Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,008 Members 51,865 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Battery drain/not full charge

Tip us?
 
yami951
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 65
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Battery drain/not full charge

So I just got this 3800 mah battery at the beginning of January and I can't seem to get a full charge. It only charges to 84% now, and it won't even reset its cycles on the battery stats (see pic). I have tried full cycles of it, so I'm wondering if its possible to actually reset/format your battery, or even make it charge to a higher level. I know batteries have "minds" and they learn, but I don't think getting 5 hours on a 3800mah battery is a good thing. Thanks.



Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2
LTE Galaxy Nexus, running something new everyday.
 
ayo234
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 363
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Re: Battery drain/not full charge

Does your og battery charge to 100? And have you done a factory reset on a battery calibration?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
[insert really cool inspiring quote here] If I helped you thank me
The Following User Says Thank You to ayo234 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
yami951
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 65
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Battery drain/not full charge

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayo234 View Post
Does your og battery charge to 100? And have you done a factory reset on a battery calibration?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
So I just put in the stock battery and it only charged to 82%. I read somewhere that battery calibration (especially apps) doesn't really do anything. How could I go about resetting my battery data or stats? I appreciate the reply.

BTW, running AOKP unofficial 4.2.2 2-15 build, but it has been doing this since AOKP builds 1-3 of 4.2.1

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2
LTE Galaxy Nexus, running something new everyday.
 
Doomhamma
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 243
Posts: 535
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Siroki Brijeg, BiH
How long have you been using the battery? Perhaps it's "worn out" already? Can you try to set another battery ( the stock one ) and see if that one will charge to 100 %?
P.S. I see you've done the last thing mentioned ... Try to calibrate it out or wipe the battery stats in recovery
LG G2 - D802
 
7175
Old
(Last edited by 7175; 24th February 2013 at 10:01 PM.)
#5  
7175's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 232
Posts: 191
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by yami951 View Post
So I just put in the stock battery and it only charged to 82%. I read somewhere that battery calibration (especially apps) doesn't really do anything. How could I go about resetting my battery data or stats? I appreciate the reply.

BTW, running AOKP unofficial 4.2.2 2-15 build, but it has been doing this since AOKP builds 1-3 of 4.2.1

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2
Battery calibration does matter. It's just that most people don't have the 3800mAh batt so they see no difference. I also have a 3800 battery so I think I could help you and test some things out if needed. If your battery is only charging to a max value, it sounds like you got BLE set to a max battery value. Check this with trickster mod. If that's not it, I recommend wiping battery stats using Battery Calibration by NeMa. (Charge to max, uncheck "wait til 100% option", fully discharge by running gallery in slideshow to drain your battery until phone automatically shuts down)

I'd like to know is if you got any system tuning programs or backup programs like titanium backup or something that you may have used to restore stuff on the rom, mess up system files. Also did you dirty flash when installing the rom. If yes to either of these, I would nandroid backup, then factory reset, wipe system, wipe cache, wipe dalvik, install rom, install gapps, charge your phone after booting without restoring anything and wiith airplane mode on. This might be a bug with aokp, but I suspect it's something else because this problem doesn't happen much anymore.

Hope this helps. Let us know what happens.
|Device| = Galaxy Nexus 'toro' |Batt's| =3800, 1850, 2100b (NFC-stripped) |Radio's| = FK-LTE/FA-cdma
|Bootloader| = PRIMEMD04
|ROM's| = Carbon(d.d. f2fs) + PAC |RECOVERY| = TWRP 2.7.x.x |SU| = SuperSU!
|Kernels| = Dirty V, Fancy, Grakern --- FIOPS'd BFQ; Core:307; VAUX3:2500; COLOR:[Contrast=-2;Gamma=-4;+{-8; -5; -5}; x{175; 175; 200}]


Excellent GNEX[Ref][Guide] -- ART-compatible Apps -- Xposed Repo -- [Tweak]mksh/-rc FULL+ installer -- init.d && cron
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 7175 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
yami951
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 65
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Battery drain/not full charge

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7175 View Post
Battery calibration does matter. It's just that most people don't have the 3800mAh batt so they see no difference. I also have a 3800 battery so I think I could help you and test some things out if needed. If your battery is only charging to a max value, it sounds like you got BLE set to a max battery value. Check this with trickster mod. If that's not it, I recommend wiping battery stats using Battery Calibration by NeMa. (Charge to max, uncheck "wait til 100% option", fully discharge by running gallery in slideshow to drain your battery until phone automatically shuts down)

I'd like to know is if you got any system tuning programs or backup programs like titanium backup or something that you may have used to restore stuff on the rom, mess up system files. Also did you dirty flash when installing the rom. If yes to either of these, I would nandroid backup, then factory reset, wipe system, wipe cache, wipe dalvik, install rom, install gapps, charge your phone after booting without restoring anything and wiith airplane mode on. This might be a bug with aokp, but I suspect it's something else because this problem doesn't happen much anymore.

Hope this helps. Let us know what happens.
Awesome man thanks. I will give it a shot. I never dirty flash, but I always restore apps/data from titanium so that could definitely be it. Big thanks for the thorough explanations too.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2
LTE Galaxy Nexus, running something new everyday.
 
yami951
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 65
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Battery drain/not full charge

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7175 View Post
. If your battery is only charging to a max value, it sounds like you got BLE set to a max battery value. Check this with trickster mod.
I can't seem to find this option with trickster mod. I thought there used to be an option on francos app too but I cant seem to find it on there now either.


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2
LTE Galaxy Nexus, running something new everyday.
 
najaboy
Old
(Last edited by najaboy; 25th February 2013 at 01:23 AM.)
#8  
najaboy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 469
Posts: 1,678
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne, FL
Default Re: Battery drain/not full charge

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7175 View Post
Battery calibration does matter. It's just that most people don't have the 3800mAh batt so they see no difference. I also have a 3800 battery so I think I could help you and test some things out if needed. If your battery is only charging to a max value, it sounds like you got BLE set to a max battery value. Check this with trickster mod. If that's not it, I recommend wiping battery stats using Battery Calibration by NeMa. (Charge to max, uncheck "wait til 100% option", fully discharge by running gallery in slideshow to drain your battery until phone automatically shuts down)

I'd like to know is if you got any system tuning programs or backup programs like titanium backup or something that you may have used to restore stuff on the rom, mess up system files. Also did you dirty flash when installing the rom. If yes to either of these, I would nandroid backup, then factory reset, wipe system, wipe cache, wipe dalvik, install rom, install gapps, charge your phone after booting without restoring anything and wiith airplane mode on. This might be a bug with aokp, but I suspect it's something else because this problem doesn't happen much anymore.

Hope this helps. Let us know what happens.
That app, and the long since debunked myth of wiping battery stats, are a waste of time and effort- neither has any bearing on battery charge indication. If the OP has tried a factory reset with no joy, the next thing to try software-wise would be a different kernel and/or rom. Going the hardware route, a different battery can be used to confirm whether or not the battery itself is defective or if the handset itself is damaged.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

---------- Post added at 08:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:14 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by yami951 View Post
I can't seem to find this option with trickster mod. I thought there used to be an option on francos app too but I cant seem to find it on there now either.


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2
It is an option that is only available if the kernel supports BLE. If you don't see three option in Trickster, it's because the kernel you're using doesn't support it.

Per chance, where did you acquire the battery in question, and have you tried charging with the OEM battery installed in the phone?

Also, to clarify a misconception from the first post, lithium based batteries do not develop a memory as ni-cad batteries did. They do, however, have a finite number of cycles in their lifespan.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
 
yami951
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 65
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Re: Battery drain/not full charge

Quote:
Originally Posted by najaboy View Post
That app, and the long since debunked myth of wiping battery stats, are a waste of time and effort- neither has any bearing on battery charge indication. If the OP has tried a factory reset with no joy, the next thing to try software-wise would be a different kernel and/or rom. Going the hardware route, a different battery can be used to confirm whether or not the battery itself is defective or if the handset itself is damaged.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

---------- Post added at 08:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:14 PM ----------



It is an option that is only available if the kernel supports BLE. If you don't see three option in Trickster, it's because the kernel you're using doesn't support it.

Per chance, where did you acquire the battery in question, and have you tried charging with the OEM battery installed in the phone?

Also, to clarify a misconception from the first post, lithium based batteries do not develop a memory as ni-cad batteries did. They do, however, have a finite number of cycles in their lifespan.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
That's what I originally thought, that calibration does nothing.
But my battery is the Hyperion 3800 purchased off of amazon. I did try to charge the OEM battery which will only charge to 82%.

Now if I did a factory reset, I would lose all backups on titanium? Or how would that differ from just wiping data and cache? I'm planning on flashing AOKP build 4 tonight, just ran titanium, would you suggest doing anything else while I try to get a fresh start?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2
LTE Galaxy Nexus, running something new everyday.
 
najaboy
Old
#10  
najaboy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 469
Posts: 1,678
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by yami951 View Post
That's what I originally thought, that calibration does nothing.
But my battery is the Hyperion 3800 purchased off of amazon. I did try to charge the OEM battery which will only charge to 82%.

Now if I did a factory reset, I would lose all backups on titanium? Or how would that differ from just wiping data and cache? I'm planning on flashing AOKP build 4 tonight, just ran titanium, would you suggest doing anything else while I try to get a fresh start?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Xparent Red Tapatalk 2
A factory reset will leave your backups untouched. Try a clean install without restoring any backups first. The way you detail your issue, however, it seems more likely to caused by a hardware problem with the phone's PMIC. If it's still under warranty, I'd restore to stock and seek an RMA.

The Following User Says Thank You to najaboy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes