5,601,298 Members 56,914 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can You Develop 4G LTE Only Option On Sprint Nexus?

Tip us?
 
needspractice
Old
#1  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 294
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Can You Develop 4G LTE Only Option On Sprint Nexus?

I am posting here because it seams no one knows why some phones have LTE only options and some do not.

I was wondering if someone can develop this feature somehow if the user is rooted and has there MSL code that doesn't have the LTE only option by Default.

Is this possible via development and if not why?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Premium App
 
chasew83
Old
#2  
chasew83's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 153
Posts: 663
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by needspractice View Post
I am posting here because it seams no one knows why some phones have LTE only options and some do not.

I was wondering if someone can develop this feature somehow if the user is rooted and has there MSL code that doesn't have the LTE only option by Default.

Is this possible via development and if not why?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Premium App
The only problem with going to LTE only is, on Sprint, LTE only supports data service. So if you went to LTE only you would lose voice service.
 
needspractice
Old
#3  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 294
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Re: Can You Develop 4G LTE Only Option On Sprint Nexus?

I want to lose my voice services. I just want to use my phone as a Data access point.

So do you know if someone can develop this feature?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Premium App
 
chasew83
Old
#4  
chasew83's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 153
Posts: 663
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by needspractice View Post
I want to lose my voice services. I just want to use my phone as a Data access point.

So do you know if someone can develop this feature?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Premium App
ah ok, wasnt really clear in your explanation. any of the custom roms i have used i don't ever remember seeing lte only. sorry man wish i could help a little better.
 
xyience
Old
#5  
xyience's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 82
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default Re: Can You Develop 4G LTE Only Option On Sprint Nexus?

It's possible to have LTE only, yet not many people can develop radios that shut out normal service. Good idea
Though!
Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda premium
 
needspractice
Old
#6  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 294
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Re: Can You Develop 4G LTE Only Option On Sprint Nexus?

Ya what if some one developed a ROM feature to where you can at least disable 3G so the phone could only connect to LTE. This could bypass the possible hardware limitations.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Premium App
 
namtombout
Old
#7  
namtombout's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 462
Posts: 730
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 3rd Coast
Default Re: Can You Develop 4G LTE Only Option On Sprint Nexus?

Probably won't work but use efrants return to stock guide and instead of flashing both radios try flashing the LTE radio only and see what that gets you

Bloods thicker than water

namtombout ebonically translated is "know what im talking about"
I AM WHO I AM
 
needspractice
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 294
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Re: Can You Develop 4G LTE Only Option On Sprint Nexus?

I wonder why this is not more popular and why more people are not working on this possibility.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Premium App
 
A30N
Old
#9  
A30N's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 112
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Search in the Play Store for "Network" by Philipp Mangelow. It is actually a shortcut to the phone's built in diagnostics mode. It doesn't work for stock or ROMs with stock kernels, but I have used it to put the phone into LTE-only mode for testing. You will see both GSM and CDMA settings, regardless of which one your phone is. Try them all, sometimes the setting is mislabeled (its a bug with the ROM, not the app).

So in short, even if your ROM doesn't support LTE-only, you have a good chance of this feature with this app.
 
Zepius
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1033
Posts: 2,728
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by needspractice View Post
I wonder why this is not more popular and why more people are not working on this possibility.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Premium App
because most people require voice service.
Go back to stock on your nexus 5 using this guide: here

Tired of paying too much money for your phone plan? go prepaid!

Save money on refills for your prepaid plans: Use Callingmart

-Zep

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Decompile, Edit, and Recompile in One Tool with APK Studio

If you’ve ever modified precompiled applications, you have undoubtedly spent … more

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more