Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

adb sideload problem

OP goal10

31st March 2014, 06:30 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hi everyone,

just to clarify that It's my first time I try to unlock and root my phone, so no much knowledge.

I basically followed the steps to unlock the bootloader.

Everything worked perfectly, I reached the recovery, went on 'apply update from ADB'.

But then, when I enter in cmd: 'adb sideload <whatever the filename>'
it prints out the Android Debug Bridge instructions rather than transferring the zip file to my phone, and the phone keeps on asking "now send the package you want to apply to the device with adb sideload filename "

N.B.: the phone is recognized by adb, even when I enter adb devices, it is recognized

Any help?
31st March 2014, 12:01 PM   |  #2  
ashclepdia's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag under philadelphia above Delaware, beer heaven
Thanks Meter: 1,531
 
4,403 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
did you try issuing the adb sideload command BEFORE pressing the button in recovery?
I had this issue before when trying sideload, in fact I think it WOULDN'T work if I started it via recovery FIRST. it has been a long time since I did this though, but I swear I remember not even having to press the button in recovery, I think it just automatically started once I issued the command from computer.
31st March 2014, 12:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Yea, just tried it and same results
31st March 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #4  
ashclepdia's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag under philadelphia above Delaware, beer heaven
Thanks Meter: 1,531
 
4,403 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
which recovery version are you using?(CWM or TWRP? and which version also)

and which adb version do you have on your computer? are you certain it is the latest available? did you install it through the Android SDK?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes