Post Reply

Will current Verizon galaxy nexus ROMS work on Sprint galaxy nexus?

OP nikiya

22nd April 2012, 09:26 AM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 481
 
3,124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
They would have the same CDMA bands but different LTE bands. In principle the ROMs *should* be compatible because LTE is the same technology on either band, all other things being equal (and they never are). And judging by the posts on the topic, they aren't.

It could be that there is a different antenna design as the LTE frequencies are quite unlike each other.

I wonder if a Verizon LTE SIM in a Sprint GNex or vice-versa would still be able to access the respective CDMA networks, assuming the slot is unlocked/unlockable? I know the CDMA subscriber identity is stored on the SIM for LTE devices, but again the software could be designed to avert that.
22nd April 2012, 10:26 AM   |  #22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
From what I read on another forum that just rooting nexus with I believe fastbootloader people are unable to send text messages and in other cases are unable to register for Google wallet...so I don't know I rather not Verizon method just now and wait till some legit sprint drivers come out...also I am a noob about all this

sent from my sprint gnex using xda
22nd April 2012, 06:30 PM   |  #23  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I don't have any knowledge. Just noticing that some other people don't have the knowledge that they think they have that's all.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA
22nd April 2012, 07:16 PM   |  #24  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,672
 
9,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmer312

I don't have any knowledge. Just noticing that some other people don't have the knowledge that they think they have that's all.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA

What an oxymoron.


"I don't have any knowledge"

"Just noticing that some other people don't have the knowledge that they think they have that's all."

You have no clue on why the roms do not work, and yet you have enough clue to know what others are saying is wrong?

You are talking out of place. For starters, a lot of what was said in this thread was before anyone had a device to test. It was THEORIZED.
Last edited by adrynalyne; 22nd April 2012 at 07:18 PM.
22nd April 2012, 07:17 PM   |  #25  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,672
 
9,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmstlist

They would have the same CDMA bands but different LTE bands. In principle the ROMs *should* be compatible because LTE is the same technology on either band, all other things being equal (and they never are). And judging by the posts on the topic, they aren't.

It could be that there is a different antenna design as the LTE frequencies are quite unlike each other.

I wonder if a Verizon LTE SIM in a Sprint GNex or vice-versa would still be able to access the respective CDMA networks, assuming the slot is unlocked/unlockable? I know the CDMA subscriber identity is stored on the SIM for LTE devices, but again the software could be designed to avert that.

The Sprint Nexus has an embedded sim. There shall be no swapping of sims
22nd April 2012, 07:19 PM   |  #26  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 5,672
 
9,620 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodgie26

Yet. They don't roam yet. It wouldn't shock me to see Sprint work some kind of agreement with Verizon to get LTE roaming.

Can't roam if the frequencies are different. Sprint does not use the 700mhz band for LTE I don't think.
22nd April 2012, 08:55 PM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 481
 
3,124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrynalyne

The Sprint Nexus has an embedded sim. There shall be no swapping of sims

Oh interesting. That took some serious chutzpah.

I guess they aren't subject to the same open access requirements as Verizon.
22nd April 2012, 10:10 PM   |  #28  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Sorry adrynalyne I wasn't trying to be an ass. And the reason for the oxymoron was to say I'm not going to pretend to know something that I don't. A lot of theories didn't start with "I believe" or "I think". I could care less one way or another if the roms worked out or not, eventually you guys will be putting out some kick ass **** for me to get my grimy little hands on.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA
13th May 2012, 02:56 AM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco, Ca
Thanks Meter: 32
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
so has anybody found a way to modify a verizon rom to work with a sprint galaxy nexus easilly? It seems as if it would be fairly simple, but maybe not? Would flashing a verizon rom and replacing the radios with sprint phones make it work?
13th May 2012, 03:07 AM   |  #30  
msedek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Punto Fijo
Thanks Meter: 647
 
2,041 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick3444

so has anybody found a way to modify a verizon rom to work with a sprint galaxy nexus easilly? It seems as if it would be fairly simple, but maybe not? Would flashing a verizon rom and replacing the radios with sprint phones make it work?

ROMs doesn't touch baseband, unlike official Google image, so in theory, you could flash any rom out there, cdma based.. No matters what the carrier is..

But I guess only sprint users can tell us?.. They just need to do a Nandroid and then try what ever...

If nothing works.. Just restore your Nandroid and thats it



Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
Last edited by msedek; 13th May 2012 at 03:09 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes