FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

[Q] AOKP Screen Brightness

21 posts
Thanks Meter: 1
 
By Microwave., Junior Member on 1st June 2012, 01:13 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
The lowest brightness setting is not dim enough for me in low light conditions so I've been looking to alter it.

After reading around the capabilities of some apps it seems that they only add an overlay which reduces contrast. I would much prefer to do it natively.

I then realised that the AOKP ROM has this functionality!

However, I can't seem to get it to work.

Settings>Display>Custom backlight settings

Changing the screen dim level doesn't seem to change anything for me.


Can anyone offer some tips or advice?

Thanks
 
 
1st June 2012, 02:52 PM |#2  
danger-rat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 316
 
More
Works fine for me. I know it doesn't help your problem any...
1st June 2012, 04:03 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Leeds/Loughborough
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by danger-rat

Works fine for me. I know it doesn't help your problem any...

Does your display dim more when you select a lower than default value or did you have to change something else?
1st June 2012, 04:08 PM |#4  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1,489
 
More
Did you change the corresponding value in "Edit Other Levels" as well (if you're on auto brightness)? Not on AOKP, but mine is fully functional both on manual, and auto.

Their implementation is the same as CM9 (which is nearly identical, if not the same as the CM7 implementation).

Edit: just a thought, not sure if the AOKP status bar brightness slider is hardcoded to a certain minimum level? Are the results the same if you adjust your brightness via the Settings>Display>Brightness slider?
Last edited by CMNein; 1st June 2012 at 04:10 PM.
1st June 2012, 04:32 PM |#5  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Pueblo, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 5,853
 
Donate to Me
More
Settings>Rom Control>Performance>color multipliers.
Drag the three bars all the way down.

As far as your problem...
Are you on auto brightness?
And have you adjusted the "Dim Level" prior to adjusting the screen levels?
(Dim Level is the level your screen dims to after not touching it for 15 seconds or whatever).
1st June 2012, 04:37 PM |#6  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1,489
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubakuba

And have you adjusted the "Dim Level" prior to adjusting the screen levels?
(Dim Level is the level your screen dims to after not touching it for 15 seconds or whatever).

Screen dim level is the minimum brightness value attainable (I lower mine to 12 so I can enter a screen value of 12 in my custom levels), but also does correspond to what you mentioned.
1st June 2012, 04:46 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Another AOKP user expressed similar concerns but found an app called Root Dim or something that solved his problem.
1st June 2012, 04:48 PM |#8  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1,489
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by OpusX11

Another AOKP user expressed similar concerns but found an app called Root Dim or something that solved his problem.

The implementation must be still broken then; haven't tested the latest AOKP releases. Root dim apps tend to create lag.
1st June 2012, 04:54 PM |#9  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Pueblo, Colorado
Thanks Meter: 5,853
 
Donate to Me
More
Implementation works perfectly here.
1st June 2012, 04:56 PM |#10  
BrandT90's Avatar
Member
Flag Carbondale
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubakuba

Implementation works perfectly here.

Same.
1st June 2012, 04:58 PM |#11  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Calgary
Thanks Meter: 1,489
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubakuba

Implementation works perfectly here.

Attaining an altered screen dim level when on auto as well?

Edit: comment wasn't an indictment; just remembering issues that were there on b35 or b36 (?).

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
Last edited by CMNein; 1st June 2012 at 05:05 PM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
aokp, brightness, galaxy, nexus, screen
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes