FORUMS

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

Android M Preview Images – XDA TV

Android M preview images are available. That and much more news is covered by Jordan when he … more

I/O Summary: How Android M Handles Power And Charging

In the spirit of improving the core Android experience, Google is changing Android … more

[Q] DirtyV kernel setting changes

Thanks Meter: 0
 
By rigel10, Junior Member on 8th February 2014, 10:09 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
17th February 2014, 01:09 AM |#11  
OP Junior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Well that did not go down well i had problems with not being able to connect to wifi. I received messages saying the wifi set up was good but it just would not connect. Then re flashing caused the camera to stop. Finally I went back to just LS and PA stock gaps both with 2/13/14. I will wait awhile until the next version of dirtyV before i try again that way I can get a feel for the phone without the kernel and can confirm its not me or some other app that is causing the problem.
 
 
17th February 2014, 03:32 AM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rigel10

Well that did not go down well i had problems with not being able to connect to wifi. I received messages saying the wifi set up was good but it just would not connect. Then re flashing caused the camera to stop. Finally I went back to just LS and PA stock gaps both with 2/13/14. I will wait awhile until the next version of dirtyV before i try again that way I can get a feel for the phone without the kernel and can confirm its not me or some other app that is causing the problem.

There's new dirtyV kernel with ramdisk, you can try it with neph setting.

For the camera, you need to change camera setting to 720p before you use sr version.
The Following User Says Thank You to xzilem For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 04:24 AM |#13  
OP Junior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xzilem

There's new dirtyV kernel with ramdisk, you can try it with neph setting.

For the camera, you need to change camera setting to 720p before you use sr version.

Thanks, yes, I see there is a 2/15/14 version that i have not tried. Where is the setting for the camera? I tried opening the camera (photosphere from PA gapps) and looked for the setting and I looked in the Liquid Smooth settings. But I can not see it. I will have to make a wider search.
17th February 2014, 04:42 AM |#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rigel10

Thanks, yes, I see there is a 2/15/14 version that i have not tried. Where is the setting for the camera? I tried opening the camera (photosphere from PA gapps) and looked for the setting and I looked in the Liquid Smooth settings. But I can not see it. I will have to make a wider search.

You can go to camera app, change to video recording, long press and go to setting. You can change video quality there to HD 720p.
The Following User Says Thank You to xzilem For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2014, 04:52 AM |#15  
OP Junior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xzilem

You can go to camera app, change to video recording, long press and go to setting. You can change video quality there to HD 720p.

Wow, That was not obvious. Tried it and it worked. Now I will load the 2/15 DirtyV-RSR. Thanks again
17th February 2014, 05:31 AM |#16  
OP Junior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Set to 720P all working Ok, dirty flashed dirty-RSR opened camera in snapshot mode not video. It was ok. Opened Barcode app camera did not open. reopened camera got a camera error "Can't connect to the camera". Maybe the camera was not set at 720, but now the camera app is stuck. So i will reload the back up and see what else i can do. Such as delete the barcode ap and try again.
17th February 2014, 06:17 AM |#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rigel10

Set to 720P all working Ok, dirty flashed dirty-RSR opened camera in snapshot mode not video. It was ok. Opened Barcode app camera did not open. reopened camera got a camera error "Can't connect to the camera". Maybe the camera was not set at 720, but now the camera app is stuck. So i will reload the back up and see what else i can do. Such as delete the barcode ap and try again.

What barcode scanner you use? I don't have problem with QR Droid scanner.

If you still have problem with camera, just use normal dirtyV then.
The Following User Says Thank You to xzilem For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2014, 03:48 AM |#18  
OP Junior Member
San Diego
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks again for your help. I use Barcode Scanner by the Zxing Team. I think the problem is not with the scanner but that it uses the camera in the video mode. I backed of to LS 2/5/14 edition with 2/5/14 dirtyV-SR from one of my backups and all is working again. I can not do much in the week, but come the weekend I will try again with the 2/17 versions of LS and PA Stock gapps. And see if flash the Dirtv kernel that i have success. Thanks again
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes