Google’s Prank Roundup for April Fools 2015

Once again, we have arrived on the most magical of holidays – the annual … more

What is the Best Third-Party Camera App for Android?

When it comes to Camera apps, there are dozens of great options to choose … more

Google to Acquire XDA, Dev Rewards & Policy Changes

We are delighted to announce that starting on April 20th, a finalized deal with … more

Hi Locker to Help You With Lockscreen Headache

The lockscreen is a part of the OS that we see hundreds of times every day, whether … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Will current Verizon galaxy nexus ROMS work on Sprint galaxy nexus?

19th April 2012, 12:26 AM |#11  
nullbesign's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
121 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
I thought that also, since these are two different phone (GSM /cmda) it might have different radio frequency?

Sent from my Nexus S using XDA
19th April 2012, 12:34 AM |#12  
martonikaj's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 1,715
 
7,850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nullbesign

I thought that also, since these are two different phone (GSM /cmda) it might have different radio frequency?

Sent from my Nexus S using XDA

Verizon and Sprint both use CDMA and LTE. Neither use GSM or HSPA+. They'll be the "same" hardware. The only differences we see now is that they're operating on different frequencies.
19th April 2012, 01:44 AM |#13  
najaboy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne, FL
Thanks Meter: 470
 
1,678 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmer312

Without going into too much detail, how would they be compatible when they use different radios and towers and such? Especially when sprint launches their LTE in like 2020 or so. I would also assume that we would be able to use the same hotspot hack as well? I don't know how roms work, I just know I like them

The difference between the two will be the hardware lte modem and the baseband software. These are independent of the rom.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
19th April 2012, 02:47 AM |#14  
jesusice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,038
 
3,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by najaboy

The difference between the two will be the hardware lte modem and the baseband software. These are independent of the rom.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

I'd imagine there would be a slight amount of tweaking involved still. For example, the ROM includes the build.prop which makes reference to the specific carrier. But whatever the differences are maybe a flashable zip could be easily created to convert ROMs made for the VZW Gnex to the S'G'Nex.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk 2
19th April 2012, 03:00 AM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesusice

I'd imagine there would be a slight amount of tweaking involved still. For example, the ROM includes the build.prop which makes reference to the specific carrier. But whatever the differences are maybe a flashable zip could be easily created to convert ROMs made for the VZW Gnex to the S'G'Nex.

Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk 2

As long as you flash a 4.0.4 rom it'll be fine the AOSP code already has sprint nexus references so it'll run fine. The CDMA development section will encompass Verizon and Sprint nexus
22nd April 2012, 04:02 AM |#16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Wrong, wrong, and..............wrong.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA
22nd April 2012, 04:28 AM |#17  
times_infinity's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,614
 
1,528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmer312

Wrong, wrong, and..............wrong.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA

Wrong about what sir? Why don't you enlighten us with your 'knowledge'?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA
22nd April 2012, 04:32 AM |#18  
Account currently disabled
Flag phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1,037
 
2,634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by times_infinity

Wrong about what sir? Why don't you enlighten us with your 'knowledge'?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA

They have tried and no radio....
No calls or data
Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2
22nd April 2012, 04:37 AM |#19  
times_infinity's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,614
 
1,528 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epix4G

They have tried and no radio....
No calls or data
Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

Well then they need to pull the prop blobs from a stock rom first then replace.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA
Last edited by times_infinity; 22nd April 2012 at 04:41 AM.
22nd April 2012, 07:53 AM |#20  
Member
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 12
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:


Yes but LTE doesn't roam.

Yet. They don't roam yet. It wouldn't shock me to see Sprint work some kind of agreement with Verizon to get LTE roaming.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes