Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more

Get a Complete Set of Logs with Andy Log

The importance of proper logging is undeniable. No, we’re not talking about lumberjack work. … more

Try Some Android Lollipop Applications on Your Device

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been officially announced and lucky users of Google Nexus 5 … more

AutoCon Manages Your Connections to Perserve Battery Life

As we’ve talked about in the past, battery life is still somewhat of a sore … more
Post Reply

[Q] Change nabvar size on CM11

OP Jerber

13th January 2014, 12:58 AM   |  #1  
Jerber's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
I would like to know how to change the navbar size, 34-36 dpi will be nice!, Im on official CM11 (I got the update about 2 days)
13th January 2014, 05:17 AM   |  #2  
mbting's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
87 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerber

I would like to know how to change the navbar size, 34-36 dpi will be nice!, Im on official CM11 (I got the update about 2 days)

im using GravityBox Kitkat for that

you'll need Xposed framework for GravityBox to work.

and Xposed does not support ART runtime yet, so only Dalvik
13th January 2014, 05:25 AM   |  #3  
AndyYan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 886
 
2,141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
If you really need to get this done on ART, or doesn't want to use Xposed, just PM me and I'll do the mod for you. It's a simple framework-res mod that I've always been doing for myself.

Sent from Google Nexus 4 @ crSimple
13th January 2014, 12:06 PM   |  #4  
Jerber's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
I had a insane battery drain on 4.3 with Xposed (official CM), so, I'm not sure if I should try, I don't want to have any problem, maybe I should try the framework mod
13th January 2014, 12:32 PM   |  #5  
AndyYan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 886
 
2,141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerber

I had a insane battery drain on 4.3 with Xposed (official CM), so, I'm not sure if I should try, I don't want to have any problem, maybe I should try the framework mod

Just send your /system/framework/framework-res.apk to GeForce8800Ultra [at] gmail [dot] com. PM me when you have sent it, and I'll handle the mod for ya. I'm in the final exam week, so you can expect to see it finished by Friday.

Sent from Samsung Galaxy Nexus @ CM11
13th January 2014, 07:36 PM   |  #6  
Jerber's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Here you have!

PD: Somebody knows how to fix this? (the red squares)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	113
Size:	110.9 KB
ID:	2513718  
Attached Files
File Type: rar Frame.rar - [Click for QR Code] (7.09 MB, 5 views)
File Type: rar SystemUI.rar - [Click for QR Code] (1.06 MB, 6 views)
Last edited by Jerber; 17th January 2014 at 10:11 PM.
7th February 2014, 10:39 AM   |  #7  
freemsk1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
121 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Is there a guide somewhere on how I could modify framework-res myself?
Thanks in advance
7th February 2014, 01:43 PM   |  #8  
AndyYan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 886
 
2,141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by freemsk1

Is there a guide somewhere on how I could modify framework-res myself?
Thanks in advance

1) Decompile using apktool or any tool you like (I prefer APKChanger)
2) Edit /res/values/dimens.xml, change the bold numbers in these lines to the DPI you want:
Code:
    <dimen name="navigation_bar_height">48.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="navigation_bar_height_landscape">48.0dip</dimen>
    <dimen name="navigation_bar_width">42.0dip</dimen>
3) Recompile. Now you have the original file and the compiled one. Open both with WinRAR, drag the "resources.arsc" from the compiled one to the original one.

Done. The end result is the original framework-res.apk. Replace it in /system/framework/ (pay attention to permissions: rw-r--r--, 0755), reboot and all done.
Keep in mind that whenever you update your ROM, you have to modify the new ROM's framework-res again.

As for making it into a flashable ZIP... I use a pre-cooked template but you can do it with other tools.
The Following User Says Thank You to AndyYan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th February 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
I had good results and no conflicts on CM11with Xblast tools on the Xposed framework. It seems to have a lighter touch than gravity for.

Just in case you don't want to mess with the files yourself.
9th February 2014, 12:08 AM   |  #10  
AndyYan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 886
 
2,141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bexol

I had good results and no conflicts on CM11with Xblast tools on the Xposed framework. It seems to have a lighter touch than gravity for.

Just in case you don't want to mess with the files yourself.

1) for people who has had problems with Xposed (like OP author)
2) for people who loves ART
3) for people who just hates Xposed and any 3rd-party additions (me )

Sent from Motorola Photon Q 4G LTE @ CM11

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes