Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,266 Members 40,782 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] AOKP Screen Brightness

Tip us?
 
Microwave.
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 21
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Leeds/Loughborough
Question [Q] AOKP Screen Brightness

The lowest brightness setting is not dim enough for me in low light conditions so I've been looking to alter it.

After reading around the capabilities of some apps it seems that they only add an overlay which reduces contrast. I would much prefer to do it natively.

I then realised that the AOKP ROM has this functionality!

However, I can't seem to get it to work.

Settings>Display>Custom backlight settings

Changing the screen dim level doesn't seem to change anything for me.


Can anyone offer some tips or advice?

Thanks
 
danger-rat
Old
#2  
danger-rat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 316
Posts: 2,221
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA
Works fine for me. I know it doesn't help your problem any...
 
Microwave.
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 21
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Leeds/Loughborough
Quote:
Originally Posted by danger-rat View Post
Works fine for me. I know it doesn't help your problem any...
Does your display dim more when you select a lower than default value or did you have to change something else?
 
CMNein
Old
(Last edited by CMNein; 1st June 2012 at 04:10 PM.)
#4  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1482
Posts: 3,170
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary
Did you change the corresponding value in "Edit Other Levels" as well (if you're on auto brightness)? Not on AOKP, but mine is fully functional both on manual, and auto.

Their implementation is the same as CM9 (which is nearly identical, if not the same as the CM7 implementation).

Edit: just a thought, not sure if the AOKP status bar brightness slider is hardcoded to a certain minimum level? Are the results the same if you adjust your brightness via the Settings>Display>Brightness slider?

Hammerhead / Flo / Mako / Maguro / Odroid U2
 
Jubakuba
Old
#5  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5007
Posts: 2,314
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pueblo, Colorado

 
DONATE TO ME
Settings>Rom Control>Performance>color multipliers.
Drag the three bars all the way down.

As far as your problem...
Are you on auto brightness?
And have you adjusted the "Dim Level" prior to adjusting the screen levels?
(Dim Level is the level your screen dims to after not touching it for 15 seconds or whatever).
 
CMNein
Old
#6  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1482
Posts: 3,170
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubakuba View Post
And have you adjusted the "Dim Level" prior to adjusting the screen levels?
(Dim Level is the level your screen dims to after not touching it for 15 seconds or whatever).
Screen dim level is the minimum brightness value attainable (I lower mine to 12 so I can enter a screen value of 12 in my custom levels), but also does correspond to what you mentioned.

Hammerhead / Flo / Mako / Maguro / Odroid U2
 
OpusX11
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 165
Join Date: Jan 2011
Another AOKP user expressed similar concerns but found an app called Root Dim or something that solved his problem.
 
CMNein
Old
#8  
CMNein's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1482
Posts: 3,170
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Calgary
Quote:
Originally Posted by OpusX11 View Post
Another AOKP user expressed similar concerns but found an app called Root Dim or something that solved his problem.
The implementation must be still broken then; haven't tested the latest AOKP releases. Root dim apps tend to create lag.

Hammerhead / Flo / Mako / Maguro / Odroid U2
 
Jubakuba
Old
#9  
Jubakuba's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5007
Posts: 2,314
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Pueblo, Colorado

 
DONATE TO ME
Implementation works perfectly here.
 
BrandT90
Old
#10  
BrandT90's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 95
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Carbondale
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubakuba View Post
Implementation works perfectly here.
Same.

Tags
aokp, brightness, galaxy, nexus, screen
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes