Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more
Post Reply

[Q] AOKP Screen Brightness

OP Microwave.

1st June 2012, 01:13 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Leeds/Loughborough
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
The lowest brightness setting is not dim enough for me in low light conditions so I've been looking to alter it.

After reading around the capabilities of some apps it seems that they only add an overlay which reduces contrast. I would much prefer to do it natively.

I then realised that the AOKP ROM has this functionality!

However, I can't seem to get it to work.

Settings>Display>Custom backlight settings

Changing the screen dim level doesn't seem to change anything for me.


Can anyone offer some tips or advice?

Thanks
1st June 2012, 02:52 PM   |  #2  
danger-rat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 316
 
2,221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Works fine for me. I know it doesn't help your problem any...
1st June 2012, 04:03 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Leeds/Loughborough
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danger-rat

Works fine for me. I know it doesn't help your problem any...

Does your display dim more when you select a lower than default value or did you have to change something else?
1st June 2012, 04:08 PM   |  #4  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1,485
 
3,170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Did you change the corresponding value in "Edit Other Levels" as well (if you're on auto brightness)? Not on AOKP, but mine is fully functional both on manual, and auto.

Their implementation is the same as CM9 (which is nearly identical, if not the same as the CM7 implementation).

Edit: just a thought, not sure if the AOKP status bar brightness slider is hardcoded to a certain minimum level? Are the results the same if you adjust your brightness via the Settings>Display>Brightness slider?
Last edited by CMNein; 1st June 2012 at 04:10 PM.
1st June 2012, 04:32 PM   |  #5  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Pueblo, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 5,391
 
2,354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Settings>Rom Control>Performance>color multipliers.
Drag the three bars all the way down.

As far as your problem...
Are you on auto brightness?
And have you adjusted the "Dim Level" prior to adjusting the screen levels?
(Dim Level is the level your screen dims to after not touching it for 15 seconds or whatever).
1st June 2012, 04:37 PM   |  #6  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1,485
 
3,170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubakuba

And have you adjusted the "Dim Level" prior to adjusting the screen levels?
(Dim Level is the level your screen dims to after not touching it for 15 seconds or whatever).

Screen dim level is the minimum brightness value attainable (I lower mine to 12 so I can enter a screen value of 12 in my custom levels), but also does correspond to what you mentioned.
1st June 2012, 04:46 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Another AOKP user expressed similar concerns but found an app called Root Dim or something that solved his problem.
1st June 2012, 04:48 PM   |  #8  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1,485
 
3,170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OpusX11

Another AOKP user expressed similar concerns but found an app called Root Dim or something that solved his problem.

The implementation must be still broken then; haven't tested the latest AOKP releases. Root dim apps tend to create lag.
1st June 2012, 04:54 PM   |  #9  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Pueblo, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 5,391
 
2,354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Implementation works perfectly here.
1st June 2012, 04:56 PM   |  #10  
BrandT90's Avatar
Member
Flag Carbondale
Thanks Meter: 9
 
95 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubakuba

Implementation works perfectly here.

Same.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
aokp, brightness, galaxy, nexus, screen
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes