Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,728 Members 44,237 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Gray signal bars on LTE verizon

Tip us?
 
what25
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 259
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default Gray signal bars on LTE verizon

I'm getting only gray signal bars on 4G LTE instead of the blue bars. On 3G CDMA, it works fine with the blue bars. Of course that means I am not connected to Google services when the bars are gray. Is anybody experiencing this? I have AOKP 4.0.3 with the 4.0.2 radios on the 5xxxx prl. Thanks

Sent from my Verizon Galaxy Nexus
4G LTE
3G

--PHONE--
Nokia 3560 (Cingular) > LG PM225 (Sprint) > Sanyo SCP-8500 (Sprint) > Nexus One (T-Mobile) > HTC Thunderbolt (Verizon) > Samsung Galaxy Nexus LTE (Verizon)

--TABLET--
Asus Transformer TF101
 
mhammerstone
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 19
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Griffin

 
DONATE TO ME
I am having the same issue with rooted stock ROM, PRL update helped for a while, now when it happens I have to restart the phone to get the blue 4G bars.....aggrivating
 
chopper the dog
Old
#3  
chopper the dog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 733
Posts: 2,034
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The blood bath known as Chicago IL.
Dial *611 and ask if there is an lte issue in your area.


good day.
$3 charging dock for the galaxy nexus. SEE HERE.
If I annoyed you. Hit the thanks button.
Samsuck Old
#4  
Guest
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: n/a
It happens occasionally. Usually a reboot or waiting helps . Happened all the time on 4.0.4 radios in my experience

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
 
what25
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 259
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by chopper the dog View Post
Dial *611 and ask if there is an lte issue in your area.


good day.
There has been intermittent issues in my area since that outage last week.

Whatever the case may be, its always blue when I'm on 3G or on Wifi. On 4G, its either blue or gray. I can still browse sites through the browser, but I don't get push Gmail, or Gtalk won't work.

It's starting to piss me off now.
4G LTE
3G

--PHONE--
Nokia 3560 (Cingular) > LG PM225 (Sprint) > Sanyo SCP-8500 (Sprint) > Nexus One (T-Mobile) > HTC Thunderbolt (Verizon) > Samsung Galaxy Nexus LTE (Verizon)

--TABLET--
Asus Transformer TF101
 
what25
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 259
Join Date: Apr 2008
OK I visited the store. The display phone, along with 2 of the employees' phones, fluctuate between grey and blue bars on 4G, more time on the grey. They told me it was normal, I said no, if its on grey, then its not connected to google. Hence no push Gmail, or Gtalk is not signed in, and showed it to them. They seem to have no solution to this.
4G LTE
3G

--PHONE--
Nokia 3560 (Cingular) > LG PM225 (Sprint) > Sanyo SCP-8500 (Sprint) > Nexus One (T-Mobile) > HTC Thunderbolt (Verizon) > Samsung Galaxy Nexus LTE (Verizon)

--TABLET--
Asus Transformer TF101
 
joshnichols189
Old
#7  
joshnichols189's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,388
Posts: 6,930
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Grey signal bars means you aren't connected to google servers.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda premium
Iphone 4S Nokia N9
LG Voyager OG Sidekick
Blackberry Tour 9630 Blackberry Storm 9530
Motorola Droid Droid Bionic; Droid X
HTC Droid Incredible HTC Thunderbolt
HTC Droid Incredible 2 HTC Trophy
HTC Rezound; HTC One S HTC One X HTC G2
Asus Transformer Nook Tablet
Samsung Fascinate Galaxy Nexus Galaxy Note
Galaxy SII i9100 White Galaxy Nexus
Galaxy SIII i9300 Galaxy Tab 2 7.0
 
copkay
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 445
Posts: 354
Join Date: Jul 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by what25 View Post
...Of course that means I am not connected to Google services when the bars are gray...
Quote:
Originally Posted by what25 View Post
...They told me it was normal, I said no, if its on grey, then its not connected to google...
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshnichols189 View Post
Grey signal bars means you aren't connected to google servers.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda premium
I think he knew that already.

@OP: Yeah, I had the same issue all last week, so I think it's just something on Verizon's end. I haven't noticed it happening the last few days, but I've not been paying that much attention.
 
joshnichols189
Old
#9  
joshnichols189's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,388
Posts: 6,930
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by copkay View Post
I think he knew that already.

@OP: Yeah, I had the same issue all last week, so I think it's just something on Verizon's end. I haven't noticed it happening the last few days, but I've not been paying that much attention.
You're right he did haha. I just saw some answers and threw mine out there

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda premium
Iphone 4S Nokia N9
LG Voyager OG Sidekick
Blackberry Tour 9630 Blackberry Storm 9530
Motorola Droid Droid Bionic; Droid X
HTC Droid Incredible HTC Thunderbolt
HTC Droid Incredible 2 HTC Trophy
HTC Rezound; HTC One S HTC One X HTC G2
Asus Transformer Nook Tablet
Samsung Fascinate Galaxy Nexus Galaxy Note
Galaxy SII i9100 White Galaxy Nexus
Galaxy SIII i9300 Galaxy Tab 2 7.0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes