Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

GNEX Without service

OP babaduchi

15th May 2014, 03:48 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
First I would like to thank everyone on this forum. Being a Noob to rooting I have learned so much here.
I will be picking up my new Galaxy S5 tomorrow and I want to keep my GNEX for a music player. I believe I will still be able to connect it to wifi and load it with music via USB. Any suggestions as to how I should configure it before I lose service?

I have Vanir ROM running 4.2.2 with DirtyV kernel.
15th May 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #2  
Pirateghost's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 8,189
 
11,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
You don't have to do anything. It doesn't matter if you have service on it or not. It will still work on Wi-Fi

Sent from my Nexus 5
The Following User Says Thank You to Pirateghost For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2014, 09:06 PM   |  #3  
ashclepdia's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag under philadelphia above Delaware, beer heaven
Thanks Meter: 1,530
 
4,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
yea I have been off of Verizon service for long time now(almost a year)
what I do is Google on airplane mode. then you can just turn on wifi(bluetooth.and wifi are able to be toggled on/off without affecting airplane mode)
I get actually good battery life on this thing that way lmao!
but yea, you can always change your setup later by just using wifi to download your Roms/kernels.
not having service won't affect ability to install roms.
but make sure you do toggle airplane mode on lol. cuz without service(i don't even have sim in anymore) it will be constantly trying to connect to a tower to get a signal, and will horribly drain your battery very fast.
(I've also removed BIP.apk and the stock messaging apk since they always show as running apps and I don't need them anymore I figured just remove them to free that ram up. you will have to remove them every time you flash a Rom though remember, if you decide to go this route as well)
The Following User Says Thank You to ashclepdia For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2014, 10:38 PM   |  #4  
irish_711's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Someone made a flashable zip over at Rootz that disables everything that makes your device a cellular device.

The OP is for Jelly Bean, but comment #50 made one for Kit Kat.

I know it's taboo to link over there, but I don't see anything in the forum rules:

http://rootzwiki.com/topic/25016-mod...le-cell-radio/
Last edited by irish_711; 15th May 2014 at 10:42 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to irish_711 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes