LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Camera and Gallery Stopped, Unfortunately

OP akenis

24th August 2014, 12:18 AM   |  #1  
akenis's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
496 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
I've read about a million of these threads and researched elsewhere, but am coming back to the experts here.

The issue is that the camera won't work. It says, "unfortunately, gallery has stopped." We did clearing data. We did factory resets. I replaced both front and back cameras. I flashed the factory image.

After flashing the factory image, the phone boots up with "unfortunately gallery has stopped." I tried installing an old MIUI camera that supposedly only uses the back camera. It stops. Barcode Scanner stops. Trying to start a front facing hangouts session....stops. Downloaded some selfie camera app...stops.

Going to take it apart again and check connections. Any other ideas? Maybe the replacement parts from ifixit.com were bad? Or something else...

Thanks.
24th August 2014, 06:35 AM   |  #2  
akenis's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
496 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Ohh...

Previously it wouldn't charge. Changed the battery with an after market (non NFC) and USB FLEX cable. That all works good now...
24th August 2014, 11:29 AM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
More
Boot into recovery and wipe system, cache, data, internal, dalvik cache...and then flash factory image. You maybe didn't wiped all before flashing factory img..
24th August 2014, 04:40 PM   |  #4  
akenis's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
496 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Thanks...will gibe it a try. While I was at it, I also saw that recovery had repair option for some partitions.

Flashing now...
24th August 2014, 04:44 PM   |  #5  
akenis's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
496 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
"Unfortunately Gallery has stopped...." right after the setup wizard started.
24th August 2014, 05:11 PM   |  #6  
akenis's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
496 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007


Both old cameras (top) and new (bottom) look good.
24th August 2014, 05:14 PM   |  #7  
akenis's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
496 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007


Contacts look good...buy will clean anyway.

A little corrosive damage on the chip cover.

Right next to the back camera contact is a gold surface with some black dots. Are the dots normal, or has something been worn away?
24th August 2014, 06:25 PM   |  #8  
akenis's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
496 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007


Now were getting somewhere!

Those black spots were some kind of mold/corrosion. Cleaned contacts and installed the old cameras and factory reset.

The camera actually opens now...but to a blackish/greyish screen. Different message now that gallery isn't responding.

Gonna wipe all, flash all...and see what happens.

If that doesn't work, install the new cameras.
24th August 2014, 10:42 PM   |  #9  
akenis's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
496 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
...cameras work the same since putting the new ones back in. It opens, but locks up with a black/grey screen. Was going to flash all.bat, but the usb is no dorked. It will charge, but it's not recognized by PC. Took apart and checked again. Same problem.

Maybe I messed something up with a bit of rubbing alcohol trying to clean things up?
25th August 2014, 05:23 PM   |  #10  
mugzylol's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
This has nothing to do with your camera. Its just the factory image you flashed. Try flashing another image.

sent from my nex7

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
camera, gallery
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes