typically fixes this.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

I mean, is it true that after wiping all partitions (data, cache, dalvik, system, internal storage) in recovery, you cannot sideload a ROM as usual? What error does the phone give? And why does wiping breaks partition table, when all it does is *independently* formatting all partitions?

Sent from Lenovo Erazer Z500 @ Android-x86 4.3

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes