Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] CM11 - STRANGE data problem

OP Droid_JD

23rd May 2014, 02:07 PM   |  #1  
Droid_JD's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Boston
Thanks Meter: 14
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
So I've been having this problem for several months now...

1. When I go into the testing menu (*#*#4636#*#*) it currently says LTE/CDMA (auto PRL)

a. When I switch on LTE from the notification pulldown I cannot get a data signal, however voice calls still work. I can leave searching for 20+ mins. for a signal, it never finds one.

b. When I switch off LTE I am able to get a 3g data connection, and voice calls continue to work

2. When I go into the testing menu (*#*#4636#*#*) and switch to "LTE Only" I am able to get a 4g signal, but no voice calls or sms (as expected),.

I've tried a the 3 most recent radio's. I'e gotten 2 new SIM cards. I've tried clean installs of CM. I haven't tried other ROM's, although I'd be open to suggestions if people have no data issues (I like CM a lot though).

Any one else experiencing anything like this?
Thanks for your help!
23rd May 2014, 09:34 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HochmanM

So I've been having this problem for several months now...

1. When I go into the testing menu (*#*#4636#*#*) it currently says LTE/CDMA (auto PRL)

a. When I switch on LTE from the notification pulldown I cannot get a data signal, however voice calls still work. I can leave searching for 20+ mins. for a signal, it never finds one.

b. When I switch off LTE I am able to get a 3g data connection, and voice calls continue to work

2. When I go into the testing menu (*#*#4636#*#*) and switch to "LTE Only" I am able to get a 4g signal, but no voice calls or sms (as expected),.

I've tried a the 3 most recent radio's. I'e gotten 2 new SIM cards. I've tried clean installs of CM. I haven't tried other ROM's, although I'd be open to suggestions if people have no data issues (I like CM a lot though).

Any one else experiencing anything like this?
Thanks for your help!

I've experienced the same problem on newer nightlies, M5 and M6. I formatted /data, /cache, and /system, then install M4. data + voice work right away.

Try switching to CM11 M4.

I upgraded to M6 (then tried M5 after it didn't work) due to bluetooth issues on M4; specifically, none of the advanced features of bluetooth, such as the ability to sync my text/voicemail notifications and display artist/title info on my dash, didn't work with my car. But I'd rather have reliable mobile data service on M4 with crappy bluetooth support than unusable mobile data service on M6 with great bluetooth support.

Edit: this is a toroplus phone on Sprint, btw.
Last edited by zzrssh; 23rd May 2014 at 10:09 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to zzrssh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th May 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #3  
Droid_JD's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Boston
Thanks Meter: 14
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zzrssh

I've experienced the same problem on newer nightlies, M5 and M6. I formatted /data, /cache, and /system, then install M4. data + voice work right away.

Try switching to CM11 M4.

I upgraded to M6 (then tried M5 after it didn't work) due to bluetooth issues on M4; specifically, none of the advanced features of bluetooth, such as the ability to sync my text/voicemail notifications and display artist/title info on my dash, didn't work with my car. But I'd rather have reliable mobile data service on M4 with crappy bluetooth support than unusable mobile data service on M6 with great bluetooth support.

Edit: this is a toroplus phone on Sprint, btw.

This seemed to work for me. Thanks for the help!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cdma, connection, data, drop, lte
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes