Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

GPS PROBLEM NO SATELLITE what so ever

OP s44suman

12th June 2013, 09:31 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
hey guys
I recently purchased a used galaxy nexus and as soon as i got it i rooted it and headed to xda to see whats fresh.
After flashing and all that i tried to use GPS but sadly there was no satellite present so there could be no lock or anything
So I flashed another rom and still the same
So I went to stock image 4.2.2 still no satellite was found by my phone
I have look alot of places some say just turn off and turn on the location but that doesnt help either

Can you guys please help me
Right now I am running Rootool box the stable version with fancy kernal.
When i turn on gps... in the status bar it says searching for gps forever.... and the gps icon keeps on blinking.

Thank you
13th June 2013, 12:26 AM   |  #2  
Carlos_Manuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kuressaare
Thanks Meter: 4,524
 
3,742 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Have you changes Radio baseband?
If not then change it and maybe then GPS works!
13th June 2013, 05:36 AM   |  #3  
klobkelosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Phx, AZ
Thanks Meter: 412
 
1,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
GPS and radios have nothing to do with each other.

Does everything else work ok, like phone and data? Is the phone activated and have a good sim? Are you using the gps outside with a clear view of the sky? Have you waited up to 20 minutes for satellite acquisition?

If you answer yes to all the above, try downloading gps status app and use that to download new agps data. See if that works. If not, sounds like you may have a hardware issue.
13th June 2013, 09:55 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by klobkelosh

GPS and radios have nothing to do with each other.

Does everything else work ok, like phone and data? Is the phone activated and have a good sim? Are you using the gps outside with a clear view of the sky? Have you waited up to 20 minutes for satellite acquisition?

If you answer yes to all the above, try downloading gps status app and use that to download new agps data. See if that works. If not, sounds like you may have a hardware issue.

I downloaded the gps status toolbox app and i did press download agps data but nothing still
anything thing else?
13th June 2013, 10:21 PM   |  #5  
klobkelosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Phx, AZ
Thanks Meter: 412
 
1,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I'd think it's a hardware issue...
18th June 2013, 06:06 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by klobkelosh

I'd think it's a hardware issue...

is there any other option?
if this is a hard ware problem should i talk to samsung and ask them to fix it?
18th June 2013, 10:46 PM   |  #7  
klobkelosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Phx, AZ
Thanks Meter: 412
 
1,281 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Your last hope would be to restore a factory image again and see if that helps. Otherwise, Samsung would be your best bet
19th June 2013, 07:17 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by klobkelosh

Your last hope would be to restore a factory image again and see if that helps. Otherwise, Samsung would be your best bet

should i go to 4.0 build the earliest or 4.2.2?
19th June 2013, 08:29 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
i had similar problem (no gps) when i tried to force OTA ( i think 4.1.1?) deleting the GOOGLE SERVICES FRAMEWORK

i GOT the ota

but after it started i never catched a gps signal
tried to reset but nothing

i had to manually reinstall from fastboot ( but i was on stock at that time.... dunno if using a modded recovery is SAME thing or it leaves some file behind)

hope it works....
19th June 2013, 08:46 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by skizofrenic

i had similar problem (no gps) when i tried to force OTA ( i think 4.1.1?) deleting the GOOGLE SERVICES FRAMEWORK

i GOT the ota

but after it started i never catched a gps signal
tried to reset but nothing

i had to manually reinstall from fastboot ( but i was on stock at that time.... dunno if using a modded recovery is SAME thing or it leaves some file behind)

hope it works....

I will try the original stock firmware and see if i get it back
THank you

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes