Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,336 Members 37,250 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ADB doesn't work for my Galaxy Nexus

Tip us?
 
psero
Old
(Last edited by psero; 5th December 2011 at 06:13 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 43
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default ADB doesn't work for my Galaxy Nexus

Hi,
I realize a lot of people might have the same problem as I have, but haven't found the answer after searching for many hours. So here's my problem:

windows vista x64
installed android SDK and all related drivers
GN is recognized with correct driver in both fastboot mode and regular "on" mode.
GN is recognized as a device in regular on-mode with 'adb devices'
GN is recognized as a device in fastboot mode with 'fastboot-windows devices'
HOWEVER, when GN is put into fastboot mode, NO devices are found with 'adb devices' even though the icon for 'safely removing hardware' pops up with 'Android ADB Interface', which means the driver is correctly installed.

Someone please help explain why the device is not recognized by 'adb devices' command under fastboot mode even though it's recognized by the computer!

Summary:
GN is found with 'adb devices' for normal boot, but GN is not found under 'adb devices' for fastboot mode. I have reinstalled the android ADB driver, but still the same problem.

I am stressed out! Please help me
 
JTECJ
Old
(Last edited by JTECJ; 5th December 2011 at 07:01 AM.)
#2  
JTECJ's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 46
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Dallas
I have noticed exactly what you are talking about however what I have found is that it doesn't seem to need to be able to respond to the adb devices command. I was still able to unlock,root and flash multiple different boot.img and radio.img files through fastboot without the computer returning the device while in fastboot. Hope this helps.

Justin

P.S. while you are in fastboot mode it seems you may be looking for something different than standard adb commands. Fastboot is primarily used in this situation so a command for you will typically look something like this"

fastboot-windows flash boot boot.img

or

fastboot-windows flash radio radio.img (the radio.img and boot.img files used in these examples you would want located in the same folder as fastboot-windows)

if you want to try the software out without flashing it "permanently" try:

fastboot-windows radio radio.img (just forget the flash portion)

for unlocking the bootloader the command will look something like this:

fastboot-windows oem unlock
 
djmcnz
Old
#3  
djmcnz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1,504
Posts: 5,484
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Amsterdam, NL
ADB isn't used in fastboot mode, fastboot.exe is.

ADB is for when the phone is running Android or recovery only.
[Nexus One], [Optimus 2x > /dev/null], [Galaxy Nexus], [Transformer Prime], [Nexus 5]
The Following User Says Thank You to djmcnz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
HeathCliffR
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Phone doesn't recognize ADB in fastboot

Phone doesn't recognize ADB in fastboot - have used every conceivable method - downloaded Samsung drivers. Downloaded PDANet. Uninstalled Samsung and tried Naked Samsung. I got the phone unlocked. But I CANNOT get the PC 64 to recognize ADB when I am in fastboot. HELPPPPPPP. I've been working on this for TWO DAYS, and it is RUINING my Christmas holiday.
 
zombieflanders
Old
#5  
zombieflanders's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 252
Join Date: Mar 2011
Have you tried the driver installation/troubleshooting section of this post?
 
HeathCliffR
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2011
Unfortunately, yes. I tried the Samsung drivers. Then I tried the PDANet. I also tried the Samsung naked drivers. I was sure that MSKIPS toolkit was going to work, but when I typed in "2" for rooting, NOTHING happened. I'm at my wits end.
 
RMatt1992
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 133
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeathCliffR View Post
Phone doesn't recognize ADB in fastboot - have used every conceivable method - downloaded Samsung drivers. Downloaded PDANet. Uninstalled Samsung and tried Naked Samsung. I got the phone unlocked. But I CANNOT get the PC 64 to recognize ADB when I am in fastboot. HELPPPPPPP. I've been working on this for TWO DAYS, and it is RUINING my Christmas holiday.
Of course it doesn't.

AS STATED MULTIPLE TIMES IN THIS THREAD, YOU MUST USE FASTBOOT.EXE.

Please, read thread then reply.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RMatt1992 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
EddyOS
Old
#8  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 3,015
Posts: 13,268
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Liverpool, Merseyside
When phone is turned ON - use adb
When in FASTBOOT mode - use (surprise surprise) fastboot
Google Nexus 5 D821 (Black) 32GB
ROM: Android 4.4.4 (KTU84P) | Bootloader: HHZ11K | Recovery: Stock | Radio: 2.0.50.1.16 | Kernel: Stock

If you have a question, great - but DO NOT PM ME WITH IT!!! | [GUIDE] Return your EU M8 to 100% Stock (S-OFF Required) | [GUIDE] Return your OPO to 100% Stock
 
afilopou
Old
#9  
afilopou's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 495
Posts: 1,672
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Athens
When phone is turned on or in recovery - use adb (check it with "adb devices" ,without " in cmd)
When in FASTBOOT mode - use fastboot (check it with "fastboot devices" ,without " in cmd)

In order to work fastboot you must have the fastboot.exe preferably in the same folder with adb
 
achavik
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2010
Smile Try this

I tried installing PDAnet but no Joy.. but went to device manager and selected adb drivers and samsung from the list and that did the trick...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes