Post Reply

[Q]Galaxy Nexus RAM has become read only?

OP TiagoBTT

4th February 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
The RAM of my Galaxy Nexus (14 months old) has become read only. It sounds stupid, but it's. A factory reset, doesn't delete any thing. A fastboot oem unlock does his job, but nothing is deleted. No errors. While using it, any action is not saved (preferences settings, launchpad icons moved or trashed ...) No errors while writing, but changes are not saved.
I want to reset my phone due it restarts after +/- 30 secs. from booting, in an infinite loop.

I also recovered to stock ROM. As you know, there are some steps, first is fastboot oem unlock. During process, it needs to be rebooted after flashing radio*.img and before updating image*.zip. The weird thing is on every reboot, oem becomes locked again. This is a symptom of nothing is able to write that memory

Also a wipe in recovery mode, waits for just a few seconds and it's done. It should took two minutes at least ... and nothing is deleted. All my data is still there.

Can a virus reside at recovery level? This phone has stock ROM and never was rooted. Just apps from market. Last app I installed (the day before nightmare was Fing, a network finding utility.

Next step is buying a new phone, but I haven't yet money for that at the moment
4th February 2014, 10:02 PM   |  #2  
mrgnex's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vlaardingen
Thanks Meter: 298
 
1,028 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
This is not about RAM but your EMMC is fried.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Premium HD app
5th February 2014, 10:30 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgnex

This is not about RAM but your EMMC is fried.

Ok, thanks, I guess it's not named RAM. Thanks to you I found EMMC_Bugs page in cyanogenmod's wiki. A good start point.
29th June 2014, 06:35 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Hello,
I have the exact same problem. Did you have a solution for this? Even reflashing the bootloader does not modify the emmc.
29th June 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Hengelo, Netherlands
Thanks Meter: 11
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
This means EMMC is dead. You can hardly fix it. Better look for a replacement.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA Free mobile app
29th June 2014, 05:48 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by akaria

Hello,
I have the exact same problem. Did you have a solution for this? Even reflashing the bootloader does not modify the emmc.

Yes, I fixed it ... buying a Moto G
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes