Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,227 Members 46,725 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q]Galaxy Nexus RAM has become read only?

Tip us?
 
TiagoBTT
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Unhappy [Q]Galaxy Nexus RAM has become read only?

The RAM of my Galaxy Nexus (14 months old) has become read only. It sounds stupid, but it's. A factory reset, doesn't delete any thing. A fastboot oem unlock does his job, but nothing is deleted. No errors. While using it, any action is not saved (preferences settings, launchpad icons moved or trashed ...) No errors while writing, but changes are not saved.
I want to reset my phone due it restarts after +/- 30 secs. from booting, in an infinite loop.

I also recovered to stock ROM. As you know, there are some steps, first is fastboot oem unlock. During process, it needs to be rebooted after flashing radio*.img and before updating image*.zip. The weird thing is on every reboot, oem becomes locked again. This is a symptom of nothing is able to write that memory

Also a wipe in recovery mode, waits for just a few seconds and it's done. It should took two minutes at least ... and nothing is deleted. All my data is still there.

Can a virus reside at recovery level? This phone has stock ROM and never was rooted. Just apps from market. Last app I installed (the day before nightmare was Fing, a network finding utility.

Next step is buying a new phone, but I haven't yet money for that at the moment
 
mrgnex
Old
#2  
mrgnex's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 271
Posts: 949
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Vlaardingen
This is not about RAM but your EMMC is fried.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Premium HD app
SΛMSUNG/Google Galaxy Nexus
ROM: Vanir Nightly
Kernel: A.S.K.P. Patty Remix

SΛMSUNG/Google Nexus 10
ROM: Vanir Nightly
Kernel: Stock Vanir
 
TiagoBTT
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgnex View Post
This is not about RAM but your EMMC is fried.
Ok, thanks, I guess it's not named RAM. Thanks to you I found EMMC_Bugs page in cyanogenmod's wiki. A good start point.
 
akaria
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2010
Hello,
I have the exact same problem. Did you have a solution for this? Even reflashing the bootloader does not modify the emmc.
 
Thymo
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 97
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Hengelo, Netherlands
This means EMMC is dead. You can hardly fix it. Better look for a replacement.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Free mobile app
Phone: I9250 Samsung Galaxy Nexus maguro
Rom: Carbonrom latest nightly
Kernel: Fancy Kernel r53 F2FS

Did i help you? hitting the thanks button would be appreciated.
 
TiagoBTT
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by akaria View Post
Hello,
I have the exact same problem. Did you have a solution for this? Even reflashing the bootloader does not modify the emmc.
Yes, I fixed it ... buying a Moto G
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Make a Pre-Rooted Stock Sony ROMs in Just Few Clicks

Many usersdon’t see any particular reason to change out the stock firmware … more

Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more