Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,985 Members 40,878 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS PROBLEM NO SATELLITE what so ever

Tip us?
 
s44suman
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 79
Join Date: Oct 2010
Unhappy GPS PROBLEM NO SATELLITE what so ever

hey guys
I recently purchased a used galaxy nexus and as soon as i got it i rooted it and headed to xda to see whats fresh.
After flashing and all that i tried to use GPS but sadly there was no satellite present so there could be no lock or anything
So I flashed another rom and still the same
So I went to stock image 4.2.2 still no satellite was found by my phone
I have look alot of places some say just turn off and turn on the location but that doesnt help either

Can you guys please help me
Right now I am running Rootool box the stable version with fancy kernal.
When i turn on gps... in the status bar it says searching for gps forever.... and the gps icon keeps on blinking.

Thank you
 
Carlos_Manuel
Old
#2  
Carlos_Manuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4227
Posts: 3,590
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kuressaare
Have you changes Radio baseband?
If not then change it and maybe then GPS works!
Samsung Galaxy Nexus
(the best Android phone ever)
ROM: Dreams
Radio Baseband: I9250XXLJ1

Sony Xperia tablet Z (LTE):
10.3.1.A.0.244

Samsung jet:
My built CM7

Twitter || Facebook || YouTube: CarlosJacksonHD

Android for Samsung Jt:
http://code.google.com/p/android-for-jet/
 
klobkelosh
Old
#3  
klobkelosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 412
Posts: 1,281
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phx, AZ
GPS and radios have nothing to do with each other.

Does everything else work ok, like phone and data? Is the phone activated and have a good sim? Are you using the gps outside with a clear view of the sky? Have you waited up to 20 minutes for satellite acquisition?

If you answer yes to all the above, try downloading gps status app and use that to download new agps data. See if that works. If not, sounds like you may have a hardware issue.
 
s44suman
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 79
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by klobkelosh View Post
GPS and radios have nothing to do with each other.

Does everything else work ok, like phone and data? Is the phone activated and have a good sim? Are you using the gps outside with a clear view of the sky? Have you waited up to 20 minutes for satellite acquisition?

If you answer yes to all the above, try downloading gps status app and use that to download new agps data. See if that works. If not, sounds like you may have a hardware issue.
I downloaded the gps status toolbox app and i did press download agps data but nothing still
anything thing else?
 
klobkelosh
Old
#5  
klobkelosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 412
Posts: 1,281
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phx, AZ
I'd think it's a hardware issue...
 
s44suman
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 79
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by klobkelosh View Post
I'd think it's a hardware issue...
is there any other option?
if this is a hard ware problem should i talk to samsung and ask them to fix it?
 
klobkelosh
Old
#7  
klobkelosh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 412
Posts: 1,281
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phx, AZ
Your last hope would be to restore a factory image again and see if that helps. Otherwise, Samsung would be your best bet
 
s44suman
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 79
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by klobkelosh View Post
Your last hope would be to restore a factory image again and see if that helps. Otherwise, Samsung would be your best bet
should i go to 4.0 build the earliest or 4.2.2?
 
skizofrenic
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 40
Join Date: May 2013
i had similar problem (no gps) when i tried to force OTA ( i think 4.1.1?) deleting the GOOGLE SERVICES FRAMEWORK

i GOT the ota

but after it started i never catched a gps signal
tried to reset but nothing

i had to manually reinstall from fastboot ( but i was on stock at that time.... dunno if using a modded recovery is SAME thing or it leaves some file behind)

hope it works....
 
s44suman
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 79
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by skizofrenic View Post
i had similar problem (no gps) when i tried to force OTA ( i think 4.1.1?) deleting the GOOGLE SERVICES FRAMEWORK

i GOT the ota

but after it started i never catched a gps signal
tried to reset but nothing

i had to manually reinstall from fastboot ( but i was on stock at that time.... dunno if using a modded recovery is SAME thing or it leaves some file behind)

hope it works....
I will try the original stock firmware and see if i get it back
THank you

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes