5,600,335 Members 35,136 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] android media process high cpu

Tip us?
 
a1exus
Old
(Last edited by a1exus; 28th November 2012 at 05:07 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 656
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] android media process high cpu

com.android.process.media (Android Media Process is (ab)using CPU)

so, I've tried:

Settings -> Apps -> ALL -> Media Storage -> “Force stop” & “Clear data”

That didn't really help at all(((

community's users suggests following:

* its due to corrupted music/pictures (I don't have any music/pictures on my phone).
* suggestion to reformat sdcard, but toro doesn't have SD card, although through recovery I was able to check filesystem of /userdata mount point (see below):

Quote:
~ # e2fsck -n /dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.0/by-name/userdata
e2fsck 1.41.11 (14-Mar-2010)
/dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.0/by-name/userdata: clean, 53630/1875968 files, 1921615/7493115 blocks
~ #
aside the fact that phone works extremely slow upon boot (due to com.android.process.media) all that high CPU eating a lot of battery (battery life isn't that great to begin with) but thanks to this bug I get to use even less.

after deleting nanodroid's backup (ROM manager), I'm seeing following (through logcat):

Quote:
D/MediaProvider( 6784): object removed 71054
D/MediaProvider( 6784): object removed 71055
D/MediaProvider( 6784): object removed 71056
D/MediaProvider( 6784): object removed 71057
D/MediaProvider( 6784): object removed 71058
Moto X – Android – 4.4.2 KitKat update soaktest OTA – Verizon VZW | alexus' blog
-
-Samsung Galaxy Nexus - Jelly Bean 4.2.2
+Moto X by Motorola - Android 4.4 KitKat
-ASUS Nexus 7 (2012) - Android 4.4 KitKat
+ASUS Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.2 KitKat
 
beekay201
Old
#2  
beekay201's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1096
Posts: 4,559
Join Date: Nov 2010
i read that if you have folders with a lot of media/picture files, it will sometimes hang while scanning. start fresh, factory reset/reflash google factory images.
hammerhead/Omni-KOT49H/stock#3.4.0/M8974A-1.0.25.0.23
maguro/aosp-KRT16O/custom#3.0.101/XXLJ1
manta/stock-KRT16S/custom#3.4.39
tf201/cm10-NIGHTLY#20120820/stock#2.6.39.4
XDA forum rules here
bug report? logcat and /proc/kmsg, or it "never happened".
How TO Ask questions on the Internet
aosp-maguro READFIRST here (credit: efrant)
aosp-gnex READSECOND here (credit: efrant)
 
a1exus
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 656
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bk201doesntexist View Post
i read that if you have folders with a lot of media/picture files, it will sometimes hang while scanning. start fresh, factory reset/reflash google factory images.
i dont want to loose my /data so doing factory reset won't work for me
Moto X – Android – 4.4.2 KitKat update soaktest OTA – Verizon VZW | alexus' blog
-
-Samsung Galaxy Nexus - Jelly Bean 4.2.2
+Moto X by Motorola - Android 4.4 KitKat
-ASUS Nexus 7 (2012) - Android 4.4 KitKat
+ASUS Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.2 KitKat
 
t3h_g3n3r4l
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 41
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Decatur, IL
I had an issue with this at the beginning of the week.

I had read that it was corrupted media files, so I began investigating. I was able to fix the problem by browsing through my pictures and deleting some images that had somehow become corrupted. The corrupted files were just washed out black squares. No SD format / factory reset was needed.
 
a1exus
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 656
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3h_g3n3r4l View Post
I had an issue with this at the beginning of the week.

I had read that it was corrupted media files, so I began investigating. I was able to fix the problem by browsing through my pictures and deleting some images that had somehow become corrupted. The corrupted files were just washed out black squares. No SD format / factory reset was needed.
i thought that would be a problem) i found one and i delete, restarted my phone and still android media process is at least 20% cpu(
Moto X – Android – 4.4.2 KitKat update soaktest OTA – Verizon VZW | alexus' blog
-
-Samsung Galaxy Nexus - Jelly Bean 4.2.2
+Moto X by Motorola - Android 4.4 KitKat
-ASUS Nexus 7 (2012) - Android 4.4 KitKat
+ASUS Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.2 KitKat
 
t3h_g3n3r4l
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 41
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Decatur, IL
I had about half a dozen across several folders that were corrupt. I was looking at the android media process consuming my battery in about 3 or 4 hours until I deleted the bad images. I can now make it through most of a day without any problems.

Somewhere in your phone, a corrupted file lurks. It may not be where you're thinking, but it's there. And it's hungry.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to t3h_g3n3r4l For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
a1exus
Old
(Last edited by a1exus; 10th October 2012 at 03:06 PM.)
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 656
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by t3h_g3n3r4l View Post
I had about half a dozen across several folders that were corrupt. I was looking at the android media process consuming my battery in about 3 or 4 hours until I deleted the bad images. I can now make it through most of a day without any problems.

Somewhere in your phone, a corrupted file lurks. It may not be where you're thinking, but it's there. And it's hungry.
i went through all of my gallery and deleted those, yet after restart still doing something and by the time it's done something whatever it was doing i have 90%-70% left!!! AAAAA

is there a way to find those files some other way? can i see some debug information of gallery/android media process and see where hiccup is?

it really kills my battery( anyone has any ideas?
Moto X – Android – 4.4.2 KitKat update soaktest OTA – Verizon VZW | alexus' blog
-
-Samsung Galaxy Nexus - Jelly Bean 4.2.2
+Moto X by Motorola - Android 4.4 KitKat
-ASUS Nexus 7 (2012) - Android 4.4 KitKat
+ASUS Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.2 KitKat
 
a1exus
Old
(Last edited by a1exus; 9th November 2012 at 03:44 PM.)
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 656
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC

 
DONATE TO ME
So yesterday I've had it and copy ask of my pictures from my phone to computer and delete them from my phone...

Reboot... and guess what?

It's still using 40/50% of cpu for about first 15 min after I reboot my phone which kills my battery big time(

I need help, anyone??

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
Moto X – Android – 4.4.2 KitKat update soaktest OTA – Verizon VZW | alexus' blog
-
-Samsung Galaxy Nexus - Jelly Bean 4.2.2
+Moto X by Motorola - Android 4.4 KitKat
-ASUS Nexus 7 (2012) - Android 4.4 KitKat
+ASUS Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.2 KitKat
 
a1exus
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 656
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC

 
DONATE TO ME
is there a way to turn on some detailed debug to figure out what's causing this exactly?!
Moto X – Android – 4.4.2 KitKat update soaktest OTA – Verizon VZW | alexus' blog
-
-Samsung Galaxy Nexus - Jelly Bean 4.2.2
+Moto X by Motorola - Android 4.4 KitKat
-ASUS Nexus 7 (2012) - Android 4.4 KitKat
+ASUS Nexus 7 (2013) - Android 4.4.2 KitKat
 
rushter
Old
#10  
rushter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 229
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kawasaki City

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by a1exus View Post
com.android.process.media (Android Media Process is (ab)using CPU)

so, I've tried:

Settings -> Apps -> ALL -> Media Storage -> “Force stop” & “Clear data”

That didn't really help(( Any other ideas? I keep reading that users saying its due to corrupted music (I don't have any music on my phone).
People are also suggesting to reformat sdcard, but we don't have SD card. Please advise, as one thing it uses CPU the other thing it uses battery and battery life isn't that great to begin with. Is there a way to do fsck or something to make sure there is no corruption of any kind?

*** UPDATE ***
I went into recovery and using adb shell got into a system can I do something like this?
I am having the same issue. I found this article but it says the same as the others here.
http://www.transformerforums.com/for...4-battery.html
If I find anything else out or if you figure something out, let me know also.
__________________________________________________ _______
Samsung Galaxy S 4 (Docomo) JB 4.2.2 Stock
Samsung Galaxy S II (Docomo) CM10.1 JB 4.2.2 (retired)
Google Nexus 7 Jelly Bean 4.2.2 (SmoothROM v5.1)
iPod Touch 4th Gen.
iPad 1
iPad 2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes